We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff who got bridesmaids to the church in their own cars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We used the Fairwater Head as a base of operations for our wedding at Forde Abbey, they could not have done more to help us. The hotel itself is lovely and has some of the best views across the Westcountry which we loved gazing at while eating in the restaurant, which serves excellent food. All of staff bent over backwards to accommodate our needs, from receiving deliveries of wine and chair covers for us, to helping us transport things (including bridesmaids!) from the hotel to Forde Abbey. My husband and I had a luxury room with a beautiful 4 poster bed and a Jacuzzi bath which was lovely- we are looking forward to returning there as a treat the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank 263Alex_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I visited the Fairwater Head hotel for a break before I went into hospital for an operation and was on a special diet. The staff could not have been more helpful and certainly in the morning the waiter was so concerned that I had good breakfast that he kept coming back with suggestions of things that I might like to eat. We were so impressed that we booked to come back for Sunday lunch when the chef specially prepared a meal that I could eat. I cannot praise them enough. The room was clean and the beds wonderfully comfortable. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Criss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a standard room but there was plenty of room but very plain, however. everything was spotless. The food in the restaurant and the breakfasts were excellent. The views from the restaurant, bar and terrace were lovely.

Room Tip: Unfortunately Wifi was only available in public areas, would be lots better if it was available in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan528783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a family lunchtime meal (12 in total) on Sunday 27th July followed by coffee on the patio outside overlooking the beautiful scenery and the setting, attention to detail, service and quality of food could not have been better.

Jeff H

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent 2 nights here in July 2014. We were made to feel very welcome. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. The views are beautiful. Our dog was made to feel very welcome too and made friends with Mocha one of the resident dogs.
The meals were excellent and the location made a great base for travelling around the local area. Friendly and knowledgeable staff who make the time to recommend areas to visit that will be of interest.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, with or without pets travelling with them. I'm confident we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house. It could be a little noisy during the day as voices from reception carr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thew0rldandbey0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a delightfully secluded Hotel hidden within the byways.

The outlook from the patio is fantastic and on a balmy night is a lovely place to have a quiet drink and look out over the garden and the fields.
Rooms are very comfortable and tastefully appointed making for a pleasant nights sleep in the countryside.
Meals served in the Dining room complete the entire package,

A real gem.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite as the Hotel is in a rural setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Quite remote and in beautiful countryside, this extended private house is great for a get away from city hustle and bustle. The reception areas, bar and dining area are tastefully decorated in a contemporary style.

Our bedroom, a standard twin, was on the small side but adequate and well kept with nice linen.

A little on the expensive side but Devon in high season commands premium prices.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Pawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
3.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
259 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
444 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
167 reviews
15.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
476 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lyme Townhouse
Lyme Townhouse
#12 of 45 in Lyme Regis
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Address: Hawkchurch | near Axminister, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range: £88 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwater Head Hotel Hawkchurch, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing