We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil Beauty”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandford Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hawkchurch, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue S
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil Beauty”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have not long returned from our third stay at Sandford cottage and the tranquil beauty of the cottage has not changed but has in fact been enhanced by a lot of hard work by Pete and Bev during the winter months. They have done an amazing job by uncovering a pond that was overgrown by the surrounding woodland and transformed it into a natural 'mini lake'. This was achieved by clearing trees and dredging the water. Visitors are now invited to not only be free to roam the entire farm but also sit on the wooden bench by the lake and watch the wildlife. Food is provided to feed the fish that were discovered, one of which is 'Colin the giant carp'! The cottage is perfect for two people and is well equipped, clean and of course set in the most beautiful surroundings. If you want to find a peaceful little sanctuary away from everything and also be able to see wildlife just outside the door then this is the perfect place. Thank you once again Pete and Bev for your generous hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching and discovering the amazing wildlife
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartyhamm...
Aylesford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a fantastic cottage set in a beautiful location. The cottage itself is quite small with quite low ceilings downstairs but was fine for 2 people for a weeks stay. The owners have included lots of nice touches to make you feel really welcome. Although you feel as though you're in the middle of nowhere it takes next to no time to get to lots of places of interest. The jurassic coast being just one of the areas worth visiting. If u love nature this cottage is an ideal location, we were visited every night by up to 3 badgers who loved the nuts we left out for them. one morning we had 2 deer on our lawn. We saw a woodpecker and buzzard whilst relaxing in the lovely garden. Would highly recommend this cottage and will definitely be returning ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyDebbi...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Sandford Cottage is the ideal place for a relaxing, get away from it all break. It is very private, standing on its own at the end of a farm track. But it is close enough to towns, villages and seaside if that's what you want.
The cottage itself, although small, is absolutely delightful and very comfortable. The owners, Pete and Bev are very welcoming and friendly and have equipped the cottage to a high standard and have added some nice little touches and even a few welcoming treats for guests. All in all we found everything we wanted at Sandford,- OK , so the wifi and mobile was a bit iffy to say the least, but it is in a valley in rural Devon. need I say more?
If you like wildlife look out for the Badgers, they come round most evenings, we fed them peanuts and raisins which kept them coming back for more.
A lovely place to stay for a peaceful break. would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robborn
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage was in a lovely location. It was comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean.
The owner was friendly and helpful.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: Holiday lettings service but the owner helped us to sort this problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility awaits”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we drove up to Pete and Bev's wonderfully restored farmhouse we both remember saying 'WOW'. Set in the most beautiful wooded landscape it was quite spectacular. The welcome we received was so warm, it felt like meeting old friends. Pete got into his vehicle and told us to follow him in our car, (I had had visions of carrying all our luggage across the 300 metres of fields and woods to the cottage but no - thankfully we had our own grassed drive down through the trees to the cottage). As we drove down and started to get a glimpse of the cottage and its surroundings, we thought what a stunning hideaway, and knew instantly we had made the right decision for a stress free week away from it all. The cottage was very well equipped both inside and out, right down to the wellington boots and the BBQ charcoal in the shed. Indoors we were welcomed with chocolates, a bottle of wine, milk, six fresh eggs and a large vase of garden flowers. There was also things such as tea and sugar, hand wash soap, shower gel, hairdryer and sewing kit. The bedroom had plenty of storage for clothes and we found the bed to be comfortable and gave a good nights sleep. There is a Tesco and Co-Op in nearby Axminster and plenty of restaurants and pubs if you don't feel like cooking.
Now we come to the really good bit - the wildlife. Neither of us have ever been so close to badgers, deer and pheasants before. It was an amazing experience to be able to watch them and the many other animals and birds that were present and feel quite privileged to have done so. All in all we had the most blissful week of absolute quiet and relaxation. We have already booked to go back. Thank you Pete and Bev.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the badgers eat the peanuts each evening
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilRWinc...
Winchester, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An idyllic spot for a secluded hideaway”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage has been recently restored and has first class fixtures and fittings. The grounds are extensive and house deer, foxes, hares, pheasants and badgers and they are the only sounds to be heard. The host and hostess live some distance from the cottage and would normally only be seen at the start and end of the stay. When we arrived there were two bowls of fresh flowers, wine, chocolate and fresh eggs from the hens which was a lovely surprise. The surrounding area boasts lovely countryside and the cottage isn't far from Lyme Regis and Axminster, the latter containing supermarkets and hosting a very nice market on Fridays. We did put peanuts out as suggested in other reviews and were rewarded by having three badgers coming to the front door to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely ensure that we stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Liked least: Having to return home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackDahl...
2 reviews
“A little slice of heaven...”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

As the title suggests Sandford Cottage surpassed our expectations. We were warmly welcomed by the lovely owners Pete and Bev and were awed from the moment we first set eyes on the place. Hidden away amongst the trees and wild flowers stands Sandford, a beautifully idyllic cottage equipped with everything we needed for our weeks stay. Pete was great at showing us around and seeing if there was anything else we needed and the fresh eggs, milk, bottle of wine and chocolates were very much appreciated! It didn't take us long to get settled in and start exploring the land that surrounded the cottage (which there is a lot!). We wanted a holiday away from everyone else and couldn't have picked a better place! The only visitors we had during our stay were deer, a fox, squirrel, pheasants and the highlight for us were watching the badgers coming up to the door for the peanuts we left them every night. Yes it can be tough to get a phone signal but not from the bedroom window (didn't take me long to figure that out) and Pete can provide wifi on a pay as you go basis. We were actually pleasantly surprised by how much we DIDN'T miss the outside world. All in all we were really impressed with everything during our stay and we had a lovely week at Sandford. We're already seeing when we can get time off work to return! If you're looking for a beautiful hide away or even a base whilst you explore further you won't regret staying at Sandford Cottage (I'm sure I'll think of other things later that I wished I'd have put). Thanks Bev and Pete for our great week, hopefully see you guys again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing