We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“weekend break”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

a lovely stay staff very helpful and friendly only thing i recommend is upgrade as room was basic but lovely and clean

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
I will pass on your compliments to the staff

Thank you

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    192
    84
    34
    17
See reviews for
49
316
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Imperial is friendly hotel overlooking a lovely sandy beach. Food excellent. Very quiet and peaceful. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and have a room overlooking the gardens and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your complimentary review

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We recently stayed for a five day Shearings all inclusive break.

I give a star for our room. Spacious, clean and comfortable - and overlooking the estuary which had a quite beautiful view. (Well worth the small surcharge.)

I give a star for the staff. Without exception all of them were first class. Always polite, smiley and helpful.

I give a star for the coach driver. (The coach trip is all part of the holiday.) His driving was safe. His commentaries were fun and informative and he helped anyone who needed it on and off the coach.

Sadly I deduct two stars from the full five stars for the food. We have enjoyed 5 previous Shearings Holidays and the evening meal is one of the main features of the day. This was our first Coach and Country Hotel and the Hotel itself was definitely superior. But we felt there been a big cutback in the food quality. I had only one good main which was a salmon steak. Everything was very portion controlled, and the old cheese board is now a choice of one of three cheeses - all three cheeses are now charged a supplement! Even the breakfasts had no self service for cereals etc.

I must say we did miss the evening entertainment of the Bay Hotels - they create an atmosphere for getting to know others on the trip. And in all fairness, the new 4 free drinks per person per day does work. At first we thought this was unfair, but even we could not cope with a glass of wine at dinner, and then 4 more over the evening! And it is great for those who want a drink at lunchtime. And no more queues!

Please, Shearings, sort out your food offering. We love your holidays, but will stop coming if you do not. We will give you one more chance!





  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WJJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for posting your review
I will pass on your compliments to the staff and the coach driver.
Our sea view rooms have stunning views of the Estuary and I am pleased you were happy with the accommodation .
Our menu's and food satisfaction scores are constantly reviewed and we are always looking for ways to improve our food quality within the challenging constraints of rising food costs.
I am sorry you did not enjoy the food during your stay.
The new voucher scheme has been well received. Our entertainment is low key due to the size of our piano lounge
I hope you return in the near future

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Everything seemed reasonable for the first two nights then my wife was ill. It transpired that numerous other guests were also ill. It was norovirus (we were told). I guess these things happen but staff seemed unable to confirm if Environmental Health were involved and we have received not one word of apology or explanation. It completely spoilt our few days away. Did they know before we arrived? probably

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MarkJ400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review.
Norovirus was particularly prevalent in the local community and indeed the South West Area and tends to be at its height when there are sudden variances in temperature.
The virus is very similar to the flu virus and is very difficult to control as it is spread from person to person.
The hotel rooms are thoroughly cleaned and sanitised as a standard procedure.
The Environmental Health are informed of any cases of the Noroviris sickness.

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed at the Imperial (our favourite Shearing Hotel) last week with my wife, son and daughter-in-law to celebrate my wifes birthday on the 23rd. Arrived at 2pm and told we could not book in until 3pm so waited in lounge with a dozen other rather annoyed and bemused couples.No explanation was given why the delay. Finally at 4 pm we were able to enter our room. In the early hours of Wednesday morning my wife was violently sick and with frequent visits to the bathroom sleep was impossible. By first light I also started to feel extremely unwell and began suffering from acute diarrhoea. By now my wife also had diarrhoea and with both of us in our late 70's suffering from acute arthritic knee problems, one can imagine, without being too graphic, the distressful scene in our bedroom. When we hadn't arrived in the dining room for breakfast, our son came to our room to check if anything was wrong and was horrified to see the state his parents were in. He went to the local chemist and obtained Imodium and Rehydration tablets, Bacterial Handwash and surface cleaner. He asked at reception for additional toilet rolls, toilet brush and a mop and bucket. He was then told that other people in the hotel had gone down with the virus as had people the week before. He also discovered this was the reason we had been delayed in booking in on our arrival, due to staff having to disinfect the rooms. A mop bucket was eventually delivered to the room but no mop or toilet brush. Although he again asked for a mop and brush , none ever arrived. He cleaned the bathroom floor on his hands and knees and for subsequent cleaning my wife and I were reduced to pushing a cloth around the floor with walking sticks. It dosn't bear thinking how we would have managed without our son being there. Early Thursday morning our daughter-in-law went down with sickness and diarrhoea. My wife recovered sufficiently to dine with our son to celebrate her 79th birthday on the Thursday evening, but the absence of her daughter-in-law and myself ruined the occasion for her. We do know from one elderly gentleman that his wife, who went down with the virus, was recovering from a recent cancer operation and dread to think what they must have gone through. In view of the previous weeks virus outbreak I feel the hotel had an obligation to inform us of the risk before our departure, giving us the opportunity to make other arrangements. Far more could have been done to assist guests struck down with the virus e.g. medical packs containing the neccessary drugs, bacterial hand and surface cleaner, and most importantly a mop, bucket and disinfectant. Our son and daughter-in-law, who live in Northants, accompanied us back to Cornwall to assist in our recuperation and yesterday Saturday 25th our son went down with sickness and diarrhoea! As I said at the beginning, the Imperial was the favourite of the five Shearing hotels we have stayed at. After our horrendous experience last week it will be a long time, if at all, before we regain our confidence in the groups ability to provide us with the care and attention which, as their guests, we think we deserve. As to the hotel, our room 112, was the smallest we had ever stayed in with Shearings and it is surely time they up rated the TV's from the 14" with just 4 channels that was in our room. We genuinely felt that standards had somewhat slipped since our last visit. The staff, friendly as always, seemed to have lost that little extra keeness to oblige. We found ourselves continually having to ask them for items which in the past were taken for granted i.e. butters, preserves, cutlery, water. The loss of the breakfast carousel is a big mistake. The ability to help oneself to cereal, fruit juice and preserves made that meal a much more pleasurable experience. To sum up, a most miserable few days made even worst by the fabulous seasonal weather which we were too ill to enjoy.

Room Tip: Do not specify room 112 unless you suffer from agrophobia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ExHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review. Unfortunately Norovirus was very prevalent in the local community and the South West Area. Despite thorough cleaning and disinfection of the hotel rooms during this time, it is impossible to guard against catching the Norovirus bug as it spread similar to the flu, from person to person.
The rooms are cleaned and sanitised using virucial spray. I am sorry that you did not receive the care and attention you needed during your stay.
The buffet was removed as a precaution as people can spread the germ through hand contact.
The television are to be upgraded in the coming months

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We paid extra for a seafront bedroom, which was well worth the extra price as the room was very spacious and comfortable. However the bathroom was rather shabby and the base of the toilet requires some serious scrubbing. Behind the taps in the bath needs looking at too, as they are rusty and off putting. All the public areas are of a very high standard and the dining room is very elegant. The food, however, was disappointing, Rather hit 'n' miss. Breakfasts were good though. There are three members of staff who are real stars and a credit to Shearings. Firstly, our waitress, Anika, who was so pleasant and always smiling and helpful at all times. Then there was Jack, one of the barmen, who could not have been more helpful and pleasant, just as a good barman should be! Lastly, Kerry, Assistant Manager who, when we first arrived,we couldn't get the heating in the bedroom to work, nor one of the lights. She was very busy at the time, but came up to our room within a few minutes with a fistful of tools. She sorted the heating out and got our light working within moments. Now, here's a question for you. How is it that a young women can sort out the heating and lighting within minutes but if you are in a NHS hospital it takes a least one "qualified" electrician to change a light bulb ? Anweres on a post card please !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hilary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review.The Imperial is a lovely Victorian hotel set in four acres of grounds and its great to know you enjoyed the ambiance of the dining room and the public areas. I am pleased you were happy with the standards of service in the hotel and in particular the members of staff you mentioned. I will pass on your compliments to them.I will have a look at the standards of your bathroom. We are currently redecorating twelve bedrooms and bathrooms.I will also look into the quality and menu choice during your stay with the Head Chef to see what improvements can be made.

Thank you Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Had a four day stay here everything was great until we came down with sick & diarrhoea bug that people were going down with like flies both of us still not well has put me off going back here

Room Tip: The Superior room was lovely worth paying the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Callum C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review in a positive and balanced manner. Unfortunately some of our guests did come down with the Norovirus bug which is similar to the flu on how it is transmitted from person to person. You may have seem some coverage of this in the National papers. The flu type bug is very prevalent in the winter months and can be transmitted in a similar fashion to the flu.
We have comprehensive cleaning procedures and strict hygiene standards to try and combat this flu bug but it can quite easily be caught by contact with a member of the public as it is often in the local community.I am pleased that this has not put you off returning to the hotel

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Property: The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Address: The Imperial Hotel Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing