We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I do not like to be negative about this hotel as the service and food were excellent but the room we were given at £150 for the night was a real disappointment. It was on the ground floor in the extension part of the hotel, you expect a bit of luxury for this amount of money but there was none. The bathroom was awful and to be honest I would not use the shower, there was no fan in the bathroom and no windows in there, the toilet bowl was dirty and stained. The room itself was quite basic and you could hear everyone in the surrounding rooms moving around. The owner was on reception and the matter of the bathroom was brought up when he asked if we had enjoyed our stay, he was rude and actually walked off when confronted with our issues. He said he couldn't be everywhere!!! Would not return with an attitude like his.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWHH, Owner at Fairwater Head Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I am sorry to hear you did not feel your room was value for money. The East Wing rooms have been fully refurbished although I appreciate due to constant use there may be some maintenance issues or decor which need addressing periodically. Having inspected your room following the note housekeeping found left in there I did arrange for maintenance to renew the grouting & mastic in the shower and also carried out some painting in the bathroom. There is an extraction system built into the bathrooms due to some of them not having windows. We are in a hard water area and are therefore affected with limescale which we treat in an environmentally friendly way with fruit acid based cleaners. I appreciate this may not remove the limescale as well as heavy duty chemicals however the toilets are cleaned daily and any staining is from hard water.
I was surprised by your feedback about me, the owner, walking off when confronted with these issues as I was on Reception and can clearly recall asking you if you had enjoyed your stay and thanking you for the feedback about the bathroom, as it is impossible for us to identify all issues as we cannot be everywhere at once. I apologise if you misinterpreted the context of the reply as it certainly was not intended in the manner in which you have implied. We ask all our guests for feedback on departing as we genuinely appreciate them taking time to speak to use in person about any issues and preferably at the time the issue occurs, so we are given the opportunity to rectify it immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    77
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
25
178
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was booked into the hotel for 4 days, mid week this month as it had been recommended by River cottage where I was attending a cooking course, (that was fab by the way). Unfortunately my experience and all the groups experience was not the same as the cooking course. The hotel looks lovely in the photo's, on arrival it doesn't look too bad as its set in nice grounds and once upon a time would have been a lovely place. A very typical early 70's extension has been added on for extra rooms. I was staying in one of these rooms which was overbearing in the heat even with all the windows open. The decor was very poor and dated and the shower was a joke.

The experience though was made far worse by the hotel owner, I have never met such an arrogant attitude in the hospitality industry before. We were all made to feel like some sort of inconvenience, (maybe because e were all full of food and not dining at the end of the day), however we all liked to have a few drinks in the evening. This turned out to be a chore for the owner as he huffed and puffed about getting ice for a g&t, nobody ever came to see if you would like another drink and as it was only him managing reception and the bar, standing at the bar was
quite futile.

We took our business elsewhere, the local pub in Hawkchurch was much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bat94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FWHH, Owner at Fairwater Head Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As a small country house hotel we have little requirement for air conditioning and it was some of the hottest days for year during your stay, however a small fan is provided in every bedroom. The East Wing has been completely refurbished over the past five years and has been decorated in keeping with the style and location of the hotel.
We have been working with River Cottage for over 6 years now and have accommodated guests for 13 cookery courses totalling approx. 100 bookings, which excludes the many guests who book directly to attend their one day course or gourmet evenings.
I am sorry if you felt the service was not up to your requirements but at quiet times of day particularly between 2pm and 6pm, one member of staff is sufficient to manage both Reception and the bar. The feedback from other guests staying on the recent course was very positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk united kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

great place to stay with dogs, great breakfast comfortable room,dinners also very good would stay again. staff and owner very helpful, difficult to find and down some narrow lanes. dog loved the gardens and owners dogs friendly great views from the garden

Room Tip: garden rooms very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjohn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and i stayed here for one night as we were returning home after some buisness.We found the hotel very nice indeed although a bit out in the sticks.Rooms were very good and the food was good to, only draw back was no draft beer, but thats a small point.Over all a very good hotel with good service.The could do with more staff in the evenings as the restaurant manager was doing everything the night we arrived ,otherwise very good indeed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBulls008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I recently stayed at this excellent hotel and would recommend it to everybody. The rooms were beautifully clean and well appointed. The food was brilliant and the welcome warm and friendly. There were even complementary dog biscuits for Boris, my dog who loved the beautiful gardens and I loved the views. I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The latest of many visits over the years. Unpretentious and very friendly hotel with clean and comfortable rooms, good - and often excellent - food, relaxing garden and splendid rural views. Close to the Jurassic Coast and in an interesting part of the country. Oh, and nice dogs...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rburnsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is the best hotel so far, lovley spot in the country side but still close to the coast. Big bright clean room, massive comfy bed.Beautiful hotel really nice staff good breakfast - yes you get what you pay for on this one. If i had to be picky i would say the water pressure for the shower was a bit low - all in all out wayed by the beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
6.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
237 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
424 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Property: Fairwater Head Hotel
Address: Hawkchurch | near Axminister, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwater Head Hotel Hawkchurch, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing