We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning hotel and relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Goveton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsbridge
1 review
“A stunning hotel and relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Myself and my husband were bought a stay as a wedding present and what a fantastic present it was!
we were greated by a lovely receptionist who couldnt of been more friendly, and helpful who clearly values getting to know each guest, taking time to chat to us about our day, were we had travelled from - a personal touch that u often dont get from large hotels.
We were asked what time we would like to dine and being a little indecisive she was very helpful in booking us a time and suggesting drinks in the bar before dinner.
Time was taken to show us to our room which was fab!
We stayed in Gardenia which was a suite, with a large bathroom, dressing room area and spacious room with kingsize bed and seating area! We couldnt of been more pleased! it was clean and comfortable but also felt homely and welcoming.
Before dinner we sat in the bar and were presented with nibbles to enjoy prior to dinner, before after enjoying drinks being shown to our table in the resturant. All the waiters/waitresses were fab and friendly and the resturant manager went out of his way to be helpful, was friendly and approachable.
A fantastic 3 course meal was consumed which was amazing and couldnt of been faulted! Before retiring to the bar for after dinner drinks!
it certainly felt that throughout the evening the staff were really looking after us and they couldnt of been nicer or more helpful.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious and freshly cooked to order - something that is often lacking in larger chains, as a result you got the perfect amount of cooked breakfast without the added grease and overcookedness you can get from a buffet.

All in all this was a fantastic stay and i couldnt recommend it higher, even though we are a young couple we did not feel out of place or unwelcome and will certainly be recommending this hotel and returning for dinner again soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariewatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    108
    45
    19
    5
See reviews for
66
345
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2011

On arrival in a somewhat fraught state due to my inept map reading, we were made to feel very welcome, checked in quickly and efficiently and shown to our room to relax and recuperate before dinner. Having initially booked on a cut price offer, we upgraded our room for a small extra fee following a pre-arrival phone call from the hotel. The room was spacIous and comfortable with the usual amenities.
Dinner was excellent, right from drinks beside the log fire, when the waiter took the trouble to locate a certain local beer, to the three course meal in the pine panelled dinning room. Being half full, the atmosphere was pleasantly relaxed, and both the food and service were extremely good.
On casually inquiring about weddings, a comprehensive guided tour of function facilities was quite spontaneously provided by an enthusiastic member of staff who confessed that she really enjoyed working there.
The surroundings and views are scenic Devonshire countryside, as are the approaches to the hotel. On recommending the Buckland Tout-Saints I would also recommend an up to date map or sat.nav. or obtain detailed instructions from the hotel, as the simple brochure directions are inadequate in the dark if sign posts are missing.
Quiet, secluded and comfortable, without being stuffy. Good food and good staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WFH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We took an Xmas break and despite the snowy route in the team at the hotel excelled themselves in all aspects - well done especially the 4WD team!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romantic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonning-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Have a wonderful new years eve celebration at the hotel. Staff great and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. Great hospitality and a great hotel in beautiful part of Devon ! Will certainly visit again.
A&C ,Sonning, Berks.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanandcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We had previously visited the Hotel in September with friends for a celebration Birthday and had enjoyed our weekend very much. We were thrilled to be able to book the New Year's Eve package before we left, as the available rooms were rapidly being snapped up and we didn't want to risk missing out.

We were not disappointed - from the moment we arrived (to a very warm welcome back from the staff) to the moment we reluctanly left we had a superb time. We came with the same friends as before who were equally impressed. This time instead of traditional rooms we were booked into two of the contemporary bedrooms - both were delightful, well equipped, comfortable and spacious and with beautiful views across the Hotel grounds and the valley beyond. The Hotel was beautifully decorated which added to the warm and welcoming ambience.

Guests gathered together before dinner in the lounge in front of a glorious log fire to be regaled with canapés and champagne cocktails. What a perfect excuse for the gentlemen to look resplendant in their dinner suits and for the ladies to dress to impress. We were indiviudally greeted and led to our tables ready for a gastronomic experience. Again, we were not disappointed, the 5 course meal with specially selected wines to accompany each course was everything we could have wished for.

After dinner we joined the non-resident guests in the Kestral Suite for coffee and petit fours (this room also beautifully decorated and provided party hats, balloons and party poppers on each table). A live band (The Penguins) provided excellent music for dancing throughout the evening. As midnight approached yet more champagne was served and following a spirited rendition of Auld Lang Syne the guests poured outside to cool off and watch the spectacular fireworks.

After a good night's sleep, we had a sustaining late breakfast before heading out to work up an appetite for dinner by exploring more of the lovely South Hams countryside. Although somewhat overcast and the air rather bracing, we enjoyed visiting Salcombe and then walking the coastal path at Prawle Point. We eventually arrived back at the Hotel feeling quite justified in indulging ourselves with a cream tea.

A more informal dinner in the evening was just as good as the previous night's meal. Definitely compliments to the chef.

We were hoping to be snowed in so we could extend our visit but sadly, although cold, grey and damp the weather the next morning wasn't bad enough that we couldn't leave after yet another excellent breakfast.

All in all, a wonderful experience and excellent value for money (especially at this time of year) - £249 per head for 2 nights en-suite bed and breakfast, 2 fabulous dinners (one with wine), champagne cocktails & canapés, champagne for the toast, dancing and fireworks and afternoon tea.

Grateful thanks to all the staff for all their hard work to give us a lovely weekend, and one of the best New Year's that we have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muskyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Our first visit and would not hesitate to return or to recommend to friends. The friendly but professional staff could not do enough for us, furnishings very comortable and the quality of the food second to none.
Robert and Jill.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I booked this hotel as a last minute present for my husband and they allowed dogs. I was surprised that they didn't charge to take dogs and that sealed the deal for me. Only paid £100 for a one night stay inc 2 course dinner and breakfast for 2, and this was on the 28th Dec.
The staff were excellent, really friendly and welcoming. The room that we were allocated had a bathroom with a low ceiling approx 6ft, my husband is 6ft3", but the reception staff upgraded us to a suite, which was amazing!
The evening meal was delightful and I was too full to have the desert! Breakfast the next morning was cooked to order and I have to say that the scrabbled eggs and bacon was the best I have ever had!
I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieandAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goveton
4.7 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
571 reviews
6.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
840 reviews
8.7 mi away
Plantation House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel

Property: Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel
Address: Kingsbridge, Goveton TQ7 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Goveton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Goveton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Devon's South Hams, Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel is a beautiful 16th century manor house set in 4.5 acres of gardens. A secluded location for a relaxing getaway, guests will experience traditional yet stylish accommodation with a touch of classical elegance. Seasonal, local cuisine can be enjoyed in either the award winning Queen Anne restaurant, or al fresco on our gorgeous south facing terrace! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckland Tout Saints Goveton
Buckland Tout-Saints Hotel Devon/Goveton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing