We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in. Large sea view suite with my wife and her elderly parents down corridor. Great sea views and good location for sea front. Decor average with signs of leaks and poor plastering where TV cable inserted. In laws' TV needed retuning every time it was turned on.

Food average too though staff were good. Restaurant was a huge hall and tables were a lottery as to whether you had 'traffic' or not.

Relaxing atmosphere. No wifi in rooms.

A step back in time which can be ok if food decor etc are good rather than just average.

Oh - if you come off set menu you sign bits of paper each night and the allowance is stingy.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank LondonUKTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your comments.
We constantly review our accommodation standards and I will look into your comments regarding the signs of water leaks.
I apologise for the fault with the television and this television has been swapped out for a new one.
In March we charged £159 per person for four nights, dinner, bed and breakfast for a standard room. This includes a twenty five pound in house credit voucher to be used against food and drink. I don't quite understand the comment about being stingy and we have to record transactions in the restaurant.
I am pleased you enjoyed the views and the hotel location and I hope you return in the warmer months.

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at the Imperial in October 2013 and again in Feb 2014.
It is a Grand hotel as the name implies.

We were pleasantly surprised by the room size and the dinner menu , particularly the facility to upgrade to a more expensive choice and in fact the opportunity to mix "and match'"menu's

If you are looking for value for money in a good old fashioned resort the Imperial is for you.

Room Tip: Try the lower ground floor with seafront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calidad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased you found your break excellent value for money and that you enjoyed our varied menu. I will pass on your compliments to the staff at the hotel.
Kind regards and best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Imperial for only one night as we had returned to Exmouth to visit friends. We used a booking website to find the best deal on hotels and were surprised the Imperial was well priced infact cheaper than some of B&Bs in town; so we booked. Up on arrival we were impressed with the grandness of the hotel, the staff were so helpful; the room was fantastic and had a sea view; plenty of tea and coffee making facilities in room. The bed was so comfortable and the room was an excellent size. Lovely breakfast; even for a fussy eater like me. Nothing was too much for anyone. Plenty of parking. Was a shame we were only staying for the one night; wish we had booked for longer. But we will definitely be back as we would like to try the restaurant. Thank you. Mr and Mrs D Street. From Gloucester.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucesterGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your very positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will return for a longer stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary on 15th February 2014 and having been married in Exmouth and with our reception at the hotel it was unthinkable to stay anywhere else.

The position of the hotel on the seafront cannot be bettered and the viws from the room excellent. Flat walking along the front some 2 miles to Orcombe Point one way or 1 mile to the harbour the other is a tremendous bonus. Plenty to look at along the beach and the flood waters from the previous night had run away!

Food excellent, service likewise, staff all very friendly particularly when balloons decorated the table for dinner on the anniversary evening.

We love the Imperial and have been going back for family celebrations for many years.

It is however rather like a dowager duchess namely somewhat past her best and needs some TLC to restore her to the Premier hotel in Exmouth for the last 50 years+ Geoffrey and Fay Forster

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and honest review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We continually invest in the hotel and are looking forward to the warmer months when our guests can enjoy our new patio/sun terrace. I will pass on your compliments to the staff at the hotel.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Once again a lovely break at The Imperial in room 102 - staff very friendly and helpful as always- improvements have been made since last visit in October with an outside paved seating area for the warmer months - will be back when in area again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrySme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review and its great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at the Imperial.
The new raised patio area will be ready for the summer month's so that our guest's can take full advantage of the weather whilst enjoying a cool drink or a spot of lunch and watch the world go by.We are also refurbishing a further six rooms in the coming months.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed at The Imperial for 4 nights this week over half term. Our room was very large with a large bay window and sea view. The decor was fine, yes there was evidence of damp on one corner of the room, but it wasn't a problem. We stayed on half board basis with the voucher we used for drinks. The food was good, plenty of choice and plenty enough for each course at dinner. Breakfast was also good, you help yourself tocereals and juice, and good choice on menu apart from traditional fried breakfast. There was entertainment on two evenings, we didnt watch it, but were in the bar so heard the singer. Plenty of people went to the bar after dinner. There were papers available to read which was good. Whilst staying at the hotel we didnt need to use the car, we went out walking along the coast and estuary on 2 days and caught the train to Exeter on another day. The hotel is very close to the town centre and on the sea front. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazP100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your very positive review.
I will pass on your compliments to the Head Chef and the restaurant team. I am pleased you made the most of the in house credit voucher. The hotel is in a great location to enjoy the surrounding area

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Exmouth is our home town, and when visiting family we always stay at the Imperial hotel. We've never been anything but delighted. The staff are all friendly and very helpful. We are always looking forward to the next stay even before we depart.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melaniecol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review. Its always great to receive positive feedback and I will pass your comments on to all concerned. Hope you return in the near future

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Exmouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Exmouth Hotel

Address: The Imperial Hotel Esplanade, Exmouth EX8 2SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Exmouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is an elegant, spacious hotel overlooking the sea, set in magnificent gardens. It is a perfect base for leisure travellers wishing to explore the beauty of Devon, within easy reach of Torquay and Exeter. Exmouth is famous for its magnificent sandy beach and coastal paths, providing countless opportunities for lovers of the outdoors. Just 10 miles west of the town, you’ll find the solitude and beauty of Dartmoor National Park. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Exmouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Exmouth
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing