We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can never fault it!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Instow Arms

Instow Arms
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Instow
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I can never fault it!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Whenever I want a pig out, this is where I go.... We order lots of starters and tuck in!!!! Never any faults staff are always polite and helpful- keep it up instow arms

Helpful?
2 Thank razorjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    150
    65
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good real ale. Good food and service and dog friendly. Good choice of food. Great views. A nice beer patio on the front with heaters.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longfield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Family Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Well priced family food. Good Beer served at right temperature, well done.
Plenty of outside seating, overlooking the Beach and Bay

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“cold food over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My son wanted to take us out for lunch , we dropped in to Instow Arms (should of just come home ). We ordered two pizzas, one beef burger, & two starters all to share for the four of us after a very, very long wait the food arrived my beef burger was cold, chips so small were cold ,
my son & son in-law had pizza which looked very greasy, my daughter had calamari which was about six pieces,
home made bread, olives & olive oil dip. two coffees & two soft drinks
my beef burger went back twice in the end I gave up & just had a few tasteless chips which I left, the home made bread looks like its came from a supermarket . After our meal I went & spoke to the waitress, about the homemade bread she assured me the chef had made it . Left unsatisfied this lunch & drinks cost £59 - £9 for my beef burger .
Such a shame as this place is right on the sea front but will not be going back there & I am very local. My son in-law & daughter are both in catering.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank elayne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great personal service, relaxed atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I had a lovely evening with friends to celebrate my retirement. First impressions were warm and inviting. Overall the meal was very good, I especially liked the dessert; raspberry cheesecake (all homemade so I'm told). But highlight of the night was personal service from the front of house team, especially Lewis.
I shall return :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Instow Arms also viewed

 

Been to Instow Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing