We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long weekend selfdrive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long weekend selfdrive”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay greatly - late booking and hence low cost . Location on sea front excellent for walking, but close to town and bus routes. Pleasant comfortable rooms with all facilities in very good condition, Restaurant first class for food quality, choice, quantity and service. Drinks easonably priced.Free parking onsite was welcome. We will be back again - this time we'll book early to ensure a sea view and balcony.

Room Tip: Book early to get a sea view with balcony and chairs. Ground floor are cheaper but have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Win B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Great to know you enjoyed your stay. The kitchen and restaurant team will be delighted to k ow you enjoyed the food and restaurant service. The rooms are in good condition and its good to have an honest balanced review

Thankyou Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    188
    83
    34
    17
See reviews for
48
314
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Vastly superior to most coach hotels. Even had genuine single rooms. Staff excellent. Location central and convenient for town and sea.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wwwalker6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
I will pass on your compliments to the staff at the hotel. I agree all our singles rooms are a good size with good amenities and views

Thankyou Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel was first class,food very good with plenty of choice. Staff very helpful and cheerful. The bedroom was a good size with modern furniture and fittings. Beds very comfortable Ideal location for disabled. close to shops and beach.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view these overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Its great to know you found the food and service first class. I hope you return in the near future and enjoy the summer months when the gardens and views are at their best

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I visited the Imperial mid November 2011 and have just returned from another 4 night break. We enjoyed both our visits and found all the staff very helpful. The hotel is in an ideal position on the sea front and yet near enough to the shops and gardens. The service in the restaurant was excellent with a good choice of menu. We stayed in Room 32 which is an upgraded room with sea view, balcony etc. The day trips out included a trip to the House of Marbles and Exeter and a half day trip to Sidmouth, Alan our coach driver had a vast knowledge of the area.. We certainly look forward to yet a third visit to the Imperial in the not so distant future. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had an upgraded room - Number 32 on the ground floor with sea view and balcony with tables and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Brilliant, it is great to know you enjoyed your second holiday with us and are looking at booking a third. I will pass on your compliments to the chef and the restaurant staff

thanks Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Staff, food, entertainment excellent, hopefully would return again

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thankyou hope to see you in the near future . I am pleased you had an excellent Christmas

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have just returned from midweek holiday to the Imperial Hotel. This is a Coast and Country Hotel giving 3 star accomodation. We were allocated an accessible room on the ground floor (Room 22). This room was a large room that included a double bed and a single electrical adjustable bed. It also included a bath with hand rails and high seated toilet. Only drawbacks were the small sink and very soft bed. The hotel was clean and had been refurbished in the public rooms. The restaurant was large and well lit with plenty of space between the tables. The staff were all polite and helpful. The entertainment was low key but as this was more than adequate. All in all one of the best hotels that Shearings have. Would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starstruckuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look at replacing the wash basin in room 22

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had a long weekend in this hotel in January. The hotel was wonderfully relaxing, with top rate staff who couldn't be more caring. We had a standard room, which was well furnished, clean and roomy. The first thing we did when we returned home was to work out when we could have another stay (hopefully longer this time) Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and found it excellent, I would imagine the higher grades would be outstandin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Hi
Great comments. Looking forward to your return visit

Thankyou Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#4 of 11 in Exmouth
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Property: The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Address: The Imperial Hotel Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing