We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Had a fantastic time my partner played golf and I did lots of crafts everybody was very friendly and staff very helpful. There is so much to do, I will be going back before the end of the year

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    256
    71
    35
    34
See reviews for
357
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

i normally give positive reviews only, but i really do want potential customers to know what they could be letting themselves in for!
on the positive side, the dining room staff were very helpful and friendly.There are a lot of sports activites on offer, and the food was average. The views of the moors are spectacular.
Now for some negatives! We tried to sort out a family booking, but weren't satisfied with the outcome at all. some - not all - of the reception staff could benefit from a customer care course in the near future!
Rooms are woefully depressing!! to say that they are basic is one thing, but if i had been going there to cheer myself up, i would have gone straight back home! We had been to the 'hotel' 20 years ago, and believe me nothing has changed with the rooms! During our latest stay we looked at a few rooms and none of them have been modernised. If you have a passion for artex, then this is the hotel for you!
Imagine the grimmest of nursing homes, and you get the impression! The communal seating areas - whilst plentiful - are not cosy or inviting - grim nursing homes come to mind again! will be getting in touch with the AA standard ratings. To award The Manor house any rosettes is giving all the other good establishments out there a dis- service. If you are a group of lads looking for a short golf break, then this is the place for you. If you want to be pampered with comfortable surroundings, then avoid at all costs! Unless they bulldoze all of the accommodation block, we won't be giving the Manor House any more custom in the future.

Room Tip: you can't choose a good room - there aren't any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank sandraChelmsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, General Manager at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear SandraChelmsford,

Thank you for your post.

I was sorry that you were not happy with all the elements of your recent stay with us.

I am unsure what the issue was with the family booking you were trying to sort out? I have spoken with the reception staff and they cannot recall any previous guests over the last month who have not been satisfied with their family room or suite. I would be pleased to discuss this with you further if you wish to contact me at the hotel.

I am sorry that you found our rooms depressing. Whilst we fully appreciate that our rooms are not deluxe, we receive regular visits from the AA inspection team who confirm their rating that we are a comfortable 2 star standard. We do not advertise ourselves as anything other than 2 star and in our brochure we state that ‘guests repeat book due to the facilities and not the bedrooms.’ We feel this is a fair reflection of why our guests choose to visit us.

We have a programme of bedroom and bathroom refurbishments which is currently ongoing and this includes replacing furniture, carpets and redecorating as well as retiling bathrooms. It would appear that the room you were allocated (and the few you viewed separately) were not bedrooms that had recently been revamped.

I am a little surprised that you found our lounges ‘grim’. We have had many positive comments from returning guests who have enjoyed our new leather arm/tub chairs and beech coffee tables. I am sorry if these were not to your liking.

We have no plans to ‘bulldoze’ the accommodation block, but we will be continuing with our room improvement programme throughout the following year.

Yours sincerely
Andrew Brint

Co-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Advertised as a sports and crafts hotel and that is what it is. Unusual and very spread out, easy to see why the AA give it two stars. Fine for family or sporting group holidays not so good for a casual stay. There were many of the craft sign ups which did not seem to be operating when we were there. The falconry is not offered at present, perhaps the falcon escaped?

Room Tip: Make sure you are in a building near the dining room, especially if it's wet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeH589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford Herts
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This was our third time at The Manor and we were not disappointed. The best thing about it is that you really don't mind what the weather is doing - all the activities are under cover and they are all included in the price. There are so many things to choose from, you don't have time to be bored. There are crafts for those who don't like activities and health treatments (extra but reasonable cost). The food is plentiful and enjoyable considering the number of guests they are catering for. I would thoroughly recommend The Manor House Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janemarion99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We booked over the telephone on the strength of the website and information from the booking clerk. For a two night stay the deposit was £91 with an extra £1.82 charge for using a credit card. We discovered on arrival that the activities we wanted to do were not available during the duration of our short stay despite what was said when we booked. I stated my case and requested the return of my deposit. This was denied by the duty manager and Julie the receptionist who was aggressive with a smile. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL unless you have written confirmation of what you are paying for. Make sure that you see a timetable of events for the time you choose to stay. Your deposit will not be refunded under any circumstances if you try to cancel less than 4 weeks before your stay. We booked a couple of weeks before we planned to go. As soon as my card was debited I had lost my deposit. The tatty and miserable communal surroundings did not encourage us to stay once we no longer had the activities to look forward to. We were on the premises for about 1 hour then left. We did not see the rooms. The fact the deposit was less than £100 pounds means that we are unable to claim our money back through the small claims court. BE WARNED!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mrsenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorAshbury, General Manager at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Mrs English
I have read your post above with much interest and I am disappointed that after discussing the points above with you personally at great length, you have felt compelled to write what I believe to be a rather unfair statement of facts – perhaps it is because we have not refunded your deposit despite your threats of reporting us to the AA and Trading Standards?
We currently have 57 different activities on our programme and as you will appreciate we cannot run every single activity every single day. We do try to have an even spread of these through the week so that those staying at weekends have as much choice as those staying midweek. During our conversation, you made it quite clear there were 2 particular activities that you wanted to take part in – pottery and water-slides. During the 2 days you were due to stay with us the water slides were not scheduled to take place – they are scheduled three times per week outside of school holidays but unfortunately neither of these three days fell on either of the 2 days you were due to stay with us. I know that you spoke with our Duty Manager on your arrival to say that this activity was one of the things you wanted to take part in. He said to you that we could easily add another session to take place at a time to suit you so that you could take part in this activity. For some reason you refused this?
Our pottery courses take place over three days. This includes choosing your mould design, filling the mould with slip clay, waiting for the mould to dry out, fettling the clay item, firing the item, decorating the item. As you were only here for 2 days it would not have been possible to complete the full course, however we do offer shorter courses where a bisque item can be chosen from one of the many pieces we have on offer and then individually decorated to your design. Alternatively we offer a shorter pottery course where you can throw a pot on one of our wheels. This then needs to dry out for a day before firing which by then you would have already left us. I know that our Duty Manager had offered to send the finished piece on to you in the post. These options were fully explained to you by our Duty Manager and although the full pottery course would not have been possible due to the time constraints, these other options were pottery based activities that you could have enjoyed.
We always try to offer extra activity sessions if they are not available on certain days or they become fully subscribed. In this instance this is exactly what our Duty Manager has offered to do for you but for whatever reason you felt this wasn’t sufficient.
Having reviewed the activity programme for the 2 days you were scheduled to stay with us, we had 36 different activities available on it. I am sure this choice would not have been available at many other establishments throughout the country and I am sure you would have enjoyed many of them if you had given them a try.
I must stress that you are incorrect in your statement about our receptionist. We do have a receptionist called Julie but she was not working at the time of your visit. I am unsure why you have quoted her name and obviously she is most upset that she has been accused of something she clearly has not done. If you felt the receptionist who dealt with you was aggressive then I apologise and can assure that this is a very unusual incident.
I am sorry that you felt you did not want to stay with us – it is disappointing that you did not even stay one night as I am sure you would have enjoyed our food, facilities and entertainment.
As with all hotels, your non-refundable deposit secures your room booking, should you choose to not stay then the deposit is forfeited. We do not make any further charges for accommodation not taken.

Andrew Brint
Co-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter holidays. Nine of us went , grandparents, parents, uncle, 3 boys aged 22, 20,18 and daughter aged 14. ~Boys played snooker, squash, tennis, badminton, rifle shooting, pistol shooting, archery plus 10 pin bowling. Grandparents played bowls, swimming, crafts and ten pin bowling, whilst the parents happily joined in wherever.The food was tasty and loads of it, sports free and the crafts very enjoyable - we brought home lots of different items.
We spent a lot of time together enjoying each others company and laughed loads. It was lovely to see the boys have such a great time together - they don't see much of each other at home due to Uni etc. It has bought us closer together as a family and we made lots of happy memories. I can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Ask for one nearer to reception as some of the rooms are a long walk from the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights before Easter, two families including 2 teenagers and two 11 year olds.

We had a fantastic time, and were kept busy from the minute we arrived till minute we left. Have previously stayed at the Ashbury, but the Manor was more suitable for the kids, as there were more kids around and activities aimed at them. Some activities were harder to get on than at the Ashbury, but this was due to the higher numbers, and it is annoying that many people don't turn up for their booked activities - denying others places - but that's not the hotel's fault. Booking courts was easier - did so much sport I ached for days !

Room clean - we had a superior room in the block by the indoor tennis - which had a patio and views over Dartmoor - will go for that next time too !

Food - good quality, but the accompaniments got repetetive - always roast potatoes, new potatoes and 2 veg - so had an omelette on 3rd night ! Desserts were fantastic.

Eveneing entertainment - good fun. Coud do with a bar nearer the games hall - but that did mean I spent less as couldn't be bothered to do the trek back and to too often !

All our party enjoyed and are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChubbyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowley Cross
8.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,069 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
199 reviews
6.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
387 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: 30 A 386, approximately 2 miles north of the junction with the A, Fowley Cross EX20 4NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Fowley Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House and Ashbury Hotels are situated on the foothills of the Dartmoor National Park in West Devon. Set in over 600 acres of beautiful countryside, we believe the hotels have the highest level of facilities in the UK. With all our breaks exclusively FULL BOARD you are guaranteed great value. Golf is included FREE on 99 holes, giving the option of 7 eighteen hole golf courses which vary in length from Kigbeare at 6528 yards Par 72 to the Willows Par3 course at 1939 yards. Some of the other facilities available FREE of charge to all residents include 8 indoor and 5 outdoor Tennis courts, 13 indoor Bowls rinks, 8 Badminton courts, 3 Swimming pools with spa facilities, 10 lanes of 10 pin bowling, 20 Snooker tables, and Target ranges featuring Archery, Air Pistols and Air Rifles. Our "Fun House" is a fantastic 300 sq metre soft adventure play area set over 3 levels with astra slide, tube slides, ball pool and much more! Our Gameszone offers hours of entertainment for the kids with Xbox / Playstations, pool tables, air hockey, dance stage and more! PLUS 4 FLUME WATER SLIDE COMPLEX! Our unique Craft Centres offer 17 tutored crafts including Pottery, Glass Engraving, Enameling, Hot Press Printing and Woodwork. All of these crafts feature expert tuition with minimal cost prices applied. With the huge choice of sport, craft and leisure facilities available, you will have a truly amazing break that won't be easily forgotten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Fowley Cross
Manor House Hotel Devon/Fowley Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing