We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food excellent but very slow evening service. Bad condensation in room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The 2 ladies covering reception could not have done been more helpful, although the offer of a pot of tea or coffee on arrival would have added to their great customer service. The waitresses were also very polite, friendly and efficient.
I stayed with my husband in the East Wing's room 12 for 2 nights, on a great value Groupon deal for £99 in early spring 2013 The room had a lovely view of the garden and beautiful surrounding countryside.
The weather was very cold and the room's heating was inadequate - luckily I had a hot water bottle with me. Bad condensation formed on the bedroom and bathroom windows, and also on the bathroom tiles, as our time spent in the room that day went on.
The headwaiter/head barman, Chris, was v polite and chatty, but I felt he was arrogant at times, similar to the owner, Adam. The evening restaurant service was very slow; it was as if there was not enough staff in the kitchen to help the chef.
The meal was the best thing about the break; I had not tasted food this good for 20 years, although it was quite expensive. Also, we got a free 1/2 bottle of house wine with the Groupon deal, if 2 courses each were ordered.
The hotel also has gluten-free bread and you can also ask the chef to do a gluten-free option to the meals, if available. Soya milk is also available at all meals. Their dietary options need to be pre-ordered to guarantee availability.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms at the far end of the East Wing, on both floors. They sound proofing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetBrucieBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWHH, Owner at Fairwater Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2013

Our chef is always happy where possible to adjust our menu to cater for dietary needs and we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. We promote a very relaxed atmosphere at the hotel and that includes allowing guests to take their time when dining in the restaurant and why we only have one sitting. Although there may have been an impression of being understaffed there are members of staff behind the scenes which the guests do not necessarily see and our staffing levels are adjusted to easily manage the numbers of guests.

We apologise for the condensation in the room, however the weather was extremely cold and we feel the effect of the blow heater being used without ventilation, naturally caused the condensation. When the rooms are unoccupied we keep a window slightly open in the bedrooms which helps ventilate the airflow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid June last year on a weeks break down in Cornwall, this hotel allowed us to stop mid point.

As we walked in we were welcomed by a warming crackling fire and the cutest little dog. The owner showed us to the room which was much bigger than we were expecting. The bed was unbelievably comfortable, something that so many hotels strangely overlook.

We had our first meal in the hotel restaurant which was very nice and a perfect end to our long drive down. Breakfast in the morning was a buffet with the options of full english to a more continental croissants and pan au chocolat. Both were very nice.

On our second night we wanted to explore a bit more and the owner suggested an Indian restaurant in nearby Axminster, which we both agreed put a lot of Birmingham establishments to shame!

When we got back we asked whether the kitchen was still open and the owner arranged for the chef to make us two sticky toffee puddings and I can say without doubt that they were the best puddings we had ever had!

All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and somewhere we have recommended to our friends and family.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank PhilJ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in October and took our dog with us. He enjoyed the complimentary dog treats left in the room, and it was very helpful to be provided with a list of walks and dog-friendly pubs. We even had a private table set up away from the restaurant for our breakfast so that our dog could join us.
We stayed in the garden wing, which had fantastic views across the countryside. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a beauty therapist available for mobile treatments, I had a facial which was very relaxing. Overall we had a lovely, relaxing stay.

We didn't have lunch or evening meals there, mainly because we weren't sure whether they could cater for me as I'm a vegan. On their website it clearly states that they are very happy to cater for special diets with notice, however when I enquired when booking I was told that it might be a bit tricky, so I decided not to take the risk!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

A lovely peaceful hotel in a beautiful country setting with excellent food and a fabulous view over the Axe valley. We spent two nights here and wish it had been longer. Our Garden room was in a separate block a few steps from the main house, and was stylishly decorated and very comfortable with a lovely outlook. The bathroom was well designed and very clean, and a small sign told us it would be refurbished as part of the hotel's on-going improvements. The friendly and cheerful staff are all excellent, especially the charming receptionist. The restaurant has gorgeous views and even better food, great breakfasts and superb dinners. There's a pretty garden to sit or walk in, full of flowers, which must be a beautiful background for weddings. We really enjoyed staying here and look forward to returning. A real find!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldberryBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We have just spent a 3 day break here over the Christmas period and it was delightful. The Hotel is situated in peaceful surroundings overlooking the valley. The Staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble for them and they always had a smile. The rooms were very comfortable and the Hotel was dressed for Christmas with a real log fire and large Christmas tree in the Hall. The food was excellent with a varied menu and we would not hesitate coming here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We spent two nights recently in this secluded venue surrounded by beautiful East Devon countryside.Adam gave us a warm welcome and was most amenable after a horrendous journey delayed by traffic jams.Our room was really comfortable with pleasant views and we loved the real log fires burning cheerfully in the downstairs lounge.There was an excellent choice of food on the menus and the service was always friendly and first rate .We have already recommended this place to a number of friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

accomodation first class, the Fairwaterhead hotel is warm and friendly and is in a lovely setting.
I am surprised it only has 3 stars, I would have thought that it should be at least a 4 star.
We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
3.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
259 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
445 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
167 reviews
15.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#12 of 45 in Lyme Regis
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Address: Hawkchurch | near Axminister, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range: £87 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwater Head Hotel Hawkchurch, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing