We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Weekend Break”
Review of Ashton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashton Court
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant Weekend Break”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My friend and I have just got back from a just go break , we stayed at the Ashton court and we had a very nice time. Our room was small but had everything we wanted and was very clean. The meals were vey nice and a good variety. The management were really friendly and staff very helpful. I would definetely stay at this Hotel again.I would recommend the Aston court. Look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    60
    37
    24
    15
See reviews for
17
61
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights D,B & B (on a coach tour - 2014.07.11) and found the hotel very nice. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food was home cooking style with big variety and tasty. Room on 1st floor was clean, fresh with lovely high ceilings. Shower in bath needed maintenance on changeover valve. Bathroom is small but does the job - it's not that we are living there.
Room could have had a fan to circulate the air as the evenings were quite hot.
Location perfect for the beach with great view, and close to town center.
No WiFi in the Hotel is a big disappointment for many people as our lives and WiFi do go hand in hand in these modern times.
Evening after dinner entertainment was varied and good fun.
All in all, we loved our break and would love to do it again.

Room Tip: Facing the beach is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our stay at this hotel was a Coach Tour holiday for 3 nights. This is rated as a 2-star establishment which is about right. Our room was on the 3rd floor accessible via a small lift which could manage 2 people plus luggage and no more. The room was quite small but had all the facilities one would expect (tea making, TV) and a view of sorts of the sea. The bathroom was a small odd shaped room and all the plumbing worked.
The decoration looked decidedly weary and worn and no doubt will be renewed sometime. For some unexplained reason the room had a odour which developed when shut up for the day.
On a half-board basis the meals were adequate, served at the table and well presented - no danger of going hungry. There is a nice bar area with drinks at reasonable prices and some entertainment during the evening. There is a pleasant garden area opposite the hotel with fine views of the sea.
A pleasant place to stop over for a couple of days without any pretensions of grandeur. There didn't appear to be any TV in the public rooms - only in the bedrooms. No WiFi. Easy walk to the town centre or beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank daveat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is an very old fashioned seaside hotel which is tired-looking and requires decorating, updating and some maintenance. Our room was small and décor was dated. The en-suite was grubby and the shower leaked from all joints and was a trickle rather than a shower. The bathroom sink had lots of grime around the tap joints and required a good clean. The toilet had a plumbing problem. We had to ask for a kettle. Breakfast was an experience: Dishes were dirty with 3 staff looking as we and other guests tried to find clean ones. We asked them to replace them which they did. When our coffee and tea arrived they forgot to bring the milk. Crockery was grubby or cracked. Some of the staff required more training as they weren't helpful. The Manager was very friendly and helpful but a lot of work is needed to bring this hotel into the 21st century. There is a lovely garden at the front where you can sit and enjoy the sea views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exmouth hotels

Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at the Ashton Hotel Mon to Fri from June the 16th 2014 with Just Go Holidays,
I cannot find any fault with this Hotel, Its a 3 Star rating with a 5 star heart,
lovely room, clean & comfortable with wonderful cotton sheets on the bed, The staff are kind & friendly and nothing is too much trouble,
all our needs were more than the whole time we stayed, The views and walks from this Hotel are really beautiful.and the Town is an easy stroll along the beach front walk
Nick the new Manager was really lovely and very hands on, he is a great character and a laugh a minute, especially when he does a bit of evening entertaining.
He works tirelessly to make sure your holiday is enjoyed, I will certainly stay here again,
Thank you Nick and your Staff for a wonderful stay, From Faye and Geri X

Room Tip: Our rooms were ground floor as I have a slight disability, found them easy to access and there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Faith_130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed as part of a coach party,excellent food.spotlessly clean interior.great entertainment.will certainly return .very soon I hope.great location as Exmouth is beautiful and so unspoilt.A perfect location for discovering East Devon.

Room Tip: Downstairs front room lovely views very quiet very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for the bank holiday weekend. It coincided with the Exmouth Carnival week so plenty going on.
The hotel is not 5 star but comfortable. We had a lovely little room on the 3rd (top) floor with a sea view at no extra cost. A lift serves all floors but only holds 3 with cases. The dining room is at basement level, it is spacious with excellent service from a lovely friendly staff. Food is wholesome if not plentiful. Enough for the older clientele on our coach trip.
There was excellent entertainment on 2 of the 3 nights we stayed.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the sea, rear rooms overlook a small garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.7 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.7 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#1 of 11 in Exmouth
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Court

Property: Ashton Court
Address: 5-6 Louisa Terrace, Exmouth EX8 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashton Court 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ashton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Court Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing