We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bristol”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Exmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Voyager66...
1 review
“Bristol”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for a lovely week. Fantastic location. The house was really comfortable and cosy. Had everything we needed. Lovely bathroom with plenty of hot water. Bright conservatory/dining room and lovely courtyard garden to catch evening sun. Clean and homely. Have booked again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I hate leaving negative reviews, especially when the owner, Adele, was so friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, I have to agree with previous posters - this house is in serious need of a full refurbishment.

The decor is faded, dated, and, in places, dirty; the lounge, despite this being a 6 berth property, only has seats for 5, and a couple of the twin beds are horrifically uncomfortable. The kitchen units need completely replacing in my opinion, and the kitchen was a little understocked (although, to be fair, Adele promptly provided the most essential missing pieces when we pointed these out).

For some reason, there were loose nuts and bolts on the work surface in the kitchen and what appeared to be a loose piece of kitchen work surface in the conservatory. That and the loose tiles mentioned by previous reviewers (and written in the maintenance book a while ago yet still not dealt with) don't really make the place as family friendly as it was advertised.

In summary, although this house is in a great location, when I'm paying to stay somewhere for a family holiday, I want it to be at least as nice as my own home, and this doesn't even come close.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locality close to town and amenities
Liked least: Grubby kitchen and furniture
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clive T
1 review
“seen better days”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

photo of outside was taken a good few years ago and house not well maintained. the downstairs rooms were large and had a kitchen and dining area in a lean to extension
the 2nd bathroom had only a shower cubicle, toilet and a small sink but anyone larger than an anorexic pigmy could not squeeze between the shower and the wall to even be able to clean your teeth. the shower doors took a lot of effort to actually close them
on arrival I had to go to a house although just round the corner to pick up the keys from Asele which I am sure is not usual but there was no further contact during our stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: double bedroom and bathroom 1
Liked least: 2nd bathroom and towels supplied
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Hi Clive,
I am sorry that you weren't happy during your stay at the house. I would have been more than happy to deal with any problems that you had if you had taken the time to tell me.
The house is Grade 2 listed and over 150 years old and therefore not new or modern but is comfortable and welcoming for visitors who want to have a cottage style getaway which offers enough space for families as well as commercial visitors to the area.
We accepted your booking with less than 24 hours notice and apologise for putting you out regarding collecting the key but your arrival later in the evening meant that my young children were already asleep in bed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunworkin...
Luton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is not a cottage, it is a large three storey house!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As stated it is very close to the town and not too far from the beach. This property is an old house which is very roomy and has steep stairs leading to the bedrooms, which are situated on the second and third floors. There is a large family bathroom (converted from a bedroom) and a very small shower and toilet. Downstairs the kitchen is large and well equipped but needs a little maintenance. There is a large conservatory used as a dining room and a lounge at the front. Parking is an issue but as we have a blue badge we managed ok.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being close to the town
Liked least: Difficulty in parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage & Great Location”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself, my wife and children have just returned from a week in Exmouth and had a great time. The cottage we rented from Adele is lovely and clean with all expected mod cons available. Communication was great with the owners throughout and they only live round the corner if there are any problems or questions.
The location is brilliant just 5 mins walk to the beach and 2 mins from the town centre. It's on a quiet street with a nice local bar at the end of the road.
I have always been nervous about booking direct with owners but I am now converted as we saved £££ on booking fees so very happy all round.
Whilst this was listed as a cottage dont let this fool you as this is quite a big property with 3 bedrooms and can sleep 6 people. All the rooms are tidy and well presented and have recently been renovated.
Exmouth is a lovely place for a traditional English holiday which is what we wanted and there is plenty to do and places to visit nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Parking can be hit and miss but plenty on next street
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing