We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely position, shame about the hotel”
Review of Ashton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashton Court
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a coach party for a reasonable price so was not expecting fantastic quality. As soon as you walked in the hotel the stale smell hit you. The carpets are in need of a good clean. Our room was very small,one of our pillowcases was full of holes, some of the towels were thread bare, a nice layer of dust on top of the headboard and splashes of something on the walls and skirting board.
The waiting staff did their best and were polite. The food they served was pretty poor and had been cooked well in advance. One night we asked for the vegeterian option on the menu but was told you needed to pre order it. The so called chef obviously takes no pride in what he/she is serving. On our last night we ate at a hotel a few doors away as we wanted one decent meal while we were away. Reception was hardly ever manned.
On the plus side we had a wonderful view from our room. In the right hands and with a bit of money spent this could be a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank teresa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Ashton Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

We travelled to this hotel with a local travel company for a 5 day/4 night break. The hotel was dirty, our room (Attic) was very small and never cleaned in all the time we were there. The staff were ok except the lady who rtan it who we nicknamed Mortisha owing to her asttitude.
The food was acceptable although served on small plates to make it look plentiful.

The floor in our bedroom sloped from front to back. The bedding was clean, towels ok and changed.

If you take my advice you will steer well clear of this awful hotel. I don't expect 5 star for a bargain break but do expect a clean hotel.

I watched a member of staff in the dining room speak to a table and then go and put 4 sweets into bowls and put them on one side to ensure they got the sweet they wanted !!!!!!!

Not for me ever again

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank valite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I have just returned from 4 nights at the Hotel. We were part of a party of 51 persons. The serving staff were excellant in all ways and the food was very good for star rating of the hotel.
However a number of the party found their rooms dirty on arrival and in one case the beds hadn't been changed!
One of our party dropped a potato onto the floor in the Dining Room and it was still there 2 days later. The carpets in our room and the stairways could do with a jolly good clean.
The entertainment in the evenings was very good.
Such a pity it let itself down by not keeping the cleaning standards up to scratch.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms at the front have a lovely view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymondcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We have been here twice, once in 2007 and then in 2009 - the hotel was a little tired looking, but for the price I was pleased, it was a cheap holiday for what we got - it's not 5* so you get what you pay for - I found the staff to be very helpful, though it was only at meal times that we saw them......food was adequate and as I've said for the price we payed we were more than happy, though there were a few on our tour who moaned about the variety of food, I thought it was OK, think they thought they were staying in a 5* place and expected a full on menu......breakfast was a choice of cereal, full english followed by toast and tea. Dinner was a choice of 3 starters, 3 main and 3 desserts....so there should be something to your taste.
We were lucky and had a seaview on our second visit, and what a lovely view it was, our room on both trips was fine, plenty of storage, bathrooms could have been bigger but we managed.
There is lots to do for kids and adults in and around the area too. Great park along the esplanade and of course the lovely safe beach. Just a short walk from the hotel is the town with lovely shops.....a walk to the harbour was well worth it too. We would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We went with "Just Go!" holidays for a long weekend. Because it was so inexpensive, we expected average at best. In fact, our room on the 3rd floor, with a magnicent sea view, was quiet, very clean, well decorated and comfortable. We had new bedding and lovely new towels.
The breakfasts were excellent, full English or whatever you ordered. The service by Charlotte was speedy and cheerful. The evening meals were very well cooked, the menu was varied, and the chef invented special healthy sweets for me. Impressive!
Our coach driver, Ian, was very good indeed, cheerful, efficient and friendly and a safe and considerate driver.
It was a great trip and I'll be going back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eileen97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for the weekend on a trip with Harry Shaw from Coventry. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and newly decorated and we had clean towels every day. There was tea, coffee and soap in the rooms.The staff were very helpful especially the waiting staff. We also found the manager and the barman courteous. There was plenty of food and a good selection although average cooking. The carpets were a little worn. We stayed in a four star hotel in Sidmouth only one month before and paid three times as much. We thought it was very good value for money and would go again.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the lift without a sea view but was very quiet
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dotj1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Just returned from a weekend in the Ashton Court Hotel organised by Leisuretime. really enjoyed it except for the negative & poor attitude of some of the staff.
I got the impression that the manager and the barman are not happy working there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hot-Blast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#4 of 11 in Exmouth
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#7 of 11 in Exmouth
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Court

Address: 5-6 Louisa Terrace, Exmouth EX8 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £59 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashton Court 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Court Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing