We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland and old fashioned”

Fairwater Head Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Hawkchurch
Price range: US$32 - US$45
Cuisines: British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Set on the outskirts of Hawkchurch village with outstanding views over the Axe Valley. Our restaurant uses locally sourced produce, using Devon and Dorset’s finest ingredients cooked by our award winning team. Brazzerie dining 7 nights a week with an extensive wine list of global wines. Ideal for a romantic meal for two as well as family gatherings or larger parties and functions. Chef can adapt the menu for any dietary requirements and can provide bespoke packages for Weddings and functions. Popular for our Sunday Carvery served from 12:00 to 2:00pm weekly with a choice or 2-3 meats as well as vegetarian and fish options. We are consistently awarded one AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bland and old fashioned”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We went for the carvery Sunday lunch having seen the rave reviews. The food was OK, nothing special though. A friendly welcome as we were ushered into the (expensive) bar but we were asked to stay in the bar area even though our reserved time had passed and most tables were set ready for lunch. It felt like unnecessary over-formality. The dining room was so quiet you felt you had to whisper. A pretty charmless beige room. Nice views though and our children enjoyed bouncing on the trampoline in the garden. Evidently popular with some but not our cup of tea.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyRichardLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We went to the Fairwater Head Hotel for Sunday lunch as part of a special birthday celebration. The hotel is set in a beautiful location with views over beautiful scenery.

The staff were courteous and attentive, and the food was extremely good. In all in all it was a fantastic dining experience, and we would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BattyBat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cosy setting with a grand view”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were driving back to our accommodation at the Dorset Hut and saw the sign to the restaurant at Hawkchurch. We called in to check out the menu and found a number of items that took our fancy so decided to return that evening.
Although we weren't guests, we were made to feel most welcome by reception and made our booking.
It was a very quiet Monday night but we still had attentive service from Chris Gee. The welcoming feeling extended throughout the meal, which was delicious and well prepared.
It was vey relaxing to wait in the lounge area with a dink in hand while the chef prepared the first course.
We then moved to our table, with a great view of the Dorset countryside, including sheep in the fields.
First course was a hearty leek and potato soup. for the main course, my fish was perfectly cooked as was my husband's chicken. The desserts finished us off - hardly any room for coffee!
A lovely dining experience all round.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quality Food”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The general quality of the food was excellent. My husband's steak was slightly over-cooked but he didn't complain as the meat was superb. I had fish - also excellent. Granny Gothards ice cream was amazing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geri711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Conundrum”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Wonderful food in a fabulous location. Slightly Fawlty Towers but well worth a visit. Forgive a little and love a lot

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairwater Head Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Axminster, Devon
Axminster, Devon
 

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing