We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, peaceful, lovely food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, peaceful, lovely food.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a standard room but there was plenty of room but very plain, however. everything was spotless. The food in the restaurant and the breakfasts were excellent. The views from the restaurant, bar and terrace were lovely.

Room Tip: Unfortunately Wifi was only available in public areas, would be lots better if it was available in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan528783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    77
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
25
176
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a family lunchtime meal (12 in total) on Sunday 27th July followed by coffee on the patio outside overlooking the beautiful scenery and the setting, attention to detail, service and quality of food could not have been better.

Jeff H

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent 2 nights here in July 2014. We were made to feel very welcome. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. The views are beautiful. Our dog was made to feel very welcome too and made friends with Mocha one of the resident dogs.
The meals were excellent and the location made a great base for travelling around the local area. Friendly and knowledgeable staff who make the time to recommend areas to visit that will be of interest.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, with or without pets travelling with them. I'm confident we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house. It could be a little noisy during the day as voices from reception carr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thew0rldandbey0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a delightfully secluded Hotel hidden within the byways.

The outlook from the patio is fantastic and on a balmy night is a lovely place to have a quiet drink and look out over the garden and the fields.
Rooms are very comfortable and tastefully appointed making for a pleasant nights sleep in the countryside.
Meals served in the Dining room complete the entire package,

A real gem.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite as the Hotel is in a rural setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Quite remote and in beautiful countryside, this extended private house is great for a get away from city hustle and bustle. The reception areas, bar and dining area are tastefully decorated in a contemporary style.

Our bedroom, a standard twin, was on the small side but adequate and well kept with nice linen.

A little on the expensive side but Devon in high season commands premium prices.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is lovely, really spacious with plenty of parking and beautiful views. They have hotel dogs that live there who are so cute!

Breakfast in the morning is a buffet, even though we came down late they were still bringing out fresh food.

The terrace out the back has gorgeous views of the countryside, perfect to sit out and have a drink, but they do close it off and turn the lights off at about 10:30pm.

Difficult to find but worth it..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassSass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 3 enjoyable nights here whilst exploring this part of Dorset. The highlight is the terrace overlooking the rural countryside enjoying a drink watching the sunset. THe hotel was friendly, the food and facilities generally good. The room was comfortable although they need to do something about the showers. Recommended

Room Tip: Rooms are all quiet being out in the country
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
6.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
14.5 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monkton Wyld Court
Monkton Wyld Court
#2 of 7 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Property: Fairwater Head Hotel
Address: Hawkchurch | near Axminister, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwater Head Hotel Hawkchurch, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing