We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are here now DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY GO ELSEWHERE”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On arrival staff were helpful and check in was easy got to the caravan (Deluxe lol) the weather is very windy and its raining the front window is unsecured as is the side window allowing alot of wind in so we called in to say it needs sorting 1 hour later a guy arrives and screws it shut today we thought we would take the kids swimming so we asked at the desk about the swimming pool and where it was as we haven't been here before walked around to find it was shut for lunch ( why reception couldn't tell us that is beyond me) so we walked back to reception and asked about the kids clubs they told us its up stairs so off we went to find a girl who completely ignored us and walked off we looked on a notice board to see that they there was a activity in the pool for the kids even though we were told it was closed so back to the pool we go we're we were told you have to pre book and the soonest we could do it was after we leave even though the diary was empty

Sorry if this reads wrong but I'm so angry we have had to come back to the caravan before I do something I'll get in trouble for

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi Richard A,

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor during your current stay with us. We are sorry to hear of your dissapointment.

We have passed a copy of your comments on the Guest Relations team here at the park who will be more than happy to address these with you direct if you wish.

Reception will be open till 5pm where the team will be available to speak to you about these issues.

Kind Regards

Devon Cliffs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,349 - 2,355 of 3,264 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

A wonderful few days at Haven with my daughter (3 yrs). The pool is fantastic, the staff are amazing and the entertainment fabulous.
Well done Haven for a beautiful clean park with first class facilities and a 5 star team! PERFECT!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orinoco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hi orinoco77

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay here at Devon Cliffs. We are really pleased to hear all about your retur visit and how you are looking forward to coming again next.

We certainly appreciate parise for our teams, as its been a hard season, and they certainly are a great asset to our park. We will be sure to pass your comments on.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back here next year!

Kind Regards

The Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The first thing I’m going to point out is…if you book a ‘Luxury’ caravan at this park – what they actually mean is a ‘Standard without pets’…this is from the Customer Services Manager herself. So, the word ‘Luxury’ is slightly misleading – because the ‘Luxury’ caravan we booked for our weekend was nothing of the sort – at best it could be described as ‘Adequate’ or ‘Basic’. Why they can’t keep these caravans clean, I’ll never know – I don’t think the word ‘bleach’ features much in the Haven Dictionary. We were lumped with a 3bed caravan (when we had booked a 2bed – there was only three of us) – so our living space was tiny. The bathroom had certainly seen better days (mould all over the window sill); the kettle was revolting and leaked boiling hot water when poured. The seating area in the lounge was covered in goodness knows what – and I appreciate October is the end of the season – but, why should we put up with sticky, dirty seats when we’re paying the same rate as someone going at the beginning of the season?

But, the worst thing (believe it or not) was the fridge – which constantly hummed…lots of fridges hum you might say – but, this was loud enough to keep us awake at night!

So, we did go to Reception – and we did mention all of the above and we even got to talk to the Customer Services Manager…the fridge was finally sorted out after two visits from Maintenance – apparently the first person who went in thought the noise from the fridge was “normal” – but, the second person who went in miraculously managed to cure it of the vibration (it probably just need a screw tightened or something). The kettle was cleaned (which seemed to solve the leaking) and the mould was washed from the bathroom – but, only after we complained!

Another issue we had with the caravan was it didn’t have any heating other than an old gas fire in the lounge. My brother-in-law was at the same park the same time in a Standard caravan, yet he had heating. The worst thing about this, however, is that the park tried to charge him £60 to upgrade to a caravan with heating, which he declined, but his allocated caravan had heating anyway! So it looks like they tried to scam £60 from him. He also slept on the sofas in the lounge because the bed was too uncomfortable.

We’re not Haven virgins – we’ve been to five or six of their parks – and this was the worse caravan we’ve had. Devon Cliffs is a huge park, but the amenities are okay (if a little far away) and the entertainment was probably some of the best we’ve seen at a Haven park – but, lots of things let it down. There was no parking near our caravan – so everyone parked on the grass – it rained a lot while we were there – so, the grass was churned up, wet and muddy – but, no paths to individual caravans (so take your wellies).

We won’t do another Haven holiday – we’ve had enough of them, to be honest – this was our last one – and it certainly went out with a whimper and a moan….we left a day early - and were relived to do so...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SallyannandMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

SallyannandMarcus

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay at Devon CLiffs, and we are very sorry that you were dissapointed.

If you havent already done so we would like the opportunity to liase with you direct regarding your concerns, and ask you to contact our Guest Relations team on the enail provided below.

In the event you have alreay contacted them, we ask you to allow 14 days for a response.

Kind Regards

The DC Trip Advisor Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The location of the park is excellent. Great base to explore from. We stayed there for the Scottish October week in a 'deluxe plus 2' caravan. There was nothing 'deluxe' about it , but it was clean enough. There was a lack of any basic cooking utensils (eg a flat fish slice, decent pans etc) The tin opener was a hazard! (and also didn't open tins). The decor is incredibly basic and very cheap, and in need of an upgrade.

The staff at this site are EXCELLENT! All very helpful, friendly and genuine. However, unless you like Bingo every night, the entertainment is bad. There was a comedian on one evening, but, as it started at 10pm and we had a 6 year old with us, this wasn't possible.

The main entertainment area - Bugsy's - is possibly well named.... It was absolutely filthy. All the chairs are very badly stained, and many of them ripped. We didn't go back after our first night.

The Spa is lovely - but do book in advance. They are very busy, even off-peak, and you don't want to miss this.

The pool is very good, and the lifeguards very helpful. They even found my wrist band when I lost it coming down the fast slides!

The shop is well stocked and not overpriced.

South Beach cafe is beautiful. Well designed and a lovely location (if you can ignore the shooting from the RAF right on the hill). However, there was no fresh fish on the menu.... This was a big disappointment to us, as we really wanted to avoid the usual chips with chips fayre.

The staff explained they normally had this at the weekend, so save your trip to there until then.

Room Tip: Do NOT consider anything other than the Premium caravan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this park. The park is lovely and clean and our prestige caravan was spotless roomy and had central heating. Also in the location we requested. The staff were all very friendly. The entertainment team and there manager jamie were brilliant. We have been to 2 other haven sites this year and this team are the best. Will go back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Victoeia

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Devon Cliffs. I am pleased to read that you found your Prestige caravan was all you expected and more, with the added bonus of central heating.

I would like to thank you about your comments about our team and about our Entertainments Manager, Jamie. Nothing motivates us more than positive feedback and I will ensure that this is passed on to the heads of department and on to the team.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back at Devon Cliffs in 2014.

Kind Regards
Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

fantastic location brilliant site with lots of amenities,,, nice clean site with a wide range of caravans alll within gd distantance to all amenites and night time entertainment which has gd variety of entertainment for all ages.... also not far from a few other seaside towns for days out ... local bus on site goes straight to exmouth town /// was an alll round great holiday for all ages

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle2068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Michelle 2068,

Thank you for leaving us a review about your recent stay with us at Devon Cliffs. I am pleased to hear you and your family found our Park clean & tidy, the Grounds Team work so hard come rain or shine to ensure that the Park is presentable and I know they will be thrilled to hear your comments. It was also great to hear that you found the amenities catered for all and all were enjoyed.

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you at Devon Cliffs again soon.

Kind Regards
Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This was my second trip to Devon Cliffs this year. The caravan was lovely (bar the mould on the curtain but nothing too bad). We only left the site once and spent the rest of the time using the eating facilities on site.

The beach is lovely and great to walk along, lovely and quiet at this time of year. Nothing better than have a cider overlooking the beach in the restaurant.

Only problem we had was that the caravan next to us had two dogs which would be left on their own at night. This meant barking from about 8pm until midnight - not great when you are trying to sleep! I know this is not the park's fault - I'm not sure if the park has a policy on dogs in owned caravans, if it does it would be good to know what it is.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyFuzzyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon C, Manager at Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear FussyFuzzyBee

Thank you for your review about your recent stay at Devon Cliffs. It was great to hear that you found your second stay with us just as enjoyable as the first, and that the caravan was lovley and suited your needs.

I am sorry that the dogs in the neighbouring caravan kept you awake at night, whilst we allow owners & holiday maker to bring their pets on holiday, the noise should not affect other guests. We have a Security Team who can be contacted 24 hours a day, who respond to any noise complaints & I hope that this was dealt with if reported.

Once again I would like to thank you for your fantastic review about your holiday and our Park & we look forward to welcoming you & your family back at Devon Cliffs soon.

Kind Regards
Devon Cliffs Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmouth
1.3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.8 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
743 reviews
8 mi away
Potters Mooring Hotel
Potters Mooring Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shaldon
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
2.5 mi away
The Long Range Hotel
The Long Range Hotel
#1 of 1 in Budleigh Salterton
100 reviews
2 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Sandy Bay, Exmouth EX8 5BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Exmouth
Price Range: £107 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Also Known As:
Haven Devon Cliffs Holiday Park Hotel Exmouth
Devon Cliffs Holiday Park - Haven Exmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing