We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Visit”
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Visit”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first visit and we had a party of 18 ranging in age from 71 down to 6 yrs. All found plenty to do with all the activities available included in the price. The bedrooms were a bit tired but very clean. some refurbishment is underway as one in our party had a very modern shower unit in their room . This is a full-on stay with little time available to spend in your room.
The staff were very helpful and the instruction given on the shooting ranges and craft rooms was great.
The only negative point was the arrangements for booking things on your room.Although your pass card said show ticket at all times when collecting room keys , booking items to your room we found you could not book drinks to your room after after 6pm which was a bit strange!!!
This was not helped by the ATM charging £1-20 per transaction. This to us let things down a little
But it was still a great break for a 50th wedding family get together.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayP1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    260
    73
    35
    36
See reviews for
363
89
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed for a mid week golf break. Had a really great time. Maybe not for serious golfers but great for us. Lots of other things to do and really looking forward to going again. They do send through special offers on email so maybe late booking would get better price? Food good and although rooms not glamorous we were happy with it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

First time at the Manor - The décor is very outdated and lets the place down. The bedrooms are basic. Thankfully the facilities are so good there is little time to spend in the rooms. We were there for the tennis and by the 3rd night I could hardly make it up the stairs to bed I was all tennis-ed out. With 5 indoor and 5 outdoor courts spoilt for choice. A great feeling. The only thing missing was if you go on your own for tennis it is very much up to yourself to find a partner. Although there is a list in the hall no one seems to do anything about it. It would be good if the tennis coach was responsible for this. The new spa is top notch and highly recommended.

The staff were delightful and the food was very good. It is reasonably priced and ideal for all ages. Families would benefit greatly during the school holidays. I would certainly return again as the tennis facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philomenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spring half term saw my first visit to the "Sport & Craft" Hotel, it won't be my last. The rooms were basic, comfortable and adequate but this is not a "room experience" hotel. I was staying with my 5 year old son and we spent a week engaged in in pretty much every activity that a 5 year old can cope with, with plenty of swimming and ten pin bowling, walks on the moors and lots and lots of craft.

When I go again I'll endeavor to take another adult so that I can have a rest from the childcare and sample what looked to be an awesome spa complex.

I've been to centre parcs before and on a value for money basis this was miles ahead, full board and generally free activities with small materials charges, a stunning setting and all of the staff were really friendly, helpful and on the ball.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This was our group's third time/visit to the Manor complex. It is such a good venue for a group of friends/family with various interests/activities/sports/hobbies etc. . . There is absolutely everything here to suit everyone. It represents really good value for money.
Unfortunately, the accommodation and general communal areas are very tired. It is surprising there is no on going attempt to improve, update or even decorate. Again we saw no evidence. It is now getting to the stage when visitors will question whether to return, we certainly are. There has been some investment in new facilities like the new hydro spa area which is a great addition.
The food is very good when you take into account the numbers being catered for. One mystery at breakfast is that with so many elderly, the numbers on statins must be significant, yet the only fruit available is tinned grapefruit, the big no no, oh and prunes!!
The staff are all very pleasant and work hard. The clientele it attracts are, in the main, similarly very pleasant and affable, the vast majority enjoying retirement.

As keen golfers, having 6 different 18 hole courses (+ an 18 hole par 3), is a great attraction, however the reality is very different at the time of year we go (March). The managers have only a limited number of courses open, 3 of the 6 while we were there, often mixing and matching to make up the 3x18 holes open. Being built on clay, wet weather creates major problems. The consequences are that everyone is concentrated on these few courses, so waiting at each tee can be a real irritation. This is then exacerbated by no checking, organising, filtering of 'non golfers', so groups of 5 playing together, some playing variations like 'Texas 'Scramble', shouting, etc. . . can make the round very frustrating. So in theory the golf opportunities should be excellent, the reality more often than not can be disappointing. Last year we met with the manager after one particularly frustrating round and expressed the same concerns. Clearly there is no interest in trying to improve the management of the complex.

So, the Manor/Astbury in theory is a wonderful concept, the range of facilities is amazing. In reality it still works and we have a great time, it is just spoilt by under investment in the accommodation and communal areas, and in the case of the golf, very poor management. Such a pity.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have been to the Manor now every year for nearly 19 years, when I say boys weekend I really mean old duffers! we go primarily for the golf and hold a competition over the weekend, this year we visited the newly built Spa and have to say was a very welcome sight for the weary golfers after a hard day golfing! The full 1 hour massage I booked online was excellent too, would recommend and so reasonable at £22.50!!

The food is excellent wholesome food, yes it wouldn't rate on any 4 star hotel but its fresh, plentiful and there is lots to choose from, you always end up putting on pounds after every visit to the Manor!

Every year they seem to add something new, I haven't been with the family yet but intend to now the kids are old enough to enjoy the many facilities they have on offer that are all free!

The only advice I would give is to book your activities as soon as you arrive as they fill up very quickly.

The only downside this year was the service in the restaurant, it was a little slow compared to previous years.

Can't recommend this place enough, hence why we have been going for nearly 20 years!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Staniforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed for 5 days and there was plenty to do as usual. The staff were marvellous, not really fair to pick out a few individuals but perhaps I could mention Gabi, Karen, Carole and Pauline. I had a single room in the original house which is ideal. The golf courses are in very good condition considering the weather. Be warned, this will not suit everyone as the first impressions are of somewhere rather old fashioned. Look again and you will see the sports facilities, brand new spa, great atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowley Cross
8.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,090 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
8.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
415 reviews
12.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: 30 A 386, approximately 2 miles north of the junction with the A, Fowley Cross EX20 4NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Fowley Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House and Ashbury Hotels are situated on the foothills of the Dartmoor National Park in West Devon. Set in over 600 acres of beautiful countryside, we believe the hotels have the highest level of facilities in the UK. With all our breaks exclusively FULL BOARD you are guaranteed great value. Golf is included FREE on 99 holes, giving the option of 7 eighteen hole golf courses which vary in length from Kigbeare at 6528 yards Par 72 to the Willows Par3 course at 1939 yards. Some of the other facilities available FREE of charge to all residents include 8 indoor and 5 outdoor Tennis courts, 13 indoor Bowls rinks, 8 Badminton courts, 3 Swimming pools with spa facilities, 10 lanes of 10 pin bowling, 20 Snooker tables, and Target ranges featuring Archery, Air Pistols and Air Rifles. Our "Fun House" is a fantastic 300 sq metre soft adventure play area set over 3 levels with astra slide, tube slides, ball pool and much more! Our Gameszone offers hours of entertainment for the kids with Xbox / Playstations, pool tables, air hockey, dance stage and more! PLUS 4 FLUME WATER SLIDE COMPLEX! Our unique Craft Centres offer 17 tutored crafts including Pottery, Glass Engraving, Enameling, Hot Press Printing and Woodwork. All of these crafts feature expert tuition with minimal cost prices applied. With the huge choice of sport, craft and leisure facilities available, you will have a truly amazing break that won't be easily forgotten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Fowley Cross
Manor House Hotel Devon/Fowley Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing