We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30% increase”
Review of Marine Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marine Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Instow
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“30% increase”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We visit the Commodore for Sunday lunch about once every three weeks and were really shocked today to find that the price had increased from £18.50 to £25.00. The food is excellent but nothing warrants an increase like that.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Three of us called in here for lunch. I've heard good things about it over the years but never got around to going here before. We were disappointed, especially after our lunch in the Watersmeet Hotel at Mortehoe the previous day. (See separate review) One of us had ham, egg & chips at £9.95 which was OK. One had a B.L.T sandwich at £7.25 which was said to contain tasteless bacon, and was mostly left. I had a roast beef sandwich at £6.95 which was a thin bit of fatty scrappy beef and tasteless. The cooked meals we saw being served looked OK but I would certainly not recommend ordering sandwiches. I've had better sandwiches in the most basic of pubs. In addition, for the whole of lunchtime there was very loud drilling and banging going on in the adjacent reception area. I understand that work needs to be done, but why not have it done at some time other than a busy lunchtime.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calendarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with great service”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very good food. Well prepared and presented. Exceptional service from the staff. Price is approximately 30.00 GBP per person for dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FDSJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Devon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service all round”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Enjoyed an excellent meal at The Commodore. The quality was very good, the service attentive and interested and everything went extremely well.

Indeed, I can say that it was better than I had expected as i had been slightly disappointed on a previous group booking but even the best eateries have an off-night and this one certainly compensated handsomely for that!

A good wine selection and sensible prices (perhaps the establishment doesn't do itself any favours in that occasionally if a wine snob appears, it is a good idea to have some rather more expensive bottles on the list to satisfy him...?). However, that's not me and ours was excellent!

Thank you - we shall look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QualityControlNDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
2 reviews
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is set in a stunning position and rooms are to a high standard. The staff are helpful and friendly. The food was very nice and the wine list extensive. We found our stay to be relaxing, quiet and yet we were made to feel as if we were the only guests, which is a credit to the attention to detail.

Would be great if the hotel had a swimming pool and spa, but perhaps that is something for the future.

The attractions around Instow are great, so much to see and do.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank bettybeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marine Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Marine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing