We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay, Very Dog Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October and took our dog with us. He enjoyed the complimentary dog treats left in the room, and it was very helpful to be provided with a list of walks and dog-friendly pubs. We even had a private table set up away from the restaurant for our breakfast so that our dog could join us.
We stayed in the garden wing, which had fantastic views across the countryside. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a beauty therapist available for mobile treatments, I had a facial which was very relaxing. Overall we had a lovely, relaxing stay.

We didn't have lunch or evening meals there, mainly because we weren't sure whether they could cater for me as I'm a vegan. On their website it clearly states that they are very happy to cater for special diets with notice, however when I enquired when booking I was told that it might be a bit tricky, so I decided not to take the risk!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

A lovely peaceful hotel in a beautiful country setting with excellent food and a fabulous view over the Axe valley. We spent two nights here and wish it had been longer. Our Garden room was in a separate block a few steps from the main house, and was stylishly decorated and very comfortable with a lovely outlook. The bathroom was well designed and very clean, and a small sign told us it would be refurbished as part of the hotel's on-going improvements. The friendly and cheerful staff are all excellent, especially the charming receptionist. The restaurant has gorgeous views and even better food, great breakfasts and superb dinners. There's a pretty garden to sit or walk in, full of flowers, which must be a beautiful background for weddings. We really enjoyed staying here and look forward to returning. A real find!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldberryBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have just spent a 3 day break here over the Christmas period and it was delightful. The Hotel is situated in peaceful surroundings overlooking the valley. The Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them and they always had a smile. The rooms were very comfortable and the Hotel was dressed for Christmas with a real log fire and large Christmas tree in the Hall. The food was excellent with a varied menu and we would not hesitate coming here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We spent two nights recently in this secluded venue surrounded by beautiful East Devon countryside.Adam gave us a warm welcome and was most amenable after a horrendous journey delayed by traffic jams.Our room was really comfortable with pleasant views and we loved the real log fires burning cheerfully in the downstairs lounge.There was an excellent choice of food on the menus and the service was always friendly and first rate .We have already recommended this place to a number of friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

accomodation first class, the Fairwaterhead hotel is warm and friendly and is in a lovely setting.
I am surprised it only has 3 stars, I would have thought that it should be at least a 4 star.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had a lovely couple of days here. Staff all were really great and looked after us very well. It is in a very peaceful location with some great views over the valley. We felt the opposite to a previous reviewer moaning about mobile phones. It made a pleasant change not to have someone on the next table talking loudly into their mobile the whole time.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel8304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Have stayed at the Fairwaterhead on a number of occasions - always found a warm welcome. Agree with other reviews that the best rooms are to be found in the main building - never had a problem with the menu - plenty of choice. The staff have always been friendly and attentive and we have enjoyed our stays there. The view from the hotel across the Axe valley is wonderful all the more so with a setting sun. This a good quality hotel within its price band and represents value for money

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike47716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
7.4 mi away
Swallows Eaves Hotel
Swallows Eaves Hotel
#1 of 1 in Colyford
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Devon's Duck n Dane B&B
Devon's Duck n Dane B&B
#4 of 5 in Hawkchurch
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawkchurch Resort & Spa
Hawkchurch Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hawkchurch
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Inn Hawkchurch
The Old Inn Hawkchurch
#2 of 5 in Hawkchurch
62 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Address: Hawkchurch | near Axminister, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range: £95 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwater Head Hotel Hawkchurch, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing