We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The White Hart Hotel(Okehampton)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Hatherleigh)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
US$379
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$429/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mill End Hotel(Chagford)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bovey Castle Hotel(North Bovey)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$486
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 01/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart Hotel(Moretonhampstead)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
194
186
64
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
186
64
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf hotelmanor housesister hotelhydro spaplaying golfmeal timesgolf tripten pin bowlingtable tennisgolfing breaktee timesgolf shopfree bottle of winegolf courses areround of golfcraft activitiesfantastic condition
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Hi I'm 11 years old and I was looking forward to this whole family holiday. My holiday was AUWFUL do not bring your family here!!!! Seven of us traveled for seven hours in the car and me and my two cousins kept ringing each other giving travel updates and when we arrived it looked pleasant but when we went into our rooms it looked as if we had visited a seventies museum. One of the rooms toilet did not work so four of us had to have a different room. At tea that evening me and my cousins compared the yucky rooms and when we took our shoes off to go in the rooms the carpet was horrible and sticky.
Also the art activities you would have to pay a lot of money a specially when it's a big family holiday.
BASICALLY DON'T COME HERE, if you deserve your holiday!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, General Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Ian T

I am sorry to read in your review that you did not enjoy your holiday with us at Ashbury. I apologise that your room’s toilet was not operating correctly but was glad to see that you were given an alternative room immediately. The art activities are one of the very few things you do have to pay for here and you are only paying for the cost of the materials. Vast amounts of other facilities, sports and leisure are included in the price. I have received no other reports of sticky carpets and have checked a number of rooms and found no problems. We are not a boutique hotel and this is reflected in the price. I do however, considering your age, commend your knowledge of seventies décor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have visited this hotel about 10 times over the last 7 years now. The number of rooms have increased considerably as have the facilities. The value for money is second to none; there always appears to be 'offers' - we paid just under £60 per day each for full board which included 27 holes of free golf every day.

We played the Beeches course on our first day which is only 5400 yards off the yellow tees (par 69) and it took almost 4 hrs 45 mins! Two four balls in front would not let us through and yet there was no-one in front of them. I don't really care how long you take to play a game - but if you are holding someone up, please let them through. This is not just polite but is part of golf etiquette. If only there were marshalls to speed up slow play.

I am not criticising for the sake of it - I shall probably return again; but if this annoys you then this may not be the place for you.

Secondly, although the food is plentiful and wholesome, I would have thought that by now they would have learnt how to cook vegetables. Generally overcooked mush spoiling what would otherwise be a very nice meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

My second visit,for a 3 day golf trip.Overall I shouldn't moan as it's dirt cheap,but the whole place is now tired and grubby.It's a poor "Golf Butlins"
The golf courses are ok but nothing special, poorly laid-out and spread all over the place.
Food is copious and edible in a "school dinners" style.
The room was functional but squeezing 3 people into a double makes it all a bit too snug.
The entrance and hallway to our Moorview block were filthy,hadn't seen a hoover in days.
Decor and carpet throughout the bars and restaurants are grubby and drab, with plenty of trackie bottoms, trainers and bling on show from the predominantly chav punters.
It was definitely a golf experience!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, General Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear happyh65

I am sorry that you didn’t enjoy your break with us at Ashbury. It is difficult for our unique hotel to appeal to all, although we do try. We see our value in the reasonable price combined with a wealth of sports and activities that are included without further charges. I feel the words “grubby” and “filthy” are a bit strong – we know we can improve some areas and we are doing so as fast as we can. We are often praised by our customers on the layout and condition of the courses and, the range and quality of our food. We do have a variety of room sizes and I am sure if you had asked we could have moved you to a more suitable room. Again, I apologise we did not meet your expectations for a 2 Star hotel and I wish you all the best with your future breaks elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel has fantastic facilities with sport, craft, exercise and pampering to keep the whole family entertained in the best and worst of weather that Devon has to offer. Facilities and options keep being extended. Rooms are adequately sized with plenty of storage and very clean.

My only complaint would be that the food really is basic mass catering. You go full board and as far as the food goes you get what you pay for.

However it is excellent value for money for all the activities on offer that are all included. You only pay for consumables used in craft activities. You can use all facilities at the Manor House Hotel which is 2 miles away down a twisty lane.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellenbee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, General Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear ellenbee4

Thank you for the review you have posted. I was glad to read that you had enjoyed all the facilities and activities. As you have stated we are extending our range of facilities further this year. We opened our new Craft Centre at Ashbury during the summer holidays. We aim to have our new toddler’s pool with slides open for October Half Term and this will be followed by our new spa and Hydrotherapy pool hopefully sometime in December.

I was sorry that you did not completely enjoy the food on offer but as you can see from other reviews (like the 5 listed below) most guests enjoy what is on offer. There are A La Carte options, for a small supplement, during the evening meal for those that would like to upgrade their menu choice.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we certainly hope to welcome you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Ashbury Golf Hotel is located about 3 miles west of Okehampton, and about a mile away from its sister hotel, The Manor House Hotel. Guests are allowed to take advantage of the various sports and leisure facilities and organised activities at either hotel.
As the name suggests, The Ashbury Golf Hotel specialises in golf breaks, with several courses on site, and buggies available for guest use. It does have a sports hall, swimming pool and craft centre, but golf is the big deal here (The Manor House, by contrast, has a much wider range of sporting, leisure and arts / crafts activities).
The Ashbury is, it has to be said, a rather ugly complex with a sprawling main building and rather utilitarian accommodation blocks separate from the main building. As has been observed elsewhere, the rooms and public areas have an extremely tired look to them, although in fairness if you’re planning to be spending any length of time in your room then you’ve probably come to the wrong place. The rooms are on the small size and modestly equipped; facilities are en-suite and the room comes with a small TV (limited channels, poor reception) and coffee / tea making facilities. Soap / Shower Gel / Shampoo are provided, but don’t count on them being replenished daily. Towels are supposedly replaced on the third day of your stay – ours were not…… No air con, no mini-bar / fridge, no in-room wi-fi. The only place in the hotel with wi-fi is the bar area – access is free and unsecured. There are several lounges surrounding the bar area with plentiful seating, although it can become loud and crowded in the evenings. A few minutes walk away is a very large seated area with several large televisions; this is the epicentre of evening activities, with something taking place most nights – quizzes, karaoke, bingo etc. There is also a games room with a couple of 10-pin bowling alleys, arcade type games and Playstation / Nintendo type video games, and a snooker room.
I believe the only board basis offered is Full Board. Meals are good, hearty fare; buffet breakfast (hot and cold options), buffet lunch, and waiter / waitress service for the evening meal. The table waiting staff seemed to be hard worked, but were always polite and helpful. Rather peculiarly, you are assigned a specific table for breakfast / evening meal, but free seating for lunch. Our party of four found the tables rather cramped, and the cleanliness of the cutlery left something to be desired, but we enjoyed eating here.
The real selling point of the Ashbury is, of course, the activities. Just about everything is included in the price, although deposits are required for some equipment and a charge is made for materials used in the arts and crafts sessions. I won’t write a definitive list, but apart from golf, you will also find racquet sports, swimming and pool activities, archery / shooting, dance, health / wellbeing / relaxation type sessions, and a variety of crafts such as pottery. And that’s just at the Ashbury – an even wider range is available at The Manor House Hotel. Most of the sports and pool activities are available as organised sessions with staff in attendance to organise games, competition and coaching, but many of the facilities can be booked for individual use.
Really, there is no excuse for being at a loose end here, although non-golfers may feel more at home at The Manor House. My advice is to pick up a map and a schedule of the weeks activities for BOTH hotels from reception on arrival, have a walk round to familiarise yourself with the layout and facilities, and in particular make yourself familiar with the Activity Sign Up Room where you can register for organised activities or book facilities for your own use 2 or 3 days ahead. A free ‘phone link to the Manor House is provided in the Activity Sign Up Room so you can register for activities there as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stevo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews