We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostess”
Review of Breken Guest House

Breken Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breken Guest House
Ranked #10 of 18 Exmouth B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hostess”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Tonia provides an unforgettable atmosphere to one's stay. She is the ultimate hostess, welcoming, friendly, going out of her way to help, maintaining a wonderful decor and spotless rooms. The location is excellent and it wasn't as difficult as I had thought to get a car park! I would, however, have preferred a more firm, hard mattress.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    27
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
28
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed here with my wife in November. Since I write reviews on places to eat and stay I thought it was fitting to use and try a guest house. This guest house is a delightful place to stay, clean, warm, friendly, some people maybe not be used to such friendliness but its genuine and warm. The room was airy and comfortable, one small job that needs to be attended to is the door which needs adjusting to stop it scraping on the floor, which will eventually scar the floor surface and the toilet seat is loose. these are just minor suggestions. I thought the location adjacent to town center and the sea front was very desirable. Breakfast was good a full English breakfast was offered with cereals and fruit and juices in addition.,
yes I would recommend anyone to a comfortable stay here. Like may small hotels there are stairs to climb so those less able to climb stairs should bear this in mind when making reservations here. Other wise stay and enjoy. if you enjoy clock that chime then you will really enjoy the clocks here,and they don't disturb you at night

Room Tip: I think i stayed in room 2 this was a good room for two really confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Breken House. Situated close to lovely sandy beach. Friendly owners. Very nice breakfast. Pleasant decor. Rooms clean. Would definately visit again.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Tonia (originally from Malta) brings a kind of sunny Med atmosphere to her B&B - her attention to detail is impressive and the rooms and entire property is very clean and fresh smelling

Room Tip: Talk with Tonia
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibiza34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

a very horrible woman who runs this place. i booked this place for a two night stay , but due to a change in circumstances i was forced to cancel one night 2 days before my stay , when i phoned the woman to explain this she gave me so much grief even phoning me the next morning at 7.30am to give me more grief and told me if i did not pay for both nights i was not welcome to stay there and to not bother coming so she still took my £60 deposit and i was forced to find somewhere else , we would never advise anyone to stay here never had such rude , unacceptable customer service in all my life

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I come to Exmouth every couple of months to see my mum who is in a care home and stay at the Breken every time. In fact , I would never stay anywhere else!
Tonia cannot be faulted. She has the rare ability of making everyone feel so welcome and special. The breakfasts are great and nothing is too much trouble. Lovely comfy rooms and a warm welcome guaranteed. Thanks Tonia!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

As a business traveller who usually stays at the big hotel chains, I was impressed. Nothing was too much trouble, good breakfast, lovely room, very clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
401 reviews
1.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Exmouth Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breken Guest House

Property: Breken Guest House
Address: 13 Morton Road, Exmouth EX8 1AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Exmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Breken Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breken Guest House Exmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing