We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed at The Imperial in June on the jubilee weekend.The hotel is well situated across from the beach and close to town centre and all amenities.
The food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.Room was well furnished although the T V was a bit dated.

Room Tip: Sea facing or superior rooms if required but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I am please you felt the quality of food was excellent and that you had an enjoyable stay.
The tv's have now been replaced to slim LCD TV's

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    184
    83
    34
    16
See reviews for
46
310
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have just had a very enjoyable 4 night stay at this Hotel. We cannot agree with a lot of the previous reviews. Everything was fine we need not have worried.

No hot water – Rubbish.

Dirty Rooms and Bathrooms - Rubbish

Unhelpful miserable staff – Rubbish.

The water was always very hot, in both the hand basin and bath.
The room was always clean and comfortable, with ample tea and coffee.
We found the staff to be very helpful and cheerful. A defect reported to reception was dealt with very quickly, and a request for an extra item was also sorted straight away.

We do feel however that the choice, preparation and presentation of vegetables leave a lot to be desired. But then that is most likely personal choice. Another bad point was the Pool. It was not very inviting, very “greenish” with lots of debris on the top. We went to the sea instead. Later in the week the debris seemed to have gone, but sadly it still did not look inviting.

You reap what you sow. If you treat people with a frosty attitude you will get the same back. It takes all sorts in this world, go with the flow and enjoy your holiday. We will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nolegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The majority of our guests return time after time and I hope to see you in the near future.
Unfortunately the outdoor swimming pool has'nt had much use and takes a couple of days after bad weather to look its best.
We have just introduced a new summer menu with more choice to try and keep the menu attractive and varied to returning guests

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
198 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I haven't stayed in a "traditional" English large seaside hotel for many years and based on this experience probably won't again. We stayed for two nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. Our room was OK - we had a Superior with seaview (small balcony). Service was patchy - aimiable enough but only one person in reception and if they nipped out it was unmanned. The feeling was that the hotel was trying to get away with employing the minimum number of staff and they had "rules" to follow and were unable to be flexible.

The restaurant was regimented and the food was just about OK - what I'd call typically English, with overcooked vegetables and not all that much choice. We were on half board and were tempted to eat elsewhere on the second evening but the weather was bad so we stayed in and it was a little better than the first night. Breakfast was also just OK, as long as you didn't want any variation from the menu and were prepared to ask for things which were on the menu but not in evidence in the self-service area.

I think my rating of "average" is a bit generous and we won't be rushing back but I suppose there must be worse places and it wasn't all that expensive and it is in a good location for exploring Exmouth and in good weather one could use the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for posting your review.
The hotel does offer excellent value for money and is a great location for exploring the South West. Staffing numbers is not normally an issue and in some case our service can be a little too efficient.
The weather always puts a different perspective on any holiday and the Imperial is ideal on a sunny day.
Regards Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This hotel was quite tired in appearance especially the bedroom, carpet was very grubby and showed on soles of my brand new slippers. Bathroom door, wood peeling from the bottom, no hot water in hand basin, shower dial couldn't be turned, bad for arthritic hands, especially when hotel staff didn't bother to put it right after complaint. Food good, staff really tried to wait on us in limited time. No heating, room lights were worse than candles, all energy saving bulbs which never brightened enough. Nice and quiet for sleeping. No shower, as pensioners we had to climb in quite high bath and shower there. Worst feature - washing our mugs and glasses in hand basin used for washing hands and cleaning teeth. Yuck!! Appalling. Duty manager was asked if all cups and glasses could go to kitchens each day to be sterilized and we were told "all hotels wash the drinking utensils in the hand basin". How unhygienic is that!!! Won't be going again.

Room Tip: Not really. Only saw one room to the left of reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyndy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for posting your review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the food at the hotel.
The issue mentioned of cleaning cups in the washbasin is standard industry practice. All sinks are thoroughly cleaned and sanitised and the water is above 50 degrees. It would be impractical to bring all the cups down to the dishwasher. We would have to do this everytime a guest has a tea or coffee.

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Hotel looks very grand. Had room with sea view (very nice). Room OK. Bathroom definately needs refurbishment. Not overly clean. Not overly friendly either, except for a nice waitress at breakfast Anoka (I think that was name). Not organised when came to cleaning either. We stayed 3 nights (booked). First morning cleaner was actually knocking and entering room to clean at 8.45 before we had even been down for breakfast, which goes on until 10am. We were having a well earned lay in!! Knocked every morning. Last morning, same thing. Then proceded to clean door etc, in other words, hint hint get up. Is a Shearings hotel, so is catering for the coach trips. Could be a wonderful hotel if refurbished bedrooms/bathrooms, organised the cleaning better to see who had actually been down to breakfast and was more friendlier. Would not recommend or stay again. Bed also gave me terrible back ache. Glad to get home to own bed!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AMH97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
The issue with the room attendent cleaning your room to early could have easily been resolved either by speaking to reception, putting your do not disturb sign on the outside of the door or speaking to the room attendent.
I have spoken to the housekeeper to have a word so that this issue does not re- occur

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We visited Exmouth as a special break for our Golden Wedding and decided to upgrade to a room with a sea view. We felt slightly wary in view of several adverse reports on Trip Advisor, but decided to go ahead anyway.

The first thing to say is that the Imperial is something of a Grand Old Lady of a hotel and has seen better days. Nevertheless, it suited us very well, with easy parking, a good location, good food and a comfortable bed. The dining room staff in particular were very pleasant, though we might have appreciated a less distant approach at Reception. It was a good base for exploring the area, including Bicton Gardens, Exeter, the Exeter Canal and the Turf Hotel (good for bird-watching), boat and train trip to Topsham etc.

Some contributors to Trip Advisor have mentioned dirty marks in the bathroom, and certainly there were rust marks around the taps and bath drain, though these are really minor niggles. More importantly, the hot water in the wash basin was not hot, which we reported to Reception. It improved briefly but was not much better before we left. We understand the whole hotel is undergoing a programme of refurbishment, but unless it were to close down entirely for a time (resulting in a substantial loss) it will take a long while to complete.

Interestingly, the hotel management seems to have responded to favourable reports on Trip Advisor, but not adverse ones. It would be good to know of their reaction when guests complain.

On balance, a nice place to stay, generally good value for money, but don’t expect luxury!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for your well balanced review.
I am pleased to note that you enjoyed the food and service in the hotel.The hotel is a great location for exploring the surrounding area.
We have recently refurbished another twelve rooms and are planning to replace and update our television sets in the near future
The hotel generally runs to capacity and we do not normally have a problem with the hot water supply.I apologise and I will review what temperature the boiler is set at.
I have answered all the positive and negative reviews posted.
In general we respond to any customer complaints through our customer care department.
Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We must preface this review by pointing out that our Monday-Friday stay coincided with a very cloudy, cold, wet and windy spell of weather; so we were expecting the Hotel to react to this - it became very relevant. Our initial "standard" room looked very basic with only a "seaview" of trees; so at quite high cost we upgraded to a "Superior" room. This had a lovely sea view and at first glance appeared ideal. It was fairly recently decorated and modern. The good points about our stay were;- having been to a great number of Shearings hotels this was potentially one of the better ones. It has a great sea-front location with large gardens. The dining room is lovely; and from our perspective we found the food to be of good quality, the staff friendly, and the service quick - sometimes a bit too quick! Reception staff were also friendly and helpful. Comfortable lounge and adequate bar facilities. There was only entertainment on 2 nights, but what there was was well received by a small audience. There is plenty of car parking, which was a plus. The majority of our Superior room proved a worthwhile, if overly expensive, upgrade. Now for the bad bits:- The bed in our Superior room was large and supposedly "more comfortable". However, springs were poking through the mattress; and the Hotel were obviously aware of this as a blanket had been put on top of the mattress to try to improve things - whereas it really needs a proper mattress topper. The shower is a health and safety hazard! Having set it at the required temperature the water seems to go through a cycle of cool, scalding, cold etc - and there is no safety cutout. This was a regular occurrence. From Monday through to late Thursday the central heating system was "down"; and many residents were complaining of the cold. On Thursday morning there was no hot water available, seemingly throughout the hotel. Right outside our door, and all along our corridor, there were a variety of containers put out to catch leaking water drips. We are also aware that some residents had to move rooms as water drips were going on their beds during the night! So unfortunately what should have been a very pleasant stay was somewhat marred by the maintenance and other problems at the Hotel. If and when he responds to this review, perhaps the Hotel manager will explain why there was never any attempt to apologise to customers for the Hotel's deficiences - nor was there any offer of any compensation (even free drinks) to make up for the shortfalls.

Room Tip: If wanting a seaview room ask for one that is above the copious large trees in the hotel grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chalkieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thank you for posting a balanced and honest review.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and service at the hotel and found the staff friendly and helpful.
I apologise about the bed and I will be checking what room it was so that we can get it replaced. We have recently sourced a new bed manufacturer to improve the quality of the matresses.
All taps are thermostatic and should adjust if there is a fluctuation in the water temperature.There is normally plenty of hot water and this is not a recurring complaint we receive.
I apologise if this has somewhat marred your stay and I hope you return to us in the future
Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#7 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#8 of 10 in Exmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Property: The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Address: The Imperial Hotel Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing