We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and good golf”
Review of The Ashbury Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ashbury Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

stayed at the Asbury with my son from Monday to Friday. It was our 3rd visit and it was another great value holiday. We joined another group of 10 for the golf which was always good. We enjoyed the Beeches course the best but it is physically demanding even in a buggy. The Kigbeare is the signature course but don't expect to complete it in less than 5 hours. Too much food but served by excellent staff.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Mick981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Arrived home yesterday after a 5 day break with friends, our second visit and I have to say, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as we did last year, for what you pay for 27 holes of golf a day, plus buggies, accommodation and 3 meals a day....can't fault it, my only wrinkle is, the Wi-Fi is very hit and miss and slow, but if that's my only complaint, then l'm a hard man to please. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is plentiful and very tasty, with lots of choices available at all meal times and all the staff are very friendly, on the golf side of things, with 7 courses to manage, the pro shop is very well organised and the staff are always willing to help and accommodate. We found the courses in excellent condition, despite the recent dry spell and hot weather, but on the downside, last year, because of the retched, wet weather, it was very wet and boggy underfoot, but the staff can't control the weather can they? but the courses were still in remarkable nick. I can highly recommend Ashbury Golf Hotel, it's excellent value for money, my friends and I are looking forward to next year's trip already. 5 stars

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GL1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Went with a 38 strong Women's Golf Group. We were a bit of a novelty among the majority male groups.

The room is basic but the bathroom in room was was newly refurbished. Everything was clean. TV was outdated. Hairdryer and basic toiletries provided.

Food was probably more designed for men in quantity and cooking style. But perfectly good and more than you require. Drinks reasonably priced.

Tried archery (the instructor seemed a bit bored with having to do the lesson yet again) and shooting (instructor was excellent).

Played 4 different courses. All were in good condition considering the hot weather, 3 of the courses green were a bit bumpity.

Only disappointment was the extremely poor wifi. In this day and age it should be better as people do need to stay in contact with the rest of the world.

Staff very good and friendly.

Overall a bit like a holiday camp for golfers. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed for the first time September last year with father in law and brother in law. Had only the website as reference to what was there and looked good, was all about the golf for us anyway.

We arrived, checked in, found the room, two singles and a double, dated but clean, threw the bags in and headed out for our first round.

Proshop staff helpful and efficient sent us on our way with our two buggies, half priced at time of stay, on to the first tee. Wasn't expecting much from the courses, but was amazed by how good they were. Slight pain was not being able you use the buggy on the course and having to stay on the adjacent pathway, but if you didn't the place would be ruined due to the traffic that these great courses see through the year, anyway, you soon learn to get accurate with your shots and play down the path side!

Finishing our first round, off to get changed for dinner, great shower, although the shower curtain couldn't handle the power of the shower, bit messy, perhaps fit screen's instead?

Down for drinks then dinner. Sat at an allocated table, someone took our order, instructed us to help ourselves to starters. Returned to the table to find we had been given 2 bottles of wine. Sat down and ate, and ate, and ate some more. The food here is great. We sat there after pudding, barely able to move, all thinking...... what's the catch?

Good nights sleep followed by the messy shower....

Breakfast... I'm a full English man and oh my god... I've died and gone to heaven, buffet breakfast, amazing. What's the catch.....?

Great golf, great lunch, then great golf, great dinner.... Now beers and free snooker, pool, bowling, games rooms etc, so where's the catch boys?

Ah the golf simulator isnt working.. perhaps that's it ..

I laughed, ate far too much, played on great courses, found the place to be dated but clean. Staff to be friendly enough considering their workload, all the things you can do for free and option of using the facilities at the Manor site left me worried there would be some hidden charge at checking out time.... Nervous.... Nope, price quoted price paid.

So we left, dumbfounded and amazed at the value we had experienced and feeling somewhat guilty like we have just short changed them somehow....

Anyway month's passed with frequent flashbacks to our great time we had there ... Then i finally found it... The catch that is.....

You cannot not go back! Yep, we're hooked and are back again late September and foresee many more returns ahead.

I had to write this after reading some negative reviews and not believing what I read. I do need to find and shake the hand of Simon and the general manager for their great professional responses to the moaners on here. Most amusing.

Anyway, it ain't the Ritz, its a golf hotel and its the most unbelievable value for money. Love it.

See you again September 22nd!

Martin

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin030476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Hotel
Just returned from our second trip to Ashbury and again had a great trip. Yes, as some of the other reviews have said, the hotel is a little dated in places but its plenty comfortable enough and spotlessly clean. I think their policy of `basic and clean` is exactly what most golfers want as that is what keeps the prices down and offers incredibly good value.

The same can be said for the food which offers something for all. The bar prices are very close to pub prices which, as anyone who has stayed in more expensive hotels will tell you, is certainly not the norm.

Even the lunch on departure day is only a fiver and again provides plenty of choice.

The Golf
The only negative points were the greens which were incredibly slow however considering they are played on by golfers of all abilities and have been subject to such varying weather conditions recently is not that surprising.

The hotel welcomes groups of blokes from all over the country, some there for a golf break only, other combining it with birthdays or stag parties so its inevitable there will be some visitors that don`t normally visit golf courses and therefore seem to know nothing about etiquette. Just because a venue is cheap, that shouldn`t mean they turn a blind eye to all the usual rules. I honestly think if things carry on, they will need to employ a full time marshall to check dress code, behaviour and pace of play. Ifv they already do, we didn`t see him. Some of the sights we saw were unbelievable. When you hear golfers saying the greens are not in very good shape as two guys walk past you to the first tee wearing open toed sandals, its not surprising!

My final moan is about the water machines outside the clubhouse and halfway houses. For the second year running, both machine swallowed pound coins without registering on the screen and this also happened to others in our group. Multiply those numbers by the people using them and they must be making the place an additional fortune. Sounds petty but when you`re talking £1.30 a time which then becomes £2.30, that makes the water cost more than beer!!

All this said, we do like the place and will be returning, just hope they attend to the points raised.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here for a few days to play some golf with friends, great service, food was good. Staff were very polite and helpful.
Would defiantly be back for more golf. The scenery around was amazing. Good weekend was had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Husband just returned from a 10 group 4 day trip- staff were friendly, food was ok, golf was amazing, showers were great, golf courses great with buggies. only complaint were the hard small single beds- its a typical budget golfing break my husband really enjoyed it.should they refurbish it the prices will go up-

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank newmrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowley Cross
2.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
283 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,397 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
9.5 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
11.2 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbury Hotel

Address: Higher Maddford, Fowley Cross EX20 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Fowley Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Also Known As:
The Ashbury Hotel Devon/Fowley Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing