We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIT OF A LET DOWN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Hotel looks very grand. Had room with sea view (very nice). Room OK. Bathroom definately needs refurbishment. Not overly clean. Not overly friendly either, except for a nice waitress at breakfast Anoka (I think that was name). Not organised when came to cleaning either. We stayed 3 nights (booked). First morning cleaner was actually knocking and entering room to clean at 8.45 before we had even been down for breakfast, which goes on until 10am. We were having a well earned lay in!! Knocked every morning. Last morning, same thing. Then proceded to clean door etc, in other words, hint hint get up. Is a Shearings hotel, so is catering for the coach trips. Could be a wonderful hotel if refurbished bedrooms/bathrooms, organised the cleaning better to see who had actually been down to breakfast and was more friendlier. Would not recommend or stay again. Bed also gave me terrible back ache. Glad to get home to own bed!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AMH97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
The issue with the room attendent cleaning your room to early could have easily been resolved either by speaking to reception, putting your do not disturb sign on the outside of the door or speaking to the room attendent.
I have spoken to the housekeeper to have a word so that this issue does not re- occur

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

We visited Exmouth as a special break for our Golden Wedding and decided to upgrade to a room with a sea view. We felt slightly wary in view of several adverse reports on Trip Advisor, but decided to go ahead anyway.

The first thing to say is that the Imperial is something of a Grand Old Lady of a hotel and has seen better days. Nevertheless, it suited us very well, with easy parking, a good location, good food and a comfortable bed. The dining room staff in particular were very pleasant, though we might have appreciated a less distant approach at Reception. It was a good base for exploring the area, including Bicton Gardens, Exeter, the Exeter Canal and the Turf Hotel (good for bird-watching), boat and train trip to Topsham etc.

Some contributors to Trip Advisor have mentioned dirty marks in the bathroom, and certainly there were rust marks around the taps and bath drain, though these are really minor niggles. More importantly, the hot water in the wash basin was not hot, which we reported to Reception. It improved briefly but was not much better before we left. We understand the whole hotel is undergoing a programme of refurbishment, but unless it were to close down entirely for a time (resulting in a substantial loss) it will take a long while to complete.

Interestingly, the hotel management seems to have responded to favourable reports on Trip Advisor, but not adverse ones. It would be good to know of their reaction when guests complain.

On balance, a nice place to stay, generally good value for money, but don’t expect luxury!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for your well balanced review.
I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the food and service in the hotel.The hotel is a great location for exploring the surrounding area.
We have recently refurbished another twelve rooms and are planning to replace and update our television sets in the near future
The hotel generally runs to capacity and we do not normally have a problem with the hot water supply.I apologise and I will review what temperature the boiler is set at.
I have answered all the positive and negative reviews posted.
In general we respond to any customer complaints through our customer care department.
Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We must preface this review by pointing out that our Monday-Friday stay coincided with a very cloudy, cold, wet and windy spell of weather; so we were expecting the Hotel to react to this - it became very relevant. Our initial "standard" room looked very basic with only a "seaview" of trees; so at quite high cost we upgraded to a "Superior" room. This had a lovely sea view and at first glance appeared ideal. It was fairly recently decorated and modern. The good points about our stay were;- having been to a great number of Shearings hotels this was potentially one of the better ones. It has a great sea-front location with large gardens. The dining room is lovely; and from our perspective we found the food to be of good quality, the staff friendly, and the service quick - sometimes a bit too quick! Reception staff were also friendly and helpful. Comfortable lounge and adequate bar facilities. There was only entertainment on 2 nights, but what there was was well received by a small audience. There is plenty of car parking, which was a plus. The majority of our Superior room proved a worthwhile, if overly expensive, upgrade. Now for the bad bits:- The bed in our Superior room was large and supposedly "more comfortable". However, springs were poking through the mattress; and the Hotel were obviously aware of this as a blanket had been put on top of the mattress to try to improve things - whereas it really needs a proper mattress topper. The shower is a health and safety hazard! Having set it at the required temperature the water seems to go through a cycle of cool, scalding, cold etc - and there is no safety cutout. This was a regular occurrence. From Monday through to late Thursday the central heating system was "down"; and many residents were complaining of the cold. On Thursday morning there was no hot water available, seemingly throughout the hotel. Right outside our door, and all along our corridor, there were a variety of containers put out to catch leaking water drips. We are also aware that some residents had to move rooms as water drips were going on their beds during the night! So unfortunately what should have been a very pleasant stay was somewhat marred by the maintenance and other problems at the Hotel. If and when he responds to this review, perhaps the Hotel manager will explain why there was never any attempt to apologise to customers for the Hotel's deficiences - nor was there any offer of any compensation (even free drinks) to make up for the shortfalls.

Room Tip: If wanting a seaview room ask for one that is above the copious large trees in the hotel grounds.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chalkieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for posting a balanced and honest review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and service at the hotel and found the staff friendly and helpful.
I apologise about the bed and I will be checking what room it was so that we can get it replaced. We have recently sourced a new bed manufacturer to improve the quality of the matresses.
All taps are thermostatic and should adjust if there is a fluctuation in the water temperature.There is normally plenty of hot water and this is not a recurring complaint we receive.
I apologise if this has somewhat marred your stay and I hope you return to us in the future
Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Firstly we were not aware this was a Shearings hotel as it is not mentioned anywhere on the website. The food was awful - bland and mushy! The hotel was advertised as being refubished - this obviously had not reached our room which was very tired. The bed squeaked - as did the one next door as we could hear them turning over at night!!! Never again.

Room Tip: I would not book in the first place
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for posting your review.
We have recently refurbished another twelve rooms in the hotel and I am sorry to hear that your room was not rerfurbished at the time of the visit.The hotel caters for around 110 guests on a daily basis and we very rarely recieve complaints about the food quality.The chef is always willing to provide an alternative if what is on the menu does not meet your taste or expectations.
We are in the process of reviewing our menus for the summer period.
Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Imperial. This is the best Shearings we have stayed at. The bedroom was exceptional, the dining area and lounges were above average. The staff as always were very friendly and could not be more helpful. Meals were not as good as other Shearings we have stayed at but did improve later in the week (maybe a change of chef)! The bathrooms still need attention but the worrying part was the cleanliness of them, especially the bath tap and plug area, which I spring cleaned myself. These are the little touches which if not corrected can become a health hazard. I think when you are a bath person rather than a shower person, it is probably more noticeable. It did put me off having my usual long soak, looking at the dirt around where the plug chain attaches to the bath. This does seem to be a common feature with Shearings hotels, which is a shame.
I am sure if the price of the drinks came down you would see more participating, but overall a lovely stay and would certainately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanRWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you would recommend the Imperial to family and friends.Its great to get constructive feedback. I will ensure the bath plugs and chains are thoroughly cleaned or replaced.
The puiblic areas and bedrooms are decorated to a good standard.
The dining room is an elegent Victorian feature and is well received by our guests.
I will pass on your compliments to all the team at the hotel.
Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

April 16th - 20th . An enjoyable relaxing break for us in our mid sixties to celebrate a birthday. Travelling from North Devon on our bus passes the hotel was only a very short walk from the Strand bus stop. The Imperial was an ideal choice for us, very comfortable beds, lounge furniture, the dining room was excellent. We had no complaints with the food, waitresses were very attentive to our needs. We upgraded to a sea view ( room 216 ) looking over the garden and sea. Very well looked after in our room, this was usually cleaned while we were at breakfast. Would certainly stay here again and recommend to friends. Excellent base to visit Exeter and Sidmouth with FREE bus pass !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brauntonrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted you had an enjoyable short break with us at the hotel. Exmouth is a lovely Victorian Town with long sandy beaches,well kept gardens and excellent local amenities and transport links.
I hope you return for another enjoyable break in the near future.

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Went for a 3 night Easter break at The Imperial, part of the Coast & Country Hotel group. A really grand old-fashioned type hotel building, beautifully situated right opposite Exmouth's lovely sandy beaches. Plenty of car parking and the hotel is just a few minutes walk into the main town so you have everything on your doorstep. Our room was really comfortably, nicely furnished and (apart from the tiniest TV screen we've seen in about 20 years!) we couldn't fault it. The dining room is a particularly beautiful room and the food and service was absolutely excellent. We paid what I would call a budget price for the break, but everything about the Imperial takes it well above a budget hotel. Far, far better than we were expecting and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: You probably have to pay extra if you want a sea view.l Our room was at the back of the hotel, but w...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crussell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Its great to know you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
I will pass on your compliments to the Head Chef and the dining room staff and I hope you return the the Imperial hotel in the near future

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#4 of 11 in Exmouth
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £67 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing