We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 21 July 2012

A bit of a hidden gem we thought. We arrived late without a reservation and were greeted with nothing but good customer service from the outset. Light, clean and airy. What more can you ask. We did not have dinner, but we did have breakfast. This was well cooked and presented. The communal dining room we gather was once the ball room with was tastefully decorated. No this is not a five star destination by any means, but it was a good, solid hotel with a lot to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheeepwearltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thankyou for posting your review.
I will pass on your kind comments to the management team and the staff.The Imperial is a great destination for enjoying the South West and the local area.
I hope you return to the Imperial in the near future

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

We booked for Short 3 day break in late June / early July. Wanting a double room with sea view, all had been taken apart from one which required us to upgrade. We decided to go for it and pay a surcharge. We paid £300 bed/breakfast and evening meal. On arrival, we had no trouble parking, but the entrance looked dated and outwardly not terribly inviting (almost tradesman). However, once inside it was like entering a different era (i.e. 21st Century) apart from certain features tastefully retained in keeping with the period of the building. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we have no complaints about the food. There was the opportunity to borrow an iron and ironing board free of charge, unfortunately, unless everyone was ironing, these would appear to have been in extremely short supply. The only disappointment though was with the room. It was a lovely big room with ensuite bathroom. Fantastic large bay window overlooking the garden, promenade and ocean, colour TV and tea/coffee making facilities, unfortunately, it was EXTREMELY tired !
Old wallpaper, bare old divan bases which really should have had valances on! The bathroom was crying out to be replaced. Old linolium flooring, and suite, and a non-slip bath mat that should not be there!
It is quite apparent that the room we were in is yet to be refurbished. However, I do feel that we should have been made aware of this. OK we had the sea view, but I do not feel that the room was worthy of a surcharge!

Would we stay there again ? . . . Yes

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thankyou for posting your review.I am pleased you enjoyed the food and the service you received at the hotel. The large sea view rooms are the next to be refurbished. We have recently upgraded our tv's and another twelve rooms.We have a rolling programme for refurbishment.and are planning to refurbish another 2 rooms in the Autumn. This is despite very challenging economic trading circumstances.

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I telephoned the hotel in advance to ask if they had a disabled room with a sea view as we wanted to take my disabled parents away for a weekend. I also requested a double with sea view. The assistant Manager assured me that the disabled room, no. 22 was available on 6th July, I paid a deposit direct to the hotel and they told me to ring Central Reservations with the disabled requirements. When I rang to pay the balance, I asked the assistant Manager again if the room was available as we had to have the specially adapted room. He again said that the room was available. When we arrived at the hotel at 1.45 pm, a man in a wheelchair was checking in and I heard the receptionist say "here is your key for room 22". I realised then that our room had been double booked. I complained to the duty Manager and she was very apologetic and could only offer another room on the 1st floor, a long way from the lift. The room was spacious but the bathroom was not suitable for my parents. We were given a bigger room but to top it all, the telephone was not working so we could not keep in touch with my parents. The Assistant Manager sent up a maintenance guy but he said they would have to get an engineer but not until Monday morning, when we would be leaving! Disgraceful!!!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank LorraineS298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

I can only apologise for the distress caused to your parents.After investigation it seems that Head Office had already received a request from another guest, for room 22, prior to your booking.Unfortunately the hotel was not aware of this as it had not received the paperwork and to our knowledge the room was available.Any requests for room 22 has to go through our special helpdesk line at Head Office.
The telephone system was knocked out by a storm that weekend which further compounded the problem with your room.I believe you were upgraded to a superior room.
Once again I apologise for this unfortunate incident

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break at the Imperial. It is beautifully situated by the coast and town is just a short walk away.
It had a lovely old world feel to the hotel. The refurbished lounge and dining room are lovely. We had a standard room which was OK but a bit tired. Worst part was the lack of light, the lamp we shared was so dim we could hardly read.
The reception staff were lovely and really helpful when we had a problem.
Our main downside was the food which was quite poor. The selection was not good unless we paid extra and the speed it was given to us showed it was prepared beforehand. The quality of the food left much to be desired although our waitress was lovely.
If we returned which we might well do we would ask for a superior room and would have just B&B as there are lots of restaurants and pubs in town

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea, superior rooms look a lot better than standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us.
The new al a carte menu is well received by the majority of our guests as it offers more choice and variety to the menu.
We will be reviewing this on a regular basis and taking into account our customers feedback

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed at the Imperial Hotel, Exmouth for a three night weekend break in late June/ early July this year and were very pleased with the service, food and our room ( Room 32). This was a superior room with a supplementary charge but it was very comfortable and with a delightful outlook over the hotel gardens, trees, and putting green. There were many birds, particularly seagulls and wood pigeons amusing us during the late afternoon and early evening and by late evening we could also see the coloured lights beside the water.
Generally the room was large and well decorated and equipped. Channels on the good sized flat screen television seemed to be limited but that may have been my problem when using the remote control. We slept very well and although I initially thought the mattress rather uncomfortably by the third night I become quite used to it.
Meals were well prepared and our waitress was marvellous, helping me choose gluten-free items from the menu. Although choices were sometimes limited there was always something attractive and well cooked. The vegetables however were a little over cooked for our taste.
Just across the road from the hotel there is a pleasant small park and within a short distance an attractive square surrounded by small coffee shops. If only our stay had been longer I would have loved to spend more time enjoying the atmosphere here. However we wanted to travel around the area and so using the first afternoon my partner took a boat trip around the bay while I walked along the esplanade and the next day we drove to Colyton and took a return tram ride to Seaton. I would recommend this to anyone interested in either birds and wildlife or in trams. The only drawback was the cold wind as we were in an open carriage but the hot coffee in the old train waiting room when we returned to Colyton soon warmed us up again. Later that day we went to look at the restored Mill in nearby Otterton. We found that the village was celebrating that weekend by opening thirteen small gardens for charity and we enjoyed the friendly welcome owners and other villagers gave us. The mill itself was also well worth a visit with interesting local crafts being displayed.
It was unfortunate that the whole weekend was cold and overcast but never-the-less we had a really good time in the Imperial Hotel and in Exmouth and the surrounding area. The hotel is not large but it has very good car parking at the back and a lovely setting fronting onto the coastal esplanade. The staff are great, the food acceptable and we look forward to coming back again before too long.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CornwallCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I am pleased you had a great weekend and enjoyed our gardens and extensive views across the Estuary.
The hotel is in an ideal location and our car park can accommodate all our guests

Thank you Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Had a two day break here last weekend. I thought it was excellent value for money, the food was very good and the service and atitude of the staff was second to none - thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ringolumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

I will pass on your kind compliments to all the staff at the Imperial and I hope you return in the near future

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We recently had 7 nights at the Imperial (Fri to Fri) and whilst there were some plus points i.e good parking facility, well kept grounds, most of the staff helpful & friendly, well situated for sea front and shops, entertainment available on three of the nights was good standard, unfortunately there were some problems. When booking, we were unable to upgrade and therefore had standard rooms (two adjoining) but were somewhat concerned at no hot water! Fair enough for a couple of days but in fact we had none throughout the week, with daily various excuses, and had to be content with, at the best, lukewarm showers. The rooms overlooked the car park which, whilst not too attractive, was no real drawback. However we thought the floor covering in both the main room and the bathroom could certainly do with a replacement as soon as possible and the room lighting was so dull it was not easy to read a book. Very small television set, though picture quality O.K. As for meals, opinions amongst our gang of four varied from very dis-appointed to reasonable though the introduction of Shearings "Summer a la carte" menu midway during our stay did not help as it meant that such items as Salads, Fruit selection and Cheese & Biscuits, which had been on the general all in menu suddenly dis-appeared and were now available on a charge basis. Having had a very good Shearings break only a few weeks earlier, on this occasion we felt let down . Personal opinion is that if the Imperial got its act together and rectified such problems as no hot water with the minimum of delay and took the trouble to improve the quality of its standard room accomodation, then it might be worthwhile going back to.

Room Tip: Would nor recommend standard room - go for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thank you for posting your review. We have now rectified the problem with the hot water. This was not a simple issue and took time for the manufaturers to send a replacement boiler.
Most rooms have been refurbished and we have recently installed new televisoins. The al a carte menu has been introiduced to give more choice and variation to the menu.

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Address: The Imperial Hotel Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £45 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing