We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had a lovely couple of days here. Staff all were really great and looked after us very well. It is in a very peaceful location with some great views over the valley. We felt the opposite to a previous reviewer moaning about mobile phones. It made a pleasant change not to have someone on the next table talking loudly into their mobile the whole time.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel8304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    77
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
25
176
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Have stayed at the Fairwaterhead on a number of occasions - always found a warm welcome. Agree with other reviews that the best rooms are to be found in the main building - never had a problem with the menu - plenty of choice. The staff have always been friendly and attentive and we have enjoyed our stays there. The view from the hotel across the Axe valley is wonderful all the more so with a setting sun. This a good quality hotel within its price band and represents value for money

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike47716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location with nice views. There are nice places to see but I found it being run like a military camp. No phones allowed while having meals in the dinning rooms, I did not see a tv in the bar to catch up with sports and the wifi only works when you are in the lobby, no where else and not in your room.
We had the cottage rooms that were mouldy and made us sick.
They have a four star restaurant but we never had anything to eat there as we thought it would be expensive.
Odd stay though as I felt I was the student and the hotel owner the headmaster...for something I am paying, that was strange.

Room Tip: Avoid cottage rooms as they have mould and you will get sick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darksideforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My husband, cocker spaniel Poppy and I stayed for one night at the Fairwater Head Hotel as we were going to a funeral the next day. We were a bit apprehensive as we had never taken Poppy to a hotel before. I have to say we needn't have worried. As soon as we saw the complementary bag of dog biscuits tie up with ribbon in our room we knew it would be OKI. We had a room in the main house with a four poster bed and jacuzzi bath! The staff were courteous throughout our stay and food was amazing. Views were to die for. We will certainly recommend this hotel to our friends and stay there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhamillBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

From the moment we arrived the hosts were very welcoming and friendly. The room was very comfortable and clean with ample supplies of hot drinks avaiable. The hotel was very well decorated and pleasant to socialise in. We had an evening meal which was really nice and excellent value. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall we had a very pleasnt two night stay and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r9mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed in the Garden Wing for one night bed only. Garden Wing, is a single storey annex built in the 70s and still has the bathrooms to prove it. The bed was firm and clean, and the staff were courteous. It is in a lovely quite/remote location. I can't comment on the food as we booked room only. The room had coffee/tea making facilities and they did offer fresh milk, which we needed to get from reception.
Unfortunately this place needs a lot of money spent on it to before I would stay there again. The duvet had a hole in the middle, the shower curtain had mould stains, there were two Gilchrist and Soames shampoo bottles screwed to the wall, one had been crossed out and handwritten over with 'shower gel'.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stayathomeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaminster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Had lunch at the hotel last Friday and met Ann Widdecombe which was a surprise. Wonderful meal. The pork for the main course was excellent and the choice of cheese after this was mouthwatering. The staff couldnt have been more helpful as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
6.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
14.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Property: Fairwater Head Hotel
Address: Hawkchurch | near Axminister, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwater Head Hotel Hawkchurch, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing