We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good. Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old School Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Horrabridge B&B and Inns
Sainte-Hermine, France
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Good. Lovely place”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely converted School House on edge of Village. Excellent location for exploring West Dartmoor. Comfortable room. Detail a bit lacking for this price. No bath bits, soap, shampoo etc which I would have expected for this price and particulalry as there was a bath. Having had a bath the water then ran cold for the wifes shower - boy was I in trouble! However this aside a lovely stay. Breakfast was excellent, lots of local and homemade food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
57
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We spent 4 very happy nights at The Old School Guesthouse. We loved the room which was spacious with a large en suite and with a lovely view of the village. There's lots of storage space and all the fittings are top quality, although I did find the bed too firm for a really restful sleep. We really appreciated the fresh milk for our drinks which was kept in the little fridge in one corner. From one window, we enjoyed watching all the birdlife which came into the garden. The breakfasts were super, and Maxine and Chris were the perfect hosts for their well-run establishment. We ate every night at the London Inn in the village as the food was so good, the menu extensive and the prices so reasonable. We'll be staying again when next in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hazelnut39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent in The Old School Guesthouse only one night during our trip through UK but accommodation and traditional English breakfast were perfect. There was a very nice view on night sky from the roof window and we had nice night sleep. We felt almost like home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarmil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This was our second stay. The rooms are top class and allowed to use living room and gardens like it was your own home. Maxine and Chris both very friendly and have excellent standards for service.
Food was some of the best we have had all home made or locally sourced.
We WILL be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HilaryP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Where to start in reviewing our disappointing stay!! First time we have had to pay up front. What is the point of taking a car registration of a rental car from overseas guests? We stayed in June but both radiators were on full when we went in the room. Windows opened at floor level on the first floor so difficult to ventilate and a severe safety hazard especially if a child was brought into the room. Bathroom carpets should be banned as totally unhygienic. No slip mat in shower over bath. No toiletries except soap & cottonwool. Fridge in room noisy. Bed was the worst we have slept in. It was rock hard and the pillow choice was poor. The duvet was far too heavyweight for summer. Soundproofing is appalling & we were woken by the breakfast room radio on high and conversation with another guest coming straight up to our room. Breakfast was ok except for what appeared to be mould in the homemade jam.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuhoiRiverLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

My wife and i stayed at The Old School House for just the 1 night and would have loved to stay longer. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was immaculately clean and beautifully presented, the many little unique touches made our stay that bit more memorable. The view of the night sky through our roof window on such a clear night was wonderful. Everything we needed was in the room and all of a very good quality. Our bathroom was of a good size compared to others we have had elsewhere and perfectly clean. We both had a really good nights sleep in the lovely comfy bed which set up well to enjoy the fabulous hearty breakfast the next morning every bit of which was delicious proving its good to get your ingredients fresh and locally. We found that Horrabridge is well situated for visiting this wonderful area, with Tavistock and Plymouth nearby for shopaholics, but best of all Dartmoor right on the doorstep. All in all we were delighted with The Old School House and look forward very much to returning, and definitely recommend it to anyone. Other b and b owners could learn a lot here.

Room Tip: Not many rooms so book soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Old School Guest House in September 2012 for a weekend.

The owners were lovely, and the room was so cosy that it was like staying in someones house!
The bed was comfortable, the wardrobe was spacious, it had tea and coffee, fresh milk and even a little bowl of chocolates (my favourite bit). The room had a good sized TV, mini-fridge and a torch for safety in case of a fire! Our shower was a bit temperamental, but it worked eventually, so it was nothing major :)

The food has to be the best part of the hotel though as it was delicious. I've never been a fan of tomato soup, but their homemade version as just scrumptious! Everything is as homemade as it can be - from the jam to the bread to the sauce everything is in and the meat is locally sourced. Words cannot describe how yummy their food is!

It's only a short drive away from Dartmoor park and it's easy to get to other local areas as well so there's lots to do and see in the day times.

We would definitely recommend and will definitely visit again - there's not a bad word that can be said about this hotel and we'll always look back at our stay with great memories!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Plinkyplonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horrabridge
3.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
488 reviews
2.8 mi away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
591 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
207 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Overcombe House
Overcombe House
#1 of 3 in Horrabridge
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School Guesthouse

Property: The Old School Guesthouse
Address: The Old School House Whitchurch Road, Horrabridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 7TT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Horrabridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Horrabridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old School Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within Dartmoor National Park, this historical old school offers relaxing surroundings with many of the services found in hotels. Originally built in 1875 and converted in the years after 1992, the old school now provides exceptional levels of comfort and quality accommodation, at the same time retaining many of the buildings historic features (130 year old exposed beams, heavy school doors and the original bell tower). Our aim is to offer you a warm welcome and attentive but discreet service throughout your stay. MOOR COMFORT, MOOR FOOD, MOOR FLAVOUR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old School Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old School Guesthouse Horrabridge, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing