We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

the bamboo chinese restaurant
Ranked #42 of 128 Restaurants in Exmouth
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Myself and my husband went to the bamboo one night for a meal, we were on holiday and staying at Devon cliffs so we didn't know where to go for a meal, on driving around we saw the bamboo restaurant and could smell the cooking so we went in. We got a table no problem and the staff were kind, professional and polite.The food was nice especially the duck we had for a starter and the rest of the meal was nice just as any usual Chinese. Prices average and interior was very nicely decorated, if we went back to the area think we would go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katy3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    49
    14
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place, good Chinese food”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I decided to drop by this place on a weekend break. The restaurant was nicely laid out, and service was prompt and polite. The food arrived quickly and was very tasty and nicely prepared. Although, I did feel that some dishes seemed to be quite loaded with sugar. It also did seem a little tricky to get the waiters attention (maybe due to the layout of the restaurant in relation to the counter?), but no great problem. The portion sizes were good, and the food was enjoyable - so I think it was priced fairly. I would visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chilli05187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good Chinese meal”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Made welcome, good menu and range of food and drinks. Very prompt and efficient service. Very good, would visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Such a shame it's gone so downhill”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Been using this restaurant two or three times each year for over fifteen years but after last Saturday's experience, never again.
Everything about it was poor. Apart from one, the waitresses obviously didn't want to be working Easter. Plates were slammed down on tables, service was slow & a table for four got one serving of noodles when four were ordered. Surely someone would have twigged.
The food was nowhere near as good as usual, we had the mixed sharing starter which at £5/head was a total rip-off, and the rest was very mediocre. Such a disappointment.
Time for the phoenix to rise from the flames again?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank toowoomba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dull, lacking ambience but food good”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A large Chinese restaurant obviously there to cope with the summer crowds. Very quiet in April, a week before Easter, tired decor and somewhat dispiriting but the food was good. Not cheap by the time you've assembled a full meal but reasonable enough.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveyPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the bamboo chinese restaurant also viewed

 

Been to the bamboo chinese restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing