We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Wedding Anniversary Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary on 15th February 2014 and having been married in Exmouth and with our reception at the hotel it was unthinkable to stay anywhere else.

The position of the hotel on the seafront cannot be bettered and the viws from the room excellent. Flat walking along the front some 2 miles to Orcombe Point one way or 1 mile to the harbour the other is a tremendous bonus. Plenty to look at along the beach and the flood waters from the previous night had run away!

Food excellent, service likewise, staff all very friendly particularly when balloons decorated the table for dinner on the anniversary evening.

We love the Imperial and have been going back for family celebrations for many years.

It is however rather like a dowager duchess namely somewhat past her best and needs some TLC to restore her to the Premier hotel in Exmouth for the last 50 years+ Geoffrey and Fay Forster

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and honest review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We continually invest in the hotel and are looking forward to the warmer months when our guests can enjoy our new patio/sun terrace. I will pass on your compliments to the staff at the hotel.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Once again a lovely break at The Imperial in room 102 - staff very friendly and helpful as always- improvements have been made since last visit in October with an outside paved seating area for the warmer months - will be back when in area again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrySme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review and its great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Imperial.
The new raised patio area will be ready for the summer month's so that our guest's can take full advantage of the weather whilst enjoying a cool drink or a spot of lunch and watch the world go by.We are also refurbishing a further six rooms in the coming months.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at The Imperial for 4 nights this week over half term. Our room was very large with a large bay window and sea view. The decor was fine, yes there was evidence of damp on one corner of the room, but it wasn't a problem. We stayed on half board basis with the voucher we used for drinks. The food was good, plenty of choice and plenty enough for each course at dinner. Breakfast was also good, you help yourself tocereals and juice, and good choice on menu apart from traditional fried breakfast. There was entertainment on two evenings, we didnt watch it, but were in the bar so heard the singer. Plenty of people went to the bar after dinner. There were papers available to read which was good. Whilst staying at the hotel we didnt need to use the car, we went out walking along the coast and estuary on 2 days and caught the train to Exeter on another day. The hotel is very close to the town centre and on the sea front. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your very positive review.
I will pass on your compliments to the Head Chef and the restaurant team. I am pleased you made the most of the in house credit voucher. The hotel is in a great location to enjoy the surrounding area

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Exmouth is our home town, and when visiting family we always stay at the Imperial hotel. We've never been anything but delighted. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. We are always looking forward to the next stay even before we depart.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melaniecol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review. Its always great to receive positive feedback and I will pass your comments on to all concerned. Hope you return in the near future

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We visited for four nights as two couples,we opted for a standard sea view and were pleasantly surprised with the level of space and decor,even better than a previous superior we had.the only downside was the very poor fitting windows which the wind whistled through and rain managed to penetrate.this was overcome by plugging gaps with towels and paper.our room 102 was fairly warm but because of faulty heating our relatives on the 2nd floor had to have oil filled radiators on constantly.the food was average and as expected but you had to ask constantly for any additional butters etc.previous coast and country hotels have always supplied hot chocolate sachets which get replenished daily,not here I was even told we would have to ask reception every day.rediculous.It would seem that this hotel is penny pinching as dirty crockery was also down to inadequate dishwashing temperatures.no desire to return here.give me ten by imperial any day.far superior staff levels from management down.

Room Tip: Always upgrade to sea view as back of hotel appears dismal and dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carole j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for posting your review.
I will look into the maintenance issues with your windows. I am sorry you felt that the hotel was penny pinching but I can assure you this is not the case. In the winter we charge £139 for Dinner bed and breakfast for a four night stay,this includes a £25 voucher to use on the bar and the restaurant. This is normally perceived as excellent value for money. Unfortunately due to the extreme weather in the Southwest we have had some water ingress problems which was unavoidable

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My Husband's birthday treat and I paid extra for a sea view room, but it was very small and badly in need of a make over, with ragged wallpaper in the window, chipped enamel in the bath, and a broken toilet roll holder. The lights over the bed were terribly dim and most difficult to read by.
Very disappointing after our stay at the sister hotel, the Landsdowne Grove in Bath.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a balcony, although the receptionist said they were in the process of being renov...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SillyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed in your accommodation and I will review this with our Maintenance Manager. We continually invest in our bedrooms and we have more work planned early May

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Pleasant enough reception. Room could have been lovely....it was large with a balcony and sea view. But the need for a substantial touch of paint and very noticeable scuffs spoiled it. Just 10 mins with a brush would have done the job. When I mentioned it to the receptionist she agreed that it was not very nice...but they were waiting for the paint! Balcony awning was ripped too and the glass balcony front was cracked top to bottom. Bottle of wine £14.95...." Do you want the 5p change?" asked the girl at the hotel bar. Attractive dining room and satisfactory food. Nothing really very wrong...but the staff could have been more enthusiastic. Would return again.

Room Tip: Sea facing with a balcony. In good weather or dreadful there is always something to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southfields15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your honest and balanced review.
I have just signed off circa £3000 to refurbish the large balconies at the front and these will be completed as soon as we get a break in the awful weather.
I am pleased you enjoyed the majority of your stay.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
200 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Address: The Imperial Hotel Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £56 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing