We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairwater Head Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$181
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
140
80
34
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
80
34
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslyme registhe main houseeast devondog treatscommon areasthis lovely hotelcountry housebed was very comfortablepeaceful locationbiscuitsstandard roomshort breakbreakfast was excellentcooked breakfastdogscountrysideadam
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The latest of many visits over the years. Unpretentious and very friendly hotel with clean and comfortable rooms, good - and often excellent - food, relaxing garden and splendid rural views. Close to the Jurassic Coast and in an interesting part of the country. Oh, and nice dogs...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rburnsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is the best hotel so far, lovley spot in the country side but still close to the coast. Big bright clean room, massive comfy bed.Beautiful hotel really nice staff good breakfast - yes you get what you pay for on this one. If i had to be picky i would say the water pressure for the shower was a bit low - all in all out wayed by the beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was a lovely little hotel, set in glorious countryside and with fabulous views. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was very pleasant and had a great en suite with shower and jacuzzi bath. When one has a good meal, you have lovely lingering flavours, even when the meal Has finished. This was not the case. The evening meal was pleasant enough, but not different, tasty or special enough to warrant the price. The jus had little flavour. Like many other reviewers we also felt that the food was overpriced. However, the overall experience was so pleasant that we had thought about returning again ... until we went for breakfast. This was expensive at £12.50 pp., but the menu on the Internet had looked good. The breakfast had been prepared buffet style. The usual practice is to provide a choice of eggs, cooked freshly. However, in this case there was only scrambled eggs. This concoction was very sloppy with little or no taste. We both left most of ours on the plate. (As did others sitting at a table near us) Had it perhaps been made earlier with a great deal of milk, so that it withstood the test of time under the lights and heat? Bacon was tasty, sausages average and no black pudding as advertised. It felt as if the chef had prepared the breakfast early and it had been made to last for the whole session. It was such a let down. Potentially this is a super place. Sort out the quality, taste, and pricing of the menu and we would return!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed for two nights and found the hotel to have a warm, welcoming atmosphere. We had a room in the main house and it was lovely - large comfortable bed and beautifully furnished. The food was good - not excellent - for the price and the service was friendly.

The only downside was the water pressure in the shower - there were clear instructions about how to get the shower to run warm, but even then it was disappointing to have such low pressure.

Overall, a lovely location, very friendly welcome and decent food. If this place called itself a boutique hotel it would have charged double and been a total disappointment... as it is, it's good value for money and in a lovely spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and cannot comment on the other rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelo230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We received a token from friends for a meal and in the accompanying literature were the details of this hotel. The Hotel is beautifully situated ( the main house appears in the literature but there are also annexes of 1980's origin) and seems to be surrounded by gardens. A well positioned terrace faces south west.

We were received by Chris, who seems to do everything - reception, Bar Manager, Waiter etc. Our room was in the main building and had everything one needs. A Kingsize bed (very comfortable), a couple of arm chairs, tea and coffee making materials and a large bathroom. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space in the bedroom and shelf space in the bathroom.

Everything was clean and in good order, if a little old-fashioned.

Downstairs there is a large Restaurant and Bar, pleasantly furnished in a simple and modern style.

Our Dinner was chosen from the Brasserie Menu which had around half a dozen starters and a similar number of mains.

The food was well cooked and equally well presented. Our Starters were simple and very tasty. My wife's Bream was excellent and my chicken was, probably the best I have had in years. My English Breakfast was just as good and, I think, freshly cooked to order. My wife enjoyed hers although she was disappointed that there was no peeled fruit (the fresh fruit, wasn't).

The staff were uniformly cheerful, polite and caring and the owners clearly care. Would I go again? Definitely, although it would help if breakfast, for those who don't want a hot meal, were reviewed.

If you want a quiet hotel for a break it is a very good choice.

Room Tip: Ours was in the main House and had beautiful views. I can't comment on the others.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon_Laddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews