We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ashbury Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$92
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Hatherleigh)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down(Okehampton)(Great Value!)
US$75
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Gidleigh Park(Chagford)
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill End Hotel(Chagford)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Manor House Hotel(Fowley Cross)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
191
186
58
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
186
58
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf hotelplay golfmanor housesister hotelhydro spameal timesten pin bowlinggolf triptable tennisgolfing breaktee timesgolf shopfree bottle of winegolf courses arecraft activitiesfantastic conditionrooms are basic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Excellent value for money. Probably the most unique holiday in Britain and certainly the best value for money. Rooms basic but comfortable. All inclusive sports and leisure facilities wonderful, pool particularly good with two saunas and jacuzzis. Plenty to do for all ages, and free use of the art and craft sister hotel 3 miles away. Excellent value for money with all inclusive food available pretty much all day long. Decent driving range and well stocked pro shop. Staff friendly and full of good advice. The golf courses offer challenges for all handicaps and are set in beautiful surroundings some with lovely views of Dartmoor. For a stunning round play Kigbeare and enjoy the unique 3rd and 16th. Probably two of the best holes in golf. Plenty of buggies available, the best way to pack all the rounds in. The new Spa facility opened after our last visit but looks incredible.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the proshop are better if you like a lie in as golfers go out early and get their buggies from close to the pro shop.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Heidi M,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice and complimentary review. I was very glad to read that you enjoyed all the facilities and food. I was particularly pleased in your comments on the staff and your high praise of the golf courses. The New Hydro Spas are open and running at both Hotels now and we are receiving wonderful feedback from guests (especially golfers having a relax after a day on the courses).
Hope to see you back again soon.

With kind regards
Simon Brothers
(Manager, Ashbury Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is our 2nd visit. This year 9 golfer s - some regular, one less so but all reasonable standard. To be honest for value you just can't beat here. We were also lucky with some great weather too.

3 course lunch on arrival.
Golf and free buggy.
4 course dinner and bottle of wine between 2.
Bed and breakfast.
Golf and free buggy.
3 course lunch.
£64.95 - including use of all facilities.

This year we played Pines and Oakwood - both good courses.

Tip - My favourites though are Kigbeare and Pines.

100% recommended.

Room Tip: Ask if you are in a group Nd you need together.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just returned from The Ashbury Hotel after a 4 day break with 16 other golfers. Overall the trip was excellent. Golf courses good and challenging. Only had a problem one night in the restaurant when service was so slow that only 3 of our party waited for the sweet. Rooms very basic, housekeeping could be improved but the extras included in the price were fantastic. Recommend everyone to try it if you haven't already, but remember you are paying for 2 star not 5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BNN966C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just home today from our third trip to Ashbury Golf Hotel and yet again we loved our stay, so much so, we've booked for next year already. despite the foul weather Devon and the west country have had this winter, the courses were in superb condition, foe food was plentiful and tasty, staff friendly and accommodating, l really can't say enough about the place, plus, if you have a wet golfing day, the heated lockers dry your gear out ready for the next day, excellent value for money, can't beat it 5 star

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GL1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, General Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear GL 1965,

Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay with us at Ashbury. We have had numerous comments of praise for the condition of the courses. We have had a particularly wet winter but did not have a single day where golf was not available. The courses are playing very well and am pleased that you enjoyed your golf whist here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With kind regards
Simon Brothers
(Manager, Ashbury Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We returned for our third time, with our relatives who have been visiting for over 20 yeras. As usual the golf and activities were great. The food has improved, although it was already good for the price and the service from ALL the staff, without any doubt was above and beyond.
However, the management have lost some control over the number of people completeing the activties, those not turning up and the demands from some to the detriment of other guests. The people who actually run the classes are FANTASTIC, especially Duncan (Woodwork/Framing) and Mike (Pottery/Walks) They do all they can to help, encourage and ensure you enjoy yourself. The new Hydro pool is brilliant (The Ashbury), but there is a total lack of control over how many people and who use it. You are supposed to sign up, as with the other activities, but people were just turning up and using the facilities which are limited. Children were in the pool, despite clear signs saying adults only, they were also using the saunsa, which is highly dangerous. But there is noone in control to ensure safety etc. If they are not careful, the management will not only lose their loyal customers of many years, but also their VERY LOYAL staff, who are currently very over worked.
We ate at the Manor one day and it was absolute chaos, chidren climbing on each other to get to the food, food running out too quickly, difficult to find a seat, we never ate there again. I have to say it was not the catering staff's fault, they were rushing around trying to do the best they could. MANAGEMENT TAKE NOTE, IMPROVE YOUR STAFFING LEVELS, TREAT YOUR CURRENT STAFF FAIRLY.
I will go back, but if the management haven't improved the areas mentioned, I may not return again

Room Tip: Stay at the Ashbury, don't go in half term!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear SagaloutsTour,

Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that overall you have enjoyed the golf, activities and food during your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to mention Mike and Duncan by name. I have passed on a copy of your review to them both. Half terms and school holiday periods of course mean more family groups staying. The Manor buffet area and the Ashbury Spa area are areas we are looking at to improve procedures and controls. Staffing levels are a subject we are constantly monitoring to enable us to offer the best possible service to our guests. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.

With kind regards
Simon Brothers
(Manager, Ashbury Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews