We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 2 February 2014

just spent 4 nights at the imperial on a last minute getaway break. We had a twin room with sea view .CLEAN COMFORTABLE BEDS. larger than an average singles. Well decorated warm room with good wardrobe space etc excellent room service nothing to complain about here.The food is average to good with plenty of choices and also an a la carte at a really good discount. The staff were efficient and helpful. many thanks to Lucinda in the dining room who looked after so well the whole trip. o and not forgetting anna the manageress pleasant efficient and friendly . cheers and thanks to all

Room Tip: room 26 was pleasant clean and first floor with a sea view
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your positive review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.At the hotel we try to make all our guests as comfortable and welcome as possible.I will pass on your kind wishes to Anna and Lucinda

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

The actual room was horrible. This 'hotel' was very clearly a care home albeit presumably being converted? The front of house, restaurant and reception for example was really nice however, the décor in the room was very dated, quite dreadful. There was also red emergency cords still dangling from the ceilings. The old fashioned bars and rails, associated with an old type hospital were still in the bathroom area, quite off putting, yuk. The mattress was no thicker than a piece of slim slice bread! Cant imagine anyone being happy staying here in it's present state and we're usually, relatively easily pleased usually.

Room Tip: Our best advise would be to find somewhere else.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanAckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your review.I have never heard the hotel been referred to as a care home but there you go! The hotel is a high three star standard as rated by the English Tourist Board. However I will look into your accommodation and décor. I take it you were in room 22. The bars you are referring to are grab rails and are fitted as standard to aid getting in and out of the bath to reduce slip risks.

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel after reading some mixed reviews on this site. The rooms were decorated well, it was clean also plenty of wardrobe space. We also had a sea view. The staff were very pleasant. Ruben who served our Breakfast was very polite and seen to our every need. We will be going back soon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Thecurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your review
It's good to get honest feedback and that you enjoyed your accommodation and the service at the hotel.
I will pass on your compliments to Ruben

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

From the moment we arrived on 23rd. December to the time we left on 27th.December we were treated with the utmost courtesy. All the staff from the room attendant to the dining room staff and the reception desk staff went out of their way to make our stay a Christmas to remember. Due to the adverse weather on December 23rd. we arrived early but this did not cause the staff any problems. All the menus over the 4 days of our stay were first class. We could not fault the service in the dining room. The food was well cooked and well presented. We enjoyed the time so much we booked for next Christmas while we were there.

Room Tip: Superior rooms good value
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It's great to know you enjoyed your break especially at Christmas. I will pass on your compliments to all the staff at the hotel.
Look forward to seeing you during the festive period

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on a 5day holiday with Shearings.
We were given a lovely room with a sea view. The hotel is very convenient for the town
of Exmouth. Just a short walk through the park and also for a stroll along the "prom".
The food was very good and the restaurant had plenty of room in it.
We would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lawrencewhite2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your complimentary review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food and the hotels location

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We spent a long weekend at the hotel and had a wonderful time. The reception staff were very polite and friendly, and even though we arrived earlier than expected, the room was ready upon our arrival. It wasn't newly decorated, but was very comfortable and with more facilities than we had expected. We were very lucky to have a room with a view - a stunning view over the extensive gardens and out to sea. The hotel is just a short stroll from Exmouth town centre, which can be reached by a walk along the seafront, with plenty of beachfront cafes, or a shorter route via the roads into town. From here we got the train into Exeter to visit the Cathedral and Christmas Market (much easier than trying to park in Exeter). The hotel receptionist was very helpful and found out the train times for us - nothing was too much trouble! As hotel guests, we had use of the leisure centre, so tried out the pool, steam room and jaccuzzi at no extra cost - ideal for tired feet! The Christmas lights had just been switched on at the hotel, so we were fortunate to see these illuminating the gardens at night. We had breakfast in the hotel dining room, and there was plenty of choice. We shall return - it is the perfect location for exploring Exmouth and the surrounding area, including walks along the Jurassic Coast to see the Orcombe Red Rocks. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobbieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for posting this review. I think this review might be for a different hotel as we don't have leisure facilities.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a five day self drive break to this hotel. We had stayed before and weren't disappointed. We were greeted on arrival by Hannah, a very friendly receptionist, and found almost all the staff to be cheerful and helpful. We were given a nice sea view room, not refurbished but we had not paid extra for this so we were quite happy. The room was maybe a little tired but we were more than happy for what we had paid. The refurbished bar is very pleasant and the dining room is also a lovely area. The food was not the best hotel food we had ever had but again we thought on the whole it represented good value. The situation of the hotel and the staff are definitely the reason we will be returning. As a previous reviewer said, if you want first class food and amenities then you should expect to pay for them. Overall very good value for out of season break.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEGGY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I will pass on your compliments to Anna and the rest of the staff at the hotel. We always try to make our guests feel at home and relax and enjoy the hotel facilities.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
125 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £67 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing