We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Commodore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Instow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Certificate of Excellence
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and put themselves out for the guests. The hotel is in excellent condition throughout and kept very clean. Our room was facing the river which gave a lovely view both during the day and at night when the lights from Appledor across the estuary could be seen. It is a very quiet location with plenty of walks and interesting places to visit. I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    50
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
60
130
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was a planned long weekend break for my wife and I, to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to visit a friend of my wife, who resides in Bideford. We have visited the area on many occasions and it has always been our ambition to visit and stay at the Commodore Hotel. Needless to say we were not disappointed, with the views of the estuary from our sea-facing bedroom with balcony, being the highlight. The gardens were colourful for this time of the year and very neat and tidy. Every member of staff gave excellent service and the food served at breakfast and dinner was of the highest quality and content. Our four night stay was made all the more enjoyable by the friendliness of the staff at all levels. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Any sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a very good three night break at this delightful hotel. We had room 5 which is sea facing with a large balcony overlooking the well tended gardens, the beech and river beyond. The village of Instow sits at the point where the river Torridge and the river Taw meet and flow into the sea at a point between Westward Ho! and Saunton. The area is wonderful for walks beside the sea and the rivers, the bird life is abundant. During our stay the weather was unseasonable warm and cloud free so we could watch the rising sun from behind us, lighting up the white painted houses of Appledore across the river. I mention the walks as some exercise is necessary to walk off the terrific breakfasts and dinners that are served in the hotel. All the staff were friendly and efficient, the reception rooms were as spotless as our bedroom and bathroom. I would highly recommend this hotel and the little village of Instow. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Petex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in this delightful hotel for the weekend 4 - 6 October. The rooms were comfortable and the boating pictures throughout the hotel highlighted the past sailing and boat-building history of the area.

Nearby places to visit:
Appledore,
Westward Ho
Bideford
Barnstable

The food in the hotel was excellent. We had a served breakfast each morning and the dinner choice in the evening was very good. Afternoon tea, with mouthwatering fruit scones and clotted cream, was also something not to be missed.
The staff were friendly and most helpful.
There was plenty of parking space
A well stocked bar was available and more or less open at any time for hotel guests.

Will we be back? Oh definitely. In fact we were in a party of some 13 couples from the Bournemouth area and we have already booked for a similar time next year and we will be staying for 3 rather than 2 days.

Room Tip: There are many rooms facing the harbour and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffRingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed here the weekend, fortunately had great sun on Friday and Saturday so sat out on the terrace overlooking the Torridge and Appledore, staff were very friendly and efficient, the served breakfast was excellent. Bedroom was sea / river facing with lovely balcony, probably would be quite hot in August. Loads of parking and nice bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkholidayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Had an amazing 4 day stay with 2 other couples to celebrate my husbands retirement. Staff extremely freindly and helpful, super views across harbour to Appledore and the most amazing food!
Fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Sea views worth that little bit extra, lovely balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Although not a review of the overall experience that the hotel offers I felt compelled to write a few words.My parents decide to hold their Golden Wedding celebration at the Commodore at the end of August. Their choice couldn't have been better.The staff were extremely helpful,friendly and efficient. The food was excellent and the view of the Torridge and Instow beach with the various boats was superb. These ingredients were key in cementing a fantastic and memorable day enjoyed by all.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank l2002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Instow
1.7 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
499 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
560 reviews
1.9 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,756 reviews
8.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
822 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woolacombe
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Instow, Bideford EX39 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Instow
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Instow, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing