We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
200
189
65
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
189
65
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf hotelplay golfmanor housesister hotelhydro spagolf tripmeal timesten pin bowlingtable tennisgolf shopgolfing breakfree bottle of winetee timesgolf courses areround of golfcraft activitiesfantastic condition
Filter
Updating list...
348 - 353 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel has fantastic facilities with sport, craft, exercise and pampering to keep the whole family entertained in the best and worst of weather that Devon has to offer. Facilities and options keep being extended. Rooms are adequately sized with plenty of storage and very clean.

My only complaint would be that the food really is basic mass catering. You go full board and as far as the food goes you get what you pay for.

However it is excellent value for money for all the activities on offer that are all included. You only pay for consumables used in craft activities. You can use all facilities at the Manor House Hotel which is 2 miles away down a twisty lane.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellenbee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, General Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear ellenbee4

Thank you for the review you have posted. I was glad to read that you had enjoyed all the facilities and activities. As you have stated we are extending our range of facilities further this year. We opened our new Craft Centre at Ashbury during the summer holidays. We aim to have our new toddler’s pool with slides open for October Half Term and this will be followed by our new spa and Hydrotherapy pool hopefully sometime in December.

I was sorry that you did not completely enjoy the food on offer but as you can see from other reviews (like the 5 listed below) most guests enjoy what is on offer. There are A La Carte options, for a small supplement, during the evening meal for those that would like to upgrade their menu choice.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Ashbury Golf Hotel is located about 3 miles west of Okehampton, and about a mile away from its sister hotel, The Manor House Hotel. Guests are allowed to take advantage of the various sports and leisure facilities and organised activities at either hotel.
As the name suggests, The Ashbury Golf Hotel specialises in golf breaks, with several courses on site, and buggies available for guest use. It does have a sports hall, swimming pool and craft centre, but golf is the big deal here (The Manor House, by contrast, has a much wider range of sporting, leisure and arts / crafts activities).
The Ashbury is, it has to be said, a rather ugly complex with a sprawling main building and rather utilitarian accommodation blocks separate from the main building. As has been observed elsewhere, the rooms and public areas have an extremely tired look to them, although in fairness if you’re planning to be spending any length of time in your room then you’ve probably come to the wrong place. The rooms are on the small size and modestly equipped; facilities are en-suite and the room comes with a small TV (limited channels, poor reception) and coffee / tea making facilities. Soap / Shower Gel / Shampoo are provided, but don’t count on them being replenished daily. Towels are supposedly replaced on the third day of your stay – ours were not…… No air con, no mini-bar / fridge, no in-room wi-fi. The only place in the hotel with wi-fi is the bar area – access is free and unsecured. There are several lounges surrounding the bar area with plentiful seating, although it can become loud and crowded in the evenings. A few minutes walk away is a very large seated area with several large televisions; this is the epicentre of evening activities, with something taking place most nights – quizzes, karaoke, bingo etc. There is also a games room with a couple of 10-pin bowling alleys, arcade type games and Playstation / Nintendo type video games, and a snooker room.
I believe the only board basis offered is Full Board. Meals are good, hearty fare; buffet breakfast (hot and cold options), buffet lunch, and waiter / waitress service for the evening meal. The table waiting staff seemed to be hard worked, but were always polite and helpful. Rather peculiarly, you are assigned a specific table for breakfast / evening meal, but free seating for lunch. Our party of four found the tables rather cramped, and the cleanliness of the cutlery left something to be desired, but we enjoyed eating here.
The real selling point of the Ashbury is, of course, the activities. Just about everything is included in the price, although deposits are required for some equipment and a charge is made for materials used in the arts and crafts sessions. I won’t write a definitive list, but apart from golf, you will also find racquet sports, swimming and pool activities, archery / shooting, dance, health / wellbeing / relaxation type sessions, and a variety of crafts such as pottery. And that’s just at the Ashbury – an even wider range is available at The Manor House Hotel. Most of the sports and pool activities are available as organised sessions with staff in attendance to organise games, competition and coaching, but many of the facilities can be booked for individual use.
Really, there is no excuse for being at a loose end here, although non-golfers may feel more at home at The Manor House. My advice is to pick up a map and a schedule of the weeks activities for BOTH hotels from reception on arrival, have a walk round to familiarise yourself with the layout and facilities, and in particular make yourself familiar with the Activity Sign Up Room where you can register for organised activities or book facilities for your own use 2 or 3 days ahead. A free ‘phone link to the Manor House is provided in the Activity Sign Up Room so you can register for activities there as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stevo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at the Ashbury for a full week and in spite of all the golf,swimming, walking tennis etc,etc, we still managed to gain weight thanks to the enormous variety and regularity of the food on offer.The huge variety of things to do for the whole family will keep you occupied from morn til night if you choose.TheAshbury and its sister hotel The Manor which is just up the road offer something for every age group and i would strongly recommend it for value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I along with my partner and our in laws went to the Ashbury golf hotel for a 2 night break. I can honestly say that the break was one of the best ones we have been on. The facilities were second to none and there were enough of them to last all day. We had two rounds of golf while we were there, one on the Kigbere course and the other on the forest and pines course. The courses are kept to an excellent standard and a joy to play on them. Accommodation was excellent considering it was a 2 star. The food also to a high standard with a good variety and plenty of it. If you get chance visit the newly opened hydro spa in the Manor House and experience we all enjoyed our time there. The added bonus was that during the day competitions are held with the various activities. Pistol shooting was a favourite of ours and my missus beat me.. She forced me to put that in. Overall an excellent weekend and would recommend this destination to all our friends. We have no hesitation in choosing this hotel again. Yes it is predominantly for golfers but the wide range of things to do made it enjoyable for all...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We all went on our annual trip to ashbury, and as usual it was fantastic. All the courses we played were in great condition, and the food was really good and plentiful. The rooms were basic but clean and spotless with lovely showers. This place is great value for money, with free buggies on our stay. People should not have give poor reviews of this place, its a great place to go, we have booked for next year !!! again . The staff also need to be praised, they run around after us all the time and joanne behind the bar was especially great, thakyou to everyone see you all soon :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews