We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Instow”
Review of Springfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Springfield House
Ranked #1 of 3 Instow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just had 2 nights at Springfield house with another couple. A great Victorian house. We had the two rooms on the first floor both of which had separate bathrooms for our use only. The bedrooms are large and the beds amazingly comfortable, Greeted By Lucinda with tea and cake in the garden .A decanter of sherry in the rooms and biscuits and tea available .Breakfast was a typical English with personal preferences catered for in a lovely dining room.

Springfield House is in an excellent position and just 5 minutes walk from the main street that has the restuarants and a couple of pubs to dine out at. Our recommendation is The Commodore Hotel (best to book for restaurant and my hint is you can book the window seat in the bar area which is pleasant and overlooks the estuary.The puddings are heavenly!!

There is range of other holiday accommodation ie a top floor flat but we didn't view that but met a couple who were booked in there and they were very happy with the spacious accommodation.

In conclusion, Springfield House offers quality accommodation, a first class welcome from Lucinda and Edward in a great location in Instow.
An excellent place for cyclists and keen walkers too.( my brother and wife walked from Westward Ho to Clovelly whilst we did a walk around Hartland Point on the coast which offered amazing views)

We hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Both first floor rooms are great/ clean. spacious and have own separate bathrooms. The larger room...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank holtroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Springfield House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have just come back from a wonderful weeks stay at the delightful Old School Room Cottage.
The cottage was superb with everything you could want and our host Lucinda & Edward were some of the most friendly and welcoming people I have ever met.
From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a fresh out of the oven loaf and fresh eggs from the Lucinda chickens.
The cottage has its own private contained garden which was ideal as we had our little dog Odie with us. This a real dog friendly place .
But don't let this put you off if you do not have a dog as there was no signs or smells that a dog had ever been near the place as the place was spotless.
All I can say if you want a luxury place to chill or explore which is within minutes walk of the beach and bars you will struggle to do better than this.

Thank you Lucinda & Edward you made our holiday truly special . Hope to see you both soon.

Scott , Jan & Odie

Room Tip: Only one tip and that is to go and see it you wont be disappointed
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank moley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had two nights here and were treated extremely well, hospitality great. Our room was superb and facilities very good. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Lovely situation. Will try to return!
Would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We recently stayed in the self catering cottage and had the most wonderful time! 5mins away from Instow beach with local pubs, restaurants -all (but one) dog friendly which was really important to us.. Cottage top notch - loved the roll-top bath and the bed was so comfortable, plus the garden was a real sun trap! Edward and Lucinda are warm, friendly hosts but not intrusive... Welcome pack was a lovely touch - plus extra eggs - yum!!! If you want a relaxing break then this is the place to book.. Especially if you have a four legged friend that you want to bring along :-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Lucinda and Edward were fantastic hosts.

Rooms were Clean, facilities was sufficient, Breakfast was amazing, what more do you want from a B&B.

If we ever return to Instow we will defiently be coming back :)

Paul/Anna/Mason

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

my partner, dog and I spent a fantastic week at the cottage adjecent to the main property. We loved the interior and super comfy bed. Also the private and communal gardens were heavenly.
The guesthouse is in a great location just a short walk from instow beach and restaurants which became our fave beach in north devon.
I would definately recommend Lucinda and Edward were great hosts with good local knowledge and the welcome pack was appreciated! The main house is lovely with great sitting room offering views over the estuary

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in the main house, not the self catering annex, and if you like large Victorian houses and the furnishings etc that go with it, you will enjoy Springfield House. Edward and Lucinda proved to be very welcoming, friendly hosts during our 2 night stay, and even offered to pick us up from a walking trip that got us as far as Westward Ho! but the bus service proved to be so frequent and cheap, that we didn't need to take them up on that gesture.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtyardhydrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Instow
1.7 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
397 reviews
2.1 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Instow Barton
Instow Barton
#2 of 3 in Instow
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wayfarer Inn
The Wayfarer Inn
#3 of 3 in Instow
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House

Address: Springfield New Road, Instow, Bideford EX39 4LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Instow
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Instow
Price Range: £89 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Springfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springfield House Instow, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing