We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashbury hotel ' Golfers heaven'”
Review of The Ashbury Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ashbury Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned home after a brilliant 5 night stay at the Ashbury hotel. I agree with what people say about the rooms needing a bit of an update but at the end of the day it was clean and tidy and had a shower and a bed ,what more does a golfer need? The food was excellent,plenty of variety for me and also free wine on Sunday and Thursday.The golf courses are absolutely fantastic especially Beeches and Kigbeare , you would easily pay 40 to £50 a round to play courses of this quality in my area. Only had to pay £5 for an all day buggy, unbelievable value. Only complaint is that it can be a long walk from the buggy cart path to find a way ward T shot, maybe in the summer they can lift the ban on buggies not being allowed off the cart path.Will definitely be making a third visit to this Golfers paradise. Keep up the good work Ashbury!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Steve J,

Thank you for your very kind review on your recent stay at Ashbury. It was great to read such a positive review and such an appreciation of our value for money. It was very kind of you to call us a “Golfers Paradise”. I am sorry that we would not be able to allow buggies onto the fairways. With over 450 buggies on courses that are not totally flat this would not be feasible for both safety and wear reasons.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth visit and many more beyond this.

With Kind regards
Simon Brothers
(Manager, Ashbury Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Ashbury Hotel this week (21st-24th) with my family, i play golf and managed to pair up with a guy, courses were fantastic and the golf in general is well organised with buggies and a slick booking system, unfortunately the hotel itself was very run down and needs a massive facelift, we stayed in a very small family room with a decent shower but beds were solid.
I guess if your a golf group that doesn't matter do much but as a family it was not easy.
Food was good and service in general ok, one problem for me and that was the staff were not very welcoming, no one smiled and the bar staff just took orders, cash and then moved on, no " how was your day" etc, would have made a big difference. So in general I wouldn't go with my family again but certainly would go with a golf society for a few days....

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Jeremy D,

I was sorry to read that you found the staff unwelcoming. This is not the norm as you can see from other reviews posted here and I am sorry that you found the staff as described. We are constantly changing and refurbishing facilities, as well as adding in new. However, this process does take some time. I am sure that when you return for a future visit you will notice some of the changes and improvements we have made.

With kind regards
Simon Brothers (Manager, Ashbury Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Having stayed at this hotel many times over the last 15 years found the food a good variety.Staff pleasant .We had a triple room which which was near bars,restaurants. But a bit too near to the bars for our liking as very loud mainly men coming back from bar areas at1.30 in the morning keeping us awake and again some going out golfing at 5.30 and again making a lot of noise.Iwould avoid this room in the future ie D2 as there was a constant stream of noise around this room area!Not that I'm a golfer but someone told us that the buggies were been increased in price from£5 to£20 a day?Idid enjoy the spa and available treatments which had increased in price and are more like the prices in London.Not sure if we will come back to Ashbury again as unfortunately there wasa lot of inconsiderate people making too much noise late at night despite notices requesting to keep noise levels down after 11pm.Maybe larger notice nearD2would help as it is an isolated room which I believe is used for disabled people and other customers are probably not ware of the location of this room

Room Tip: avoidD2 and get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marianunes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear marianunes59,

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent stay with us at Ashbury. I was sorry to read that other guests kept you awake overnight. We do have staff around overnight and if guests are being disturbed we would always ask that they call so that we can action any issues immediately.

Just to clarify some of the pricing you have mentioned. Our buggies are priced at £16 a round (£22 all day) – this price has not changed for the last 6 years. However, at certain times of the year we offer either half price buggies or buggies for £5. The prices have not changed but some of the dates have. Please check details in our tariff or on the web site for prices up to the end of 2015.

Our treatments have for the last few years been a set price of £28 per hour regardless of what type of treatment. We have now altered this tariff to charge a little more for the treatment with high materials costs and visa versa. Hence, now our therapy treatment tariff ranges from £11 (half hour sessions) to £32 hour sessions. Still amazing value compared to “London prices”. We still offer periods of the year where this is discounted by 20%.

Thank you for you nice comments on the staff and food. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

With kind regards
Simon Brothers (Manager, Ashbury Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed as a party of 20 in the Ashbury golf hotel.

The original hotel is in need of an update and a lick of paint but overall is very good. The new wings are very good but it can be a trek to get to your room depending on which floor you are on.

The bars could do with a couple more staff to shorten queuing time when it is busy. The restaurant has been updated recently. The food isn't bad although there could be more variety.

The golf courses present many different challenges depending on your handicap but all of them are fun to play. It can get a bit annoying watching & listening to a group of "southern gentlemen" shouting their heads off as they play as a 10-ball on the par-3 Willows course - thank god we were in front of them!

The golf can be very slow especially when playing the courses where a buggy is mandated. Unless you drive the ball close to the buggy path you end up carrying half a dozen clubs across the fairway to play your shot then walk all the way back to your buggy. It would speed up proceedings if buggies were allowed on the courses at least during the summer months.

The leisure facilities are fantastic. The swimming pool and new Hydro Spa are very relaxing indeed.

For value for money there are no better golf resorts than this.

We love this resort and are looking forward to our return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ScouseChris2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear ScouseChris2265,

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent stay with us at Ashbury. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your trip and will be returning for another visit. The bars were quite busy on your visit and we are looking to provide better coverage at the busier times.

We do, with 450 buggies, have to keep to our rule of buggies on paths only. Even in the best of weather (which could change while the round is in progress) with this amount of traffic it would damage the grass too much. We have invested heavily in tarmac paths around every single hole of all 7 courses.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

With kind regards
Simon Brothers (Manager, Ashbury Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

we were at the ashbury last week for 4 days with a group as we have done for the last 4 years ,a few things have changed ,not all for the better I am sorry to say ,food not as varied, seemed to be a lot less staff those who were there needed a little more training in how to serve table so everyone on that table ate at the same time, food was very often cold ,sauces ie mint, horseradish and mustard you had to go ask for,My main complaint was as a none golfer I do like to try the crafts ,although there is a new and well advertised craft centre ,we had difficulty in in enrolling for any craft sessions ,no actual sheets to put names on ,reception were very vague as to how to enrol hence no courses were at the ashbury, Sunday only 1 on the Monday ,after repeated request to a duty manager we actually got sheets up on the Tuesday evening hence 4 craft activities in one our last day instead as we usually do 1 or 2 each day ,Sarah who took all the classes we did was very good and extremely helpful ,spa was lovely although it did get crowded it would seem not every one booked a session and some of those that did stayed longer than their allotted time ,as the was no one on duty in there guest did as they pleased ,In spite of this we had a great time ,and will be going back next year ,hoping that things are a little more organised ,golfers had a great time course was very good, cvk

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Christine V,

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent stay with us at Ashbury. We have a few adjustments to make to the running of our new Craft Centre and Hydro Spa. This will greatly improve the organisation of these facilities. The menus are altered from time to time for seasonal variations and to offer repeat customers something a little different but the numbers of choices have remained constant at breakfast, lunch and dinner. We do have a number of new staff and we are improving their training and service levels on a daily basis. Thank you again for your valued, constructive feedback and please rest assured we will improve procedures before your next visit.

With kind regards,
Simon Brothers (Manager, Ashbury Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

For value this place is one of the best in the uk, the room are functional but given you only sleep and shower in them why want more. The food is always hot, tasty and plenty of variety, healthy choices available. The golf is great, fairways in excellent condition, greens great considering the footfall throughout the year, just love this place, already booked for 2015!!!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank GCT1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We've just had two nights at the Ashbury and have had a great time. It is true that the hotel is a little dated but the facilities make up for it. Our room in the Farmhouse was comfortable and clean. The food was really good and the choice made us eat far too much! Young Sam in the dining room was a great server and is so polite.

I don't golf but hubbie is a keen golfer and had two rounds which he thoroughly enjoyed. I went round with him and the views are amazing. The courses are in very good condition.

We both enjoyed the spa and pool and also the shooting and archery.

The thing that struck me most was that every person I spoke to was a repeat customer! That has to say something for the hotel! We too would like to have a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHARDLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, Manager at The Ashbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear CHARLADY,

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ashbury. Thank you for your kind comments on the rooms, activities and golf courses. Thank you for taking the time to mention Sam by name. I have passed on a copy of your review for him to see. We are looking to improve public areas and rooms in time. At the end of this week we are opening a brand new ladies toilet facility in the Clubhouse (this will then enable us to refurbish the existing toilets/changing rooms). We look forward to welcoming you back as well as all our repeat customers.

With kind regards
Simon Brothers (Manager, Ashbury Hotel)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowley Cross
2.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
300 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
9.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,426 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Ashbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashbury Hotel

Address: Higher Maddford, Fowley Cross EX20 4NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Fowley Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashbury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Also Known As:
The Ashbury Hotel Devon/Fowley Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing