We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, very slow service”
Review of The Bar - CLOSED

The Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, very slow service”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Food was lovely and reasonably well priced, however, it took almost an hour for our starters to arrive. They did though give us a good discount!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob09870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    15
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out of date Drink”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just spent a very happy weeks holiday in Instow. Visited The Moorings/The Bar & somewhat disappointed to be sold out of date drink, in fact 2 months out of date. No apology from the Barmaid, purely a comment of "Must have been an old crate". Surely its unforgiveable for a bar to not keep a check on its stock so can only assume that as it was on the front of the shelf it was to be given to an unsuspecting customer & avoid financial loss. I wonder if it would have been served to a 'local' & I don't think Trading Standards would be very impressed. I was given a replacement drink but beware ifr you use the premises.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely food, ask for a window table”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a very good meal, with prompt service, and sat at the window overlooking the sea. We both had fish which was delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ejsibbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pint, food and seaview, lovely”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A lovely place to sit on a sunny day, not a huge menu but the food was very tasty and plentiful, must be a good place it's always got lots of people in there and the restaurant upstairs has some fabulous views of the sea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Noisy dogs”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The upstairs restaurant wasn't open as lack of staff, so had to eat in the bar where dogs were roaming freely. My Husband had the Sausages and mash, the sausages were terrible, I had the Mussels with crusty bread, which was nice. Will not be going back for a second visit. Dogs should not be allowed in if the top restaurant is closed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bar also viewed

 
Instow, Bideford
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing