We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to moan , stay at home”
Review of Manor House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fowley Cross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Spent a week at The Manor House with three teenagers. Everyone had a great time. The staff are young and from all corners of the planet, all of them (bar one local girl on the hydro spa reception, who could learn a lot from her European colleges ) were friendly , Polite, helpful and made us all feel welcome . Some of the rooms are being decorated and upgraded , but this all takes time and money. A few of the rooms are a bit scruffy , but this won't spoil your holiday . You won't have time to sit in your room criticising the decor . During our stay here we played crazy golf, ten pin bowling, archery, yoga, Pilates , swimming , hydro spa, badminton, deep relaxation class, painted porcelains , made candles , has massages and facials , bought reduced price tickets for The Eden project ++. The food is fine, plentiful and always piping hot , buffet breakfast and lunch with hot and cold choices . Plenty of choice for dinner too We had a coeliac in our party , but this wasn't a problem as every day there are gluten free options.
If you want 5* boutique and cordon bleu menus! If you like moaning and think it's okay to be rude to waiters! then don't go to the Manor House. If you want to have a busy week and try lots of activities you haven't done before, want value for money and a relaxed environment that caters for every generation then I can highly recommend . Mostly everything is included , between four of us we spent under £20 on crafting extras in the whole week

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with a view for a few extra £s . This will be a view of dart moor which is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hedgehog H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Yes it's slightly faded but what do you expect for the money. The key thing is that it is clean and great value for money.
They have to cater for young children, groups of teenagers through to fussy older folk. People who moan are not being realistic, you get what you pay for. The food is plentiful and well cooked but the menu is limited.
We had a 90 year old golfer in our group who loved it ( he could still play to about a 24 handicap).
The range of activities means there is something to suit everyone. It's 2 miles up the road to the golf complex which is well organised too. The courses are interesting but not easy walking. Get a buggy if you are not fit.
I would go again and so would all of our party of 14.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletch350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend as a big group of all ages. Upon arrival it is all extremely dated and rather a odd layout a bit like a rabbit warren. Very basic rooms, bathroom was pretty horrendous and our shower didn't work but non of that mattered as all we did in the room was sleep. The sporting and activity facilities are brilliant. Booking the activities means that although the hotel was busy it never felt like it. We played tennis, football, rifle shooting, archery, swimming, bowling to name a few. The swimming pools are very good especially for young children. The food was really good, I was pleasantly surprised. Always a buffet which had good choice and at dinner you always got two menu opinions as well as vegetarian. There was also plenty of staff on at meal times so never waiting long and food was always very nice! You have to take this hotel as it is what it is, it does need improving but for the activities and sport it's brilliant. A great weekend had by all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knight89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for 5* rooms don't book this hotel. If you want very good sport facilities together with many craft activities, a large pool, hydro spa, steam rooms and sauna and golf courses nearby this is for you. We were a party of 23 and thoroughly enjoyed this place. Everything was included (meals, court hire, craft tuition, equipment hire) except craft consumables and golf buggy hire. Facilities were good quality, much better than our last visit to Center Parcs. Rooms are a bit tired but we came for the sport. Food was fine. Not high end but loads of choice and all good quality. Go as a group, you'll have great fun.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed in the manor house hotel in June 2014. Wouldn't stay here again, needs updating badly, paint peeling off walls. The room we had was very musky damp smell. While eating in the restaurant people would just walk through with cases. Also while you are eating the waiting staff would stand around watching you eat,not very nice. Breakfast was like queuing for a school dinner.probably the same for lunch! Evening meal was waiter service, although you helped yourself to a starter, then the waiter would come up and you would order what you wanted from the menu,which normally consisted of two choices. Vegetarian menu is available. The idea of staying at this hotel is that you have various activities to do. Just a few-: archery,swimming rifle shooting ,pistol shooting, bowls,short mat bowls, target bowls,various Beaty treatments that have to be paid for. But most activities are free. Found most of the staff pleasent, but some we're grumpy.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you are paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank areoengine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our first visit to the Manor House Hotel and we had a great time. The choice of activities on offer is outstanding and almost everything is included in the price.

The room we stayed in was basic but clean and had everything we needed - the view across to Dartmoor was fantastic.

Overall we had a relaxing break and will definitely be visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was my 3rd and my partner's 4th time here. The week after half term it was relatively quiet with a few children about.
As previous guests we knew what to expect. If you want 5* luxury accomodation, room service, opulent surroundings this is not for you. The rooms are 'in need of a bit of tlc' however ours was clean, the beds comfortable and the most powerful shower i've ever encountered.
We upgraded to a A category room in the wing to the right of the main house and had a large room with 1 double and 2 single beds on the ground floor with a view over the moors.
* warning if you are a light sleeper ask for a 1st floor room as its an old building with creaky floorboards.
The food is OK - breakfast gets tiring if there for more than a weekend, but lunches are buffet style with plenty of choice. Dinner was waiter service and was generally very good. The menu lists gluten free options, there are plenty of salads, the desserts are gorgeous and the coffee better than most places (even the decaff).
What the Manor House is really about is the activities: in a week we did pottery making and painting, woodwork, patchwork, t-shirt painting, sketching and painting, candlemaking - and there are at least as many activities we didn't do. All the craft centre staff are friendly,helpful and patient but special mention for Katy, Mike and Darren. Most activities cost less than £5 and thats for the materials used.
There are no charges for the sport activities such as archery or tennis and equiptment can be loaned on a returnable deposit. There is a general lounge area and also an area showing TV sports coverage. Wi fi is free but only accessible in the reception and bar areas.

As well as all the sports on offer - if you do want a piece of 5* luxury is the new hydro spa. Although you have to book a session you can use this time flexibly. The facilities are excellent and the hydropools are great for aching joints. Also had a beauty treatment at a reasonable cost from very professional staff (Natalia)
This hotel is unique - a great place for the family with so many varied activities but also a haven for golf widows.
We will be returning.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can have creaky ceilings. If any mobility problems ask for a ground floor room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cannie-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowley Cross
8.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,130 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,397 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
6.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: 30 A 386, approximately 2 miles north of the junction with the A, Fowley Cross EX20 4NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Fowley Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Fowley Cross
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House and Ashbury Hotels are situated on the foothills of the Dartmoor National Park in West Devon. Set in over 600 acres of beautiful countryside, we believe the hotels have the highest level of facilities in the UK. With all our breaks exclusively FULL BOARD you are guaranteed great value. Golf is included FREE on 99 holes, giving the option of 7 eighteen hole golf courses which vary in length from Kigbeare at 6528 yards Par 72 to the Willows Par3 course at 1939 yards. Some of the other facilities available FREE of charge to all residents include 8 indoor and 5 outdoor Tennis courts, 13 indoor Bowls rinks, 8 Badminton courts, 3 Swimming pools with spa facilities, 10 lanes of 10 pin bowling, 20 Snooker tables, and Target ranges featuring Archery, Air Pistols and Air Rifles. Our "Fun House" is a fantastic 300 sq metre soft adventure play area set over 3 levels with astra slide, tube slides, ball pool and much more! Our Gameszone offers hours of entertainment for the kids with Xbox / Playstations, pool tables, air hockey, dance stage and more! PLUS 4 FLUME WATER SLIDE COMPLEX! Our unique Craft Centres offer 17 tutored crafts including Pottery, Glass Engraving, Enameling, Hot Press Printing and Woodwork. All of these crafts feature expert tuition with minimal cost prices applied. With the huge choice of sport, craft and leisure facilities available, you will have a truly amazing break that won't be easily forgotten. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Fowley Cross
Manor House Hotel Devon/Fowley Cross

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing