We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break”
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Break”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Had a great week here with my sister and her 2 children, aged 4&7, great staff, friendly and helpful.
Activities are great and good across all ages. The swimming pools are fab, lovely and warm and the kids loved the flames and the jacuzzi.
Evening entertainment is not bad, nothing special but after a long day ok.
The only complaint I have is the Hotel in General is cold, from the kids play area to the bar in the evenings, we sat in big fleeces as it was cold, hardly any of the radiators around the hotel were switched on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendaskerratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    257
    71
    35
    34
See reviews for
357
89
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised with the Manor House - ignore those reviews which state that the food is poor - this is everything you could expect and more for the price.

meals are always freshly prepared and you have a choice between 2 main meals every night ( plus a vegetarian option)

what made this hotel for me, were the fellow guests - not a single arrogant person around, everyone is there to have a good time, and enjoy the facilities, but there is no pushing and shoving, with everyone respecting the booking systems in place.

get involved in the tournaments, and you will certainly make friends which makes the stay even more enjoyable.

my only complaint was with regards to the rooms - despite being told we had an upgraded room - the room was tiny, (room 123) and had paper-thin walls - I was woken up by the snoring of our neighbours.

My in-laws were also on the trip with us- paid exactly the same for the room ( I know, I did the booking and paid) and had a room 3 times the size ( room 128) - I cannot work out how these 2 rooms were the same rate.

Room Tip: try and find out which rooms you are assigned prior to travel - and just hope you're not next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Manor House hotel is far from a 5 star stay, but then I don't recall it ever claiming to be. If you want 5 star accommodation and decor, then it's centre parcs you are looking for (but be prepared to pay 5 times the amount you pay for manor house once you include activities).

What manor house hotel offers you is a break for the family of any age and gender where you only have yourself to blame if you go bored or hungry. The array of activities available there is amazing and our two kids (as well as us big kids) never found a moment where we didn't know what to do... and for a 6 and 3 year old.. that is a rarity! The accommodation is dated with bedding, decor and tv entertainment comparable to the 70's/80's (12" tv with channels 1-5 and no connectivity!) but to be fair, by the time we got to our rooms, we were so worn out from all the activities, all we wanted to do was go to sleep in the more than comfortable enough bed.

The food was relatively basic but there was a lot of choice and we were never stuck as a family of what to have. The staff were friendly and helpful. The New spa was very nice and the treatments available were great value for money (quite cheap compared to most spa's around an about).

All in all a fantastic family holiday which left the kids not wanting to leave, so gets our seal of approval and hoping to return one day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grapeluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Such a fantastic hotel. Never a moment to get bored. Something for all ages. Such good value and food was fantastic. Staff were so friendly and even though the rooms and hotel decoration was a little dated, the hotel was very clean. We have already booked to go back again in October. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 159 which was at the end of the building in a quiet area. Book a class A room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleJim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

This was our 6th year here and every year some activity is added or improved. This time an excellent Spa facility and all are free. Rooms are basic - but this year we had a room which had new wardrobes and a small flat screen tv. There is also additional wi-fi in the bar area. Food as ever is plentiful and much to choose from. Will be returning next February.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We booked a four night stay and we were very clear when we asked prior to booking about painting and card making. The whole point of the trip was for these two activities and we were extremely annoyed upon arrival to find that there was only one 1.5hr slot for card making and one 3hr slot for painting. The tuition was in no way expert and we left after only one night. The food, service, sports, cleanliness could not be faulted, but we wanted a crafting/painting break. The hotel in our opinion offers only taster sessions of some crafts and even within these there are often limited slots available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyH259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have been on a lads weekend for 10 years running now and yes it never changes , and yes the rooms look dated; but you know I spend 3 days playing sport and having a laugh for £150.
Our group have always had a great weekend.

Would I chose the manor house for a romantic getaway? No!
The food is hot and plentiful. Staff are always attentive and despite what other reviewers sem to imply always willing to help and chat to guests. I suspect some of these staff are on minimum wage yet I have never had an issue with grumpiness or can't do attitude.


The facilities are great. Yes it is posher and better turned out at Centre parks but it is 5 times as expensive.
Spent 3 great hours in spa complex- must be my age now and came out feeling refreshed and relaxed.

This place gets so much repeat business. You have to se past its obvious limitations and enjoy what it offeres.

Values for money it is. 5 star it in't - but then it doesn't claim to be

I

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattR1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowley Cross
8.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,072 reviews
6.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
411 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
387 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: 30 A 386, approximately 2 miles north of the junction with the A, Fowley Cross EX20 4NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Fowley Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House and Ashbury Hotels are situated on the foothills of the Dartmoor National Park in West Devon. Set in over 600 acres of beautiful countryside, we believe the hotels have the highest level of facilities in the UK. With all our breaks exclusively FULL BOARD you are guaranteed great value. Golf is included FREE on 99 holes, giving the option of 7 eighteen hole golf courses which vary in length from Kigbeare at 6528 yards Par 72 to the Willows Par3 course at 1939 yards. Some of the other facilities available FREE of charge to all residents include 8 indoor and 5 outdoor Tennis courts, 13 indoor Bowls rinks, 8 Badminton courts, 3 Swimming pools with spa facilities, 10 lanes of 10 pin bowling, 20 Snooker tables, and Target ranges featuring Archery, Air Pistols and Air Rifles. Our "Fun House" is a fantastic 300 sq metre soft adventure play area set over 3 levels with astra slide, tube slides, ball pool and much more! Our Gameszone offers hours of entertainment for the kids with Xbox / Playstations, pool tables, air hockey, dance stage and more! PLUS 4 FLUME WATER SLIDE COMPLEX! Our unique Craft Centres offer 17 tutored crafts including Pottery, Glass Engraving, Enameling, Hot Press Printing and Woodwork. All of these crafts feature expert tuition with minimal cost prices applied. With the huge choice of sport, craft and leisure facilities available, you will have a truly amazing break that won't be easily forgotten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Fowley Cross
Manor House Hotel Devon/Fowley Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing