We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairwater Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairwater Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hawkchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a short break here over the august bank holiday weekend, the hotel is in an excellent location with super views and within easy reach of top local seaside towns. The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive at all times, rooms are very adequately equipped and what must be said the cleanliness is excellent, most of all the restaurant is excellent we ate there both evenings and the food was superb and priced very competitively , all in all a great weekend and would most definitely consider a return visit.

Room Tip: Room 4 has superb views and a huge bathroom and in the main part of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    76
    31
    17
    5
See reviews for
24
175
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a great 2 night stay, Chris the restaurant manager was an excellent host and we enjoyed a very tasty meal which was of high quality and reasonably priced. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice and all fresh, local ingredients. Only slight groan was the noise transferral from room 8 up to room 12. Not sure what soundproofing there is but we could hear every conversation..... Having said that, the hotel was great, the staff superb and location idyllic. Highly recommend a peaceful break here.

Room Tip: Try a room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided we needed a break and wanted to head down to Lyme Regis. The downside to this is that we're new dog owners and had left it late - so not only had we to find somewhere dog friendly (we're too attached to put Charlie in kennels) but we also had to find somewhere that wasn't fully booked. To cut it short, we ended up here out of necessity rather than intent.

What did we find though? Firstly, a hotel that really lives up to its intent to be dog friendly - there were even biscuits for the dog when we arrived! The staff are all friendly and the level of service was excellent. The small grounds have great views and are pretty well kept. They would have been great for taking Charlie for a short stroll - but the countryside is superb here and we took home for longer walks down the country lanes. The food (we only B&Bd) was perfectly fine.

There were a couple of small downsides - the room (we were in the Garden Wing) had obviously been refurbished, and there were a couple of bits that had been missed out - BUT this did not detract from the stay. We did notice a review that complained about two single beds being pushed together to make a double. Same thing happened to us - but the beds were sturdy and didn't move and the join was barely noticeable, so again, no problem. The cost was at the top end of the scale for the facilities and comfort - but hey, last minute booking for a bank holiday weekend......

Ultimately, the only way to really review a place is would you come here again? We would, happily. If you have a dog, the general pet friendliness of the place makes the slightly above average cost well worth it!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WarksFoxile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Beautiful location, lovely food and really friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable, quiet and reasonably priced for the service and standard. Only disappointment was breakfast, which was on a par with Premier inn - the usual cereal assortment, a couple of juices, breakfast in hot trays with only scrambled egg, no fried or poached. Toast was supermarket sliced. Get the breakfast right and it would be 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the four rooms in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yachtscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was a lovely 2 night stay. We were met by Adam, the owner, who was very friendly and helped us with our luggage to our room, which was a standard room but a good size and immaculately clean, with a comfortable king-sized bed. Breakfast was superb, including the porridge (which sometimes can be poor in some hotels). Cream and demerara sugar.are served with the porridge in case you want to add them. Getting a herbal tea was no problem. Salmon also available and sometimes kippers, too. We ate out in the evenings but dinner can be bought at the hotel restaurant. Based on the plaques we saw they have won regular rosette awards for their food. Service was very friendly yet unobtrusive. Lots of nice touches around the place, from the books and leaflets in a communal sitting room, to the air freshener in the room toilets ! It's in a quiet area but only about 6 or 7 miles from Lyme Regis so very handy for the jurassic coastline. Pretty easy to find. Ample parking. Lovely gardens, which include a tree house and (when we visited) a trampoline and a small rope swing tucked away out of view of the house. Beautiful view across the countryside from the restaurant window. No DVD player in our room but the smallish TV worked fine. Not the cheapest place around but the quality surroundings made it very good value for money. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: There are 3 parts to the hotel; the main building, the east extension, and the garden rooms (which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We used the Fairwater Head as a base of operations for our wedding at Forde Abbey, they could not have done more to help us. The hotel itself is lovely and has some of the best views across the Westcountry which we loved gazing at while eating in the restaurant, which serves excellent food. All of staff bent over backwards to accommodate our needs, from receiving deliveries of wine and chair covers for us, to helping us transport things (including bridesmaids!) from the hotel to Forde Abbey. My husband and I had a luxury room with a beautiful 4 poster bed and a Jacuzzi bath which was lovely- we are looking forward to returning there as a treat the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 263Alex_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I visited the Fairwater Head hotel for a break before I went into hospital for an operation and was on a special diet. The staff could not have been more helpful and certainly in the morning the waiter was so concerned that I had good breakfast that he kept coming back with suggestions of things that I might like to eat. We were so impressed that we booked to come back for Sunday lunch when the chef specially prepared a meal that I could eat. I cannot praise them enough. The room was clean and the beds wonderfully comfortable. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criss G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkchurch
4.5 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dorset House
Dorset House
#1 of 46 in Lyme Regis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwater Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwater Head Hotel

Property: Fairwater Head Hotel
Address: | Near Lyme Regis & Axminster, Hawkchurch EX13 5TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hawkchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hawkchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwater Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in peaceful open countryside and approached down leafy lanes of Hawkchurch - the ‘village of roses’ – the Fairwater Head Hotel is a mere 4 miles from Axminster and 5 miles from Lyme Regis and the Jurassic coast. If you’re looking for a short-break, a room for the night or a romantic, intimate wedding venue, you’ll find the Fairwater Head Hotel the perfect place to relax, entertain or dine in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Fairwater Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwater Head Hotel Hawkchurch, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing