We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Manor Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ashton Court(Exmouth)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Beacon Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
145
231
104
43
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
231
104
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast countrysea viewstandard roomsea frontshearings hotelscar parkdining room isself drivehalf boardpublic roomstown centreheated towel raillovely breaka la carte menulovely roomnight breakcoach driver
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Imperial. It is beautifully situated by the coast and town is just a short walk away.
It had a lovely old world feel to the hotel. The refurbished lounge and dining room are lovely. We had a standard room which was OK but a bit tired. Worst part was the lack of light, the lamp we shared was so dim we could hardly read.
The reception staff were lovely and really helpful when we had a problem.
Our main downside was the food which was quite poor. The selection was not good unless we paid extra and the speed it was given to us showed it was prepared beforehand. The quality of the food left much to be desired although our waitress was lovely.
If we returned which we might well do we would ask for a superior room and would have just B&B as there are lots of restaurants and pubs in town

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea, superior rooms look a lot better than standard
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us.
The new al a carte menu is well received by the majority of our guests as it offers more choice and variety to the menu.
We will be reviewing this on a regular basis and taking into account our customers feedback

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel, Exmouth for a three night weekend break in late June/ early July this year and were very pleased with the service, food and our room ( Room 32). This was a superior room with a supplementary charge but it was very comfortable and with a delightful outlook over the hotel gardens, trees, and putting green. There were many birds, particularly seagulls and wood pigeons amusing us during the late afternoon and early evening and by late evening we could also see the coloured lights beside the water.
Generally the room was large and well decorated and equipped. Channels on the good sized flat screen television seemed to be limited but that may have been my problem when using the remote control. We slept very well and although I initially thought the mattress rather uncomfortably by the third night I become quite used to it.
Meals were well prepared and our waitress was marvellous, helping me choose gluten-free items from the menu. Although choices were sometimes limited there was always something attractive and well cooked. The vegetables however were a little over cooked for our taste.
Just across the road from the hotel there is a pleasant small park and within a short distance an attractive square surrounded by small coffee shops. If only our stay had been longer I would have loved to spend more time enjoying the atmosphere here. However we wanted to travel around the area and so using the first afternoon my partner took a boat trip around the bay while I walked along the esplanade and the next day we drove to Colyton and took a return tram ride to Seaton. I would recommend this to anyone interested in either birds and wildlife or in trams. The only drawback was the cold wind as we were in an open carriage but the hot coffee in the old train waiting room when we returned to Colyton soon warmed us up again. Later that day we went to look at the restored Mill in nearby Otterton. We found that the village was celebrating that weekend by opening thirteen small gardens for charity and we enjoyed the friendly welcome owners and other villagers gave us. The mill itself was also well worth a visit with interesting local crafts being displayed.
It was unfortunate that the whole weekend was cold and overcast but never-the-less we had a really good time in the Imperial Hotel and in Exmouth and the surrounding area. The hotel is not large but it has very good car parking at the back and a lovely setting fronting onto the coastal esplanade. The staff are great, the food acceptable and we look forward to coming back again before too long.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CornwallCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I am pleased you had a great weekend and enjoyed our gardens and extensive views across the Estuary.
The hotel is in an ideal location and our car park can accommodate all our guests

Thank you Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Had a two day break here last weekend. I thought it was excellent value for money, the food was very good and the service and atitude of the staff was second to none - thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ringolumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I will pass on your kind compliments to all the staff at the Imperial and I hope you return in the near future

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We recently had 7 nights at the Imperial (Fri to Fri) and whilst there were some plus points i.e good parking facility, well kept grounds, most of the staff helpful & friendly, well situated for sea front and shops, entertainment available on three of the nights was good standard, unfortunately there were some problems. When booking, we were unable to upgrade and therefore had standard rooms (two adjoining) but were somewhat concerned at no hot water! Fair enough for a couple of days but in fact we had none throughout the week, with daily various excuses, and had to be content with, at the best, lukewarm showers. The rooms overlooked the car park which, whilst not too attractive, was no real drawback. However we thought the floor covering in both the main room and the bathroom could certainly do with a replacement as soon as possible and the room lighting was so dull it was not easy to read a book. Very small television set, though picture quality O.K. As for meals, opinions amongst our gang of four varied from very dis-appointed to reasonable though the introduction of Shearings "Summer a la carte" menu midway during our stay did not help as it meant that such items as Salads, Fruit selection and Cheese & Biscuits, which had been on the general all in menu suddenly dis-appeared and were now available on a charge basis. Having had a very good Shearings break only a few weeks earlier, on this occasion we felt let down . Personal opinion is that if the Imperial got its act together and rectified such problems as no hot water with the minimum of delay and took the trouble to improve the quality of its standard room accomodation, then it might be worthwhile going back to.

Room Tip: Would nor recommend standard room - go for an upgrade
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for posting your review. We have now rectified the problem with the hot water. This was not a simple issue and took time for the manufaturers to send a replacement boiler.
Most rooms have been refurbished and we have recently installed new televisoins. The al a carte menu has been introiduced to give more choice and variation to the menu.

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Just returned home from 5 days with Shearings. The Hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the food good. The stay was spoilt by the lack of hot water. What a shame

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnandsue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for your well balanced review. The hot water issue has been resolved and I apologise for the lack of hot water. We had to repalce the hot water boiler which was only installed two years ago.

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews