We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Beacon Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashton Court(Exmouth)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$112
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Exmouth)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
142
228
103
43
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
142
228
103
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast countrysea viewstandard roomsea frontshearings hotelscar parkdining room isself drivehalf boardpublic roomstown centreheated towel raillovely breaka la carte menulovely roomnight breakcoach driver
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel caters for the coach-party trade, but is still a very good choice for the independent traveller.
Right on the seafront in Exmouth, with very pleasant gardens in front (and car-parking - free when I visited, but possibly chargeable in peak season?).
My room was large and comfortable, with a decent bath and shower.
A nice bar downstairs, and an easy walk into town if you'd rather eat out.
Breakfast functional rather than lavish, but very acceptable for the price paid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeC_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your honest review.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.The hotel is perfectly situated to enjoy the seafront at the bottom of our gardens or the town centre a two minute walk way.
I hope to see you again in the coming months

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in. Large sea view suite with my wife and her elderly parents down corridor. Great sea views and good location for sea front. Decor average with signs of leaks and poor plastering where TV cable inserted. In laws' TV needed retuning every time it was turned on.

Food average too though staff were good. Restaurant was a huge hall and tables were a lottery as to whether you had 'traffic' or not.

Relaxing atmosphere. No wifi in rooms.

A step back in time which can be ok if food decor etc are good rather than just average.

Oh - if you come off set menu you sign bits of paper each night and the allowance is stingy.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank LondonUKTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your comments.
We constantly review our accommodation standards and I will look into your comments regarding the signs of water leaks.
I apologise for the fault with the television and this television has been swapped out for a new one.
In March we charged £159 per person for four nights, dinner, bed and breakfast for a standard room. This includes a twenty five pound in house credit voucher to be used against food and drink. I don't quite understand the comment about being stingy and we have to record transactions in the restaurant.
I am pleased you enjoyed the views and the hotel location and I hope you return in the warmer months.

Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed at the Imperial in October 2013 and again in Feb 2014.
It is a Grand hotel as the name implies.

We were pleasantly surprised by the room size and the dinner menu , particularly the facility to upgrade to a more expensive choice and in fact the opportunity to mix "and match'"menu's

If you are looking for value for money in a good old fashioned resort the Imperial is for you.

Room Tip: Try the lower ground floor with seafront view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calidad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased you found your break excellent value for money and that you enjoyed our varied menu. I will pass on your compliments to the staff at the hotel.
Kind regards and best wishes

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Imperial for only one night as we had returned to Exmouth to visit friends. We used a booking website to find the best deal on hotels and were surprised the Imperial was well priced infact cheaper than some of B&Bs in town; so we booked. Up on arrival we were impressed with the grandness of the hotel, the staff were so helpful; the room was fantastic and had a sea view; plenty of tea and coffee making facilities in room. The bed was so comfortable and the room was an excellent size. Lovely breakfast; even for a fussy eater like me. Nothing was too much for anyone. Plenty of parking. Was a shame we were only staying for the one night; wish we had booked for longer. But we will definitely be back as we would like to try the restaurant. Thank you. Mr and Mrs D Street. From Gloucester.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloucesterGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your very positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will return for a longer stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary on 15th February 2014 and having been married in Exmouth and with our reception at the hotel it was unthinkable to stay anywhere else.

The position of the hotel on the seafront cannot be bettered and the viws from the room excellent. Flat walking along the front some 2 miles to Orcombe Point one way or 1 mile to the harbour the other is a tremendous bonus. Plenty to look at along the beach and the flood waters from the previous night had run away!

Food excellent, service likewise, staff all very friendly particularly when balloons decorated the table for dinner on the anniversary evening.

We love the Imperial and have been going back for family celebrations for many years.

It is however rather like a dowager duchess namely somewhat past her best and needs some TLC to restore her to the Premier hotel in Exmouth for the last 50 years+ Geoffrey and Fay Forster

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewMcCartney, General Manager at The Imperial Exmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and honest review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We continually invest in the hotel and are looking forward to the warmer months when our guests can enjoy our new patio/sun terrace. I will pass on your compliments to the staff at the hotel.

Kind Regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews