We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food ok”
Review of Ashton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashton Court
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Hotel only 2 star food ok rooms basic but clean good views at front of hotel. 5 minutes walk to town pubs and eats.on the front is a new bowling alley and bar restaurant and pub. No free wi-fi in hotel
.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lowesmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I had read all the reviews and was not put off as I like to keep an open mind. we arrived at the hotel and were given the keys to our room. So far so good. The rooms required a major overhaul. the carpets are old, the bathroom could do with a good lick of paint. The menu at dinner was limited to Pork, salad or a vegetarian menu. When we enquired what was on the veggie menu we were told we had to order it the night before. So Rule 1 is, you have to order your meal the previous day, even if you were here. They don't seem to cater for people who don't eat pork that well. At breakfast the following day a friend wanted the kippers as advertised on the menu. Sorry came the reply - see rule 1. Rule 2 you will not be served until your entire table arrives. Whille at breakfast, the entire floor of the hotel is cleaned. amazing! I wish i could clean the house that quick. Or is there more to it. Hmmm! Maybe they just make the beds and spray air freshener. You might think that, I could not possibly comment.So the Library and Reading room is pleasant and CLEAN. As has been mentioned, the service on the first couple of nights was great at dinner BUT the girl who served left to be replaced by someone else.
The showers barely worked, hot water was non existent and room 310 (avoid) was freezing. The sea views are nice but maybe that was just us longing to get out of this place. There is a nice pub down the street called the Beacon Vaults so if you dont like the food then try there for a meal. we didnt eat therr but the food looked good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank RCtrchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

For the money we paid we found this to be a very good hotel indeed. It had many 3 star features (tea / coffee facilities in the room, central heating that was working well into May and a lift). The breakfast was by menu and substantial and the evening meal was a menu choice as well and included a wide variety of desserts and the waitresses were outstanding and helpful (nothing was too much trouble). We were on the 3rd floor and the rooms while being on the smallish side were just fine and the televisions were the latest hi tech models.
The whole trip using "Just Go" was excellent value for money, in fact it was incredibly cheap. A lot of other reviews seem to be rather negative and harsh as this is only a 2 star hotel and maybe peoples expectations are set at 5 star international standards. This was an old fashioned hotel in an excellent seaside, seafront position with that traditional old standard feel .... but for us no complaints at all just real good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jake-from-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

we have returned only yesterday from a 4 night stay and as others have said, for the price we paid the hotel is adequate. The main receptionist or manager, whatever she calls herself, is a moody old cow who wasnt interested in helping my 81 yr old dad move rooms when he complained he couldnt sleep from the noise of the bar below his room when the music was playing. Not even an attempt to smile or appologise, just "what do you expect" attitude.
The waitress are lovely and helpful, we wanted to tip our first one, but after the first 2 nights she was replaced and we didnt see her again.
Not happy with our Just Go bus driver and next time we go to Devon it will be by car and in a B and B with an owner who cares about customer service!

Room Tip: not the one above the bar! room 114.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank carolandhergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Wish I had read reviews about the hotel before we went on this coach holiday. There was no welcoming smile from the manager, Jackie, when we arrived at the hotel, We had informed the touring company that we had a disability and therefore required a ground floor room with walk in shower. What we got was a 2nd floor room that overlooked a scrapyard of sorts. It appeared to be a single turned into a twin bedded room although we did get the walk in shower with cold running water. There was plaster about to fall down any minute over one bed and the springs were coming through on a mattress. The room was dingy and when the room had been closed during the day smelt dirty and musky.. We were advised to leave our mobility walkers downstairs could see why, there was not enough space to even fold them up in the room!
The information in the room stated dinner was 7-8pm and breakfast 8.30-9am. The first night we went down at 7.05 only to be greeted by the unsmiling manager who informed us that she was on her way to get us as dinner was at 7pm. When we arrived at our table we met two very irate ladies who had been told they could not have their meal until we arrived.
The next morning we went down at 8.25am for breakfast, On leaving the lift the corridor was in total darkness, after finding the light switch we then made our way to the dining room. On opening the door we were immediately ushered back out again and informed we could not enter until we were called. A queue then had to be formed. It was like being back at school and waiting for the register to be taken!How those lovely young girls worked under such a miserable dragon of a manager is beyond me. Yet this same manager did not appear to deem it necessary to advise one girl with long hair that hung over the table when she was serving to tie it back. Although the breakfast was good value and always hot, the evening meal was not. Battered fish was on the menu every night with a poor selection of veg and an alternative choice of a bland meat meal. No mashed or new potatoes and never gravy.
The cheerful tour driver was the savior of this holiday being courteous and kindly going out of his way to ensure that everyone was cared for on his coach and the trips were enjoyable. Exmouth itself is a lovely little town and it is a pity that the hotel lets the place down.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

A well situated hotel near the beach and the town, warm and clean ,the food was good and served hot and the waitresses always had a smile,at the front of the hotel there is no ramp for disabled but there is a button to press at the bottom of steps if you require assistance , there was entertainment on three nights i could not comment on this as we went for a walk after dinner along the sea front and into town as the weather was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Exmouth with JUST GO coaches. Our stay at the Ashton Court hotel was lovely!! The room was warm, clean and with excellent views. The waiting staff were warm and friendly. Constant hot water and the choice of a bath or shower!! The food was fine!! It was basic meals but what did one expect for the price of the trip inclusive of a day out in Exeter and a trip to Dawlish. If you want 5*****meals you need to book into a 5***** hotel.
Not too far to the town centre and you felt safe walking round at night as there was a good police presence in the town!! Well done all we enjoyed ourselves immensely!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank VANESSA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#6 of 11 in Exmouth
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#8 of 11 in Exmouth
197 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Court

Address: 5-6 Louisa Terrace, Exmouth EX8 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range: £34 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashton Court 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Court Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing