We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairwater Head Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kerrington House(Axminster)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Inn(Chardstock)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
145
80
34
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
80
34
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslyme registhe main houseeast devondog treatscommon areasthis lovely hotelcountry housebed was very comfortablepeaceful locationbiscuitsstandard roomshort breakbreakfast was excellentcooked breakfastdogscountrysideadam
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We were booked for one night in November. Having travelled for 4 hours we were rather tired, however we arrived 3 hours earlier than planned. I was worried we would be turned away as we were so early but I need not have been as we were welcomed and briefly shown the facilities. We were then shown to our room which wasn't in the main building, rather the 'garden' accommodation which did remind me a little of a scout hut or village hall upon entry, which also had a musty smell. However upon entry to the room we were left to our own devices. The room was adequate and comprised of the usual facilities, however the paper bath mat had little to be desired. The view of the garden was nice and we werent overlooked. I think the Walls were very thin as I could hear someone snoring in another room. The night in all cost £75, I would have said £65 would have been more reasonable as it wasn't the best nights sleep I've ever had but it was adequate. Finally, the location is very remote so be prepared to pay a substantial amount in taxis if you want to go anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Arriving stressed and through the fog I was immediately made to feel welcome. How often do hotel owners take you to your room these days and provide doggie snacks?
The food was lovely although a wider vegetarian choice would be appropriate for a longer stay.
The staff and resident dogs are friendly and welcoming. The hotel comfortable and warm.
There are lots of walking opportunities in the village and plenty of dog friendly places to visit nearby.
Will certainly return. Whole heartedly recommended.

Room Tip: East Wing room had step in showers and only one or two steps from the lounge so would be ideal for the less mobile
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewForestHk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Booked this hotel as described as dog friendly. Arrived Friday night after 2 hour drive, and asked to eat in the bar, as obviously you can't take dogs in the restaurant. This wasn't possible as they were far too busy in the restaurant! Which by the way the bar is next to!!!! Said we would eat out and were told OK! Following morning at breakfast, same gentleman serving (apparently the owner), we asked again could we eat in the bar in the evening -more time to plan. Were told we could, but they may not be able to bee attentive, and we might have to bear with them etc. File this one under difficult then. Chose not to, as not really made to feel welcome, again ate out, found very dog friendly pubs - The Hunters Inn and The Old Boot. (Dog is wll behaved, well trained Viszla, who just lies at your feet!).
This hotel could be fantastic, pleasant rooms, clean, and functional, apart from the paper bath mats - very poor!! Breakfast, whilst cooked fresh was 1 sausage, 1 piece overcooked bacon, 2 mushrooms - quartered to look more, small piece of black pudding. plentiful toast. Never asked whether we wanted more toast or tea/coffee.
Overall, given its location, setting, and some of the quality touches, this could be a great place for couples or families. Not really that dog friendly, breakfast could be improved, and given that we had to eat out both nights, I know it was our choice to take the dog, but happy to eat in the bar, where dogs are allowed! They lost out on over £150 of additional revenue, for dinner and wine 2 nights.
Still they make up for it in the overall price £250 for 2 nights incl small breakfast.
Overall disappointing, and on checkout, it turns out the gentleman making the decisions is the owner.

Room Tip: Garden rooks wee good and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWHH, Owner at Fairwater Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you for the feedback which is always much appreciated. We listen to guest comments and act upon them. For example we introduced the paper bath mats for environmental reasons after a number of comments from guests. However these have not proved to be popular and we are in the process of reverting back to high quality traditional bath mats ready for 2012.

However there are some discrepancies in this guests report. The gentleman in question asked our restaurant manager if he could take his dog into our restaurant. We could not agree to this for health and safety reasons as well as causing possible issues with the 24 diners already booked in that evening. He then asked our restaurant manager if he could eat in our bar area. Our bar tables are small and round so they are unsuitable for full service dining while our chairs are the low casual type, which would have made eating there very difficult (it should be noted that we are now looking to add a lower table and higher chairs in the bar area in case this situation arises again). In the end our restaurant manager promised he would make sure the issues were resolved for the following evening and the guest booked dinner with us on the that evening.
We the set up our private dining room at no extra cost with a fully laid up table. The dog was allowed into this room so the problem was solved. In fact the guest failed to use his restaurant booking calling in to cancel after the table was prepared.
Moving onto the points made about the breakfast these have been noted. This is the first complaint we have received about our full breakfasts which can contain up to eight items. However we will look at this again.
Lastly he seems confused about who was on the reception during his visit. In fact we have never met and I was not working on our reception during his visit.
Adam Southwell
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the food! Surprisingly good for a very small hotel - the chef is apparently French, which may explain it. They didn't change the menus between Friday and Saturday night, which we thought was a little strange, but there was plenty of choice and we couldn't fault the food. Beautifully cooked and piping hot.
Unlike others who've reviewed this hotel, we WERE offered help in carrying our bags. This hotel also accepts dogs by the way (but they're not allowed in the dining room).
Agree that the paper bath mats are a bit 'naff' - as are the menus in plastic stands. It wouldn't take much to give a more classy feel to the experience, by printing out menus on thick paper and by having proper bath mats, but that's only a small niggle.
Very friendly staff, a comfortable, large room and all very clean. I can recommend this hotel if you're looking for a base for a holiday in near Lyme Regis and you enjoy your food!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

we booked a room through late rooms for 3 nights .we stayed in the garden wing. rooms were
spacious and clean and the decor was to a high standard.the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly the owner adam was very much hands on with his guests .i will go again and would recommend this hotel to others

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews