We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and friendly staff”
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent value and friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed for 5 days and there was plenty to do as usual. The staff were marvellous, not really fair to pick out a few individuals but perhaps I could mention Gabi, Karen, Carole and Pauline. I had a single room in the original house which is ideal. The golf courses are in very good condition considering the weather. Be warned, this will not suit everyone as the first impressions are of somewhere rather old fashioned. Look again and you will see the sports facilities, brand new spa, great atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    254
    71
    35
    34
See reviews for
353
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned after our second visit . The food was excellent as usual and we enjoyed a variety of sports and craft including, archery, pistol and rifle shooting, short tennis, bowls, guided walk on Dartmoor, silk painting, woodwork, fabric painting, candle making, treatments in the new treatment centre and a visit to the new Hydro. Pool, amazing what you can fit in in 5 days. We went with our 50+ Sports Club and there were over 60 of us. Only problem was we needed to come home for a rest!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent all round, full marks. I didnt know places like this existed in England. Great scenery, food, service and a HUGE range of activities, way more than a weekends worth. I can imagine this place really buzzing in the Summer months, but there is plenty to occupy yourselves with during winter.
The HydroSpa is a must, be sure to check that out before you leave, its worth it on it own! Really enjoyed the archery and craft making.
On the negative there arent many, but the gym was a little small, and one of the receptionists was a little testy, and the bedroom walls are a little thin so you can hear alot of door banging, but im really glad i went down anyway.
HIGHLY recommended. a fantastic weekend for me and my family :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

we have just returned from our 3rd visit to the manor, last time there was 16 of us and it was brilliant, the food is amazing ,there isnt enough time to do every thing, we always try to get there early on arrival day to get our names down for activities as they do get booked up sometimes the manor will add xtra times if its full, everything is so relaxed cant wait till next time, the decor does need a update but its clean which is more important!

Room Tip: ask for the main house some rooms are a way to go!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue177618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Had a brilliant family three night holiday over half term. Children made lots of friends and we had no problem getting onto all the activities we wanted to. Food was really nice - quality cooked breakfast and wide variety of choices at lunch (buffet) and dinner (served from menu). Lovely family double room overlooking the moor, couldn't fault the decor, it's certainly not basic in the A class rooms (and we think Artex on the bedroom walls is just fine!). Always plenty of space in the public areas and armchairs to chill out in as well; even though the hotel was full, it never felt busy. Free wifi worked well throughout the very long lounge area for me. 3G was more elusive, it does show up sometimes but not reliably. A great break, we will be back and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ukfamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Had a great week here with my sister and her 2 children, aged 4&7, great staff, friendly and helpful.
Activities are great and good across all ages. The swimming pools are fab, lovely and warm and the kids loved the flames and the jacuzzi.
Evening entertainment is not bad, nothing special but after a long day ok.
The only complaint I have is the Hotel in General is cold, from the kids play area to the bar in the evenings, we sat in big fleeces as it was cold, hardly any of the radiators around the hotel were switched on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendaskerratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised with the Manor House - ignore those reviews which state that the food is poor - this is everything you could expect and more for the price.

meals are always freshly prepared and you have a choice between 2 main meals every night ( plus a vegetarian option)

what made this hotel for me, were the fellow guests - not a single arrogant person around, everyone is there to have a good time, and enjoy the facilities, but there is no pushing and shoving, with everyone respecting the booking systems in place.

get involved in the tournaments, and you will certainly make friends which makes the stay even more enjoyable.

my only complaint was with regards to the rooms - despite being told we had an upgraded room - the room was tiny, (room 123) and had paper-thin walls - I was woken up by the snoring of our neighbours.

My in-laws were also on the trip with us- paid exactly the same for the room ( I know, I did the booking and paid) and had a room 3 times the size ( room 128) - I cannot work out how these 2 rooms were the same rate.

Room Tip: try and find out which rooms you are assigned prior to travel - and just hope you're not next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowley Cross
8.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,055 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
179 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
405 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
5.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: 30 A 386, approximately 2 miles north of the junction with the A, Fowley Cross EX20 4NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Fowley Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House and Ashbury Hotels are situated on the foothills of the Dartmoor National Park in West Devon. Set in over 600 acres of beautiful countryside, we believe the hotels have the highest level of facilities in the UK. With all our breaks exclusively FULL BOARD you are guaranteed great value. Golf is included FREE on 99 holes, giving the option of 7 eighteen hole golf courses which vary in length from Kigbeare at 6528 yards Par 72 to the Willows Par3 course at 1939 yards. Some of the other facilities available FREE of charge to all residents include 8 indoor and 5 outdoor Tennis courts, 13 indoor Bowls rinks, 8 Badminton courts, 3 Swimming pools with spa facilities, 10 lanes of 10 pin bowling, 20 Snooker tables, and Target ranges featuring Archery, Air Pistols and Air Rifles. Our "Fun House" is a fantastic 300 sq metre soft adventure play area set over 3 levels with astra slide, tube slides, ball pool and much more! Our Gameszone offers hours of entertainment for the kids with Xbox / Playstations, pool tables, air hockey, dance stage and more! PLUS 4 FLUME WATER SLIDE COMPLEX! Our unique Craft Centres offer 17 tutored crafts including Pottery, Glass Engraving, Enameling, Hot Press Printing and Woodwork. All of these crafts feature expert tuition with minimal cost prices applied. With the huge choice of sport, craft and leisure facilities available, you will have a truly amazing break that won't be easily forgotten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Fowley Cross
Manor House Hotel Devon/Fowley Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing