We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We spent a long weekend at the hotel and had a wonderful time. The reception staff were very polite and friendly, and even though we arrived earlier than expected, the room was ready upon our arrival. It wasn't newly decorated, but was very comfortable and with more facilities than we had expected. We were very lucky to have a room with a view - a stunning view over the extensive gardens and out to sea. The hotel is just a short stroll from Exmouth town centre, which can be reached by a walk along the seafront, with plenty of beachfront cafes, or a shorter route via the roads into town. From here we got the train into Exeter to visit the Cathedral and Christmas Market (much easier than trying to park in Exeter). The hotel receptionist was very helpful and found out the train times for us - nothing was too much trouble! As hotel guests, we had use of the leisure centre, so tried out the pool, steam room and jaccuzzi at no extra cost - ideal for tired feet! The Christmas lights had just been switched on at the hotel, so we were fortunate to see these illuminating the gardens at night. We had breakfast in the hotel dining room, and there was plenty of choice. We shall return - it is the perfect location for exploring Exmouth and the surrounding area, including walks along the Jurassic Coast to see the Orcombe Red Rocks. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobbieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for posting this review. I think this review might be for a different hotel as we don't have leisure facilities.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a five day self drive break to this hotel. We had stayed before and weren't disappointed. We were greeted on arrival by Hannah, a very friendly receptionist, and found almost all the staff to be cheerful and helpful. We were given a nice sea view room, not refurbished but we had not paid extra for this so we were quite happy. The room was maybe a little tired but we were more than happy for what we had paid. The refurbished bar is very pleasant and the dining room is also a lovely area. The food was not the best hotel food we had ever had but again we thought on the whole it represented good value. The situation of the hotel and the staff are definitely the reason we will be returning. As a previous reviewer said, if you want first class food and amenities then you should expect to pay for them. Overall very good value for out of season break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEGGY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I will pass on your compliments to Anna and the rest of the staff at the hotel. We always try to make our guests feel at home and relax and enjoy the hotel facilities.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We are a couple in our early 60's who stayed at this hotel on a shearings 5 day break in nov 2013. Check in was fast and we were given a downstairs room as requested,,,we didn't notice any bad smells,,the room was fairly basic,,a reasonable size and was clean,,,not a bad standard for a 3* hotel. We actually thought the drinks were expensive but that's to be expected in most hotels. The bar and dinning room were lovely pleasant rooms which looked as if they had been renovated fairly recently. The food was good on the whole and always served hot but some things were poor quality such as a previous posted has said about the scallops which did just taste of breadcrumbs and a vegetarian curry which was mainly large chunks of onions,,,but most meals were nice. All the staff were cheerful,,polite and helpful. The hotel is in a lovely location right on the seafront.There was entertainment on 2 evenings,,,we didn't find either act to our taste,,,I noticed that there are more shearings guests in their 60's and early 70's ,now so the singers/music should be updated from the 40's and 50's to maybe the 60's and 70's,,,george Formby and vera lynne are not our era!!!!,,,,...........Overall I think its a good 3* star hotel.

Room Tip: we were happy with our standard room but some rooms had balconys that overlooked the sea,,,these wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrystalchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you found the hotel clean and comfortable, and on the whole enjoyed your dining experience.I will look into your comments regarding the breaded scallops and seek a replacement.

I hope you return in the future as Exmouth has plenty to offer during the seasons

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Having stayed at this hotel with our children back in the 80's, when it was part of a more 'up-market' hotel group, it was with some trepidation that we booked into the hotel this November now that it was owned by the Shearings company. We wanted to be based in the centre of Exmouth as we had arranged to spend a couple of days in town meeting friends who had moved to Exmouth a couple of years ago and this hotel suited us for that.

First impressions from our arrival on our entry into the car park was that the rear of the hotel looked a little tired. It seemed odd having the main reception at the rear of the hotel and in fairness it was quite a drab entry. The reception area is rather small but it functioned perfectly. We were greeted warmly and despite the website stating that rooms would not be available until 3pm we were booked in at 12:30 with no problem. We had booked a sea view room which was on the first floor. This had recently been updated and was comfortable and modern. A couple of things that did create an impression were one, the strong smell of a masking scent in the corridors of some sort that was a little overpowering and two, having to book and pay for a parking place at time of making the booking. On arrival the car park was almost empty and even later in the day was never full. I guess that this may be different during peak season but felt that it was not necessary out of season and we had been talked into it.

We had booked on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis. The bar/lounge areas appear to have recently updated giving the whole area a very modern and clean appearance. The drinks were not expensive although service could be a bit slow.

The dining room is quite spectacular with a very high ceiling as this was originally a ballroom. Once again the tables and chairs have a modern bistro type appearance which in some ways is at odds with the grandeur of the room itself. The food was fairly good with a la carte options available at a not too expensive supplement.

There was some building works going on at the front of the hotel where the old pool is being replaced by an outside dining area which seems a great idea. All in all we enjoyed our stay and felt that the hotel delivered on what it promised so would recommend it. We will return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for posting your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you found your holiday good value for money.
The hotel has been refurbished in recent years and has maintained the majority of its original features with a slightly more modern feel.
wehave more investment planned in the coming year.
I hope you retuen in the near future.
Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We did arrive early, I had to be elsewhere in Exmouth for 1pm, but the car park was fairly empty so we thought we'd try and check in or at least drop off our bag - no chance no receptionist. We went out for dinner no receptionist to take key as requested to leave. On our return after some wait the receptionist arrived with a plated meal ! Again on checking out no receptionist to take key!!
Room could hardly fault, comfy bed, well furnished etc. Breakfast good.
Hotel is ideally situated, less than 5 mins to town centre and 2 minutes from sea front. Does appear that the outdoor swimming has been filled in, but as no one on reception couldn't find out why and what was going to replace it. Did notice though that a Premier Inn was going to be built next door even closer to the front though !

Room Tip: Try booking through Booking.com etc as walk in price far more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JagerPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased you enjoyed the accommodation and food at the hotel. I will be reviewing your comments with the front of house staff about reception being unattended.The swimming pool area is being refurbished to create a relaxed outside area for use in the main season.

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights on a shearings holiday. From the moment we arrived to when we left everything was excellent. All the staff were most helpful and friendly Our room was very nice lovely comfortable bed excellent bathroom nothing to complain about at all. The food in the dining room was excellent and we had a bar lunch one day and that was very good too. We would definatley stay here again if we came to Exmouth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thankyou for your review
I am very pleased that you the service standards excellent at the hotel and I will pass on your compliments to the Head Chef and the rest of the team at the Imperial

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at various shearing hotels before and would certainly say that this is the best so far - the location is very good and the hotel has a genteel air - ok it does attract an elderly clientele - but this is no problem -
We stayed for 4 nights in room 102 which is very spacious and well appointed - well worth paying the extra money - all very smart and clean - the entrance area and reception is looking a little tired - food is fine - and value for money - will definitely return and shall certainly book 102 again if it is available

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrySme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your comments.
It's always great to get positive feedback. I will pass on your compliments to the team at the hotel and I hope to see you in the near future

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#4 of 11 in Exmouth
486 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £51 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing