We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of Commodore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Instow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely walk on Instow beach and my wife I decided to live it up a bit and go to the Commodore Hotel for a posh afternoon tea. They have a nice area reserved for serving teas to non residents
The waitress was chatting to a couple and did not acknowledge us when we entered.
I went to the washroom and my wife sat down and waited.
Not once did the waitress acknowledge her, I returned and the waitress left the room. We were not even offered a menu. We will not to return. Shame as it looks a lovely place

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank JameseyIAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    49
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
60
126
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

that was how we were greeted some 15 years ago by mr bruce woolaway sadly no longer with us. the standards in all respects have never waivered in our opinion. now mr gary and mr james look after your every need. the food is of top quality locally sourced and wonderfully cooked and presented. trust us we have just returned from a few days.wish it could have been longer thanks gary james and of course Sharon.....

Room Tip: always have a sea view magical sunsets and general views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim123144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

9 of us had a 2 night stay at the Commodore. We were celebrating a 90th birthday and our party included 2 over 90 and a further member of our party was in a wheelchair. Not the easiest of groups to look after. The staff at the Commodore were excellent. The hotel is perfectly set up to look after people with mobility issues and seemed to anticipate all our requirements. Its location neat to the front at Instow made it easy for the elderly and infirm to get out into the fresh air without a major performance.
The food at both dinner and breakfast was excellent - fresh and well presented and service was at all times accommodating and prompt. Well done - we were not the easiest of groups.

Room Tip: Ground floor overlooking the estuary are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Friends of ours like this beautifully-appointed hotel so much that they have been back twice. With their recommendation together with our impression of the hotel's website, we were hoping for something special. What we experienced was even better: spotless accommodation; extreme comfort; superb food; excellent staff. Perfection!

Room Tip: We loved our ground-floor Marine room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is one that caters for the over 90s market, its dated interior and bedrooms are testimony to that. The room one stayed in, whilst had pleasant views across the water was simply awful. The bed was two singles pushed together to form a double, although, clearly, given that the two beds were individually dressed, a double was never the intended case. The bedding sheets were the type I would expect to see in my grandmother’s house, and not in fitting with the modern hotel accommodation one should expect to see in the 21st century. The in-house brochure boasts of a “colour “TV, now, “colour” TV’s have been around for thirty plus years. Again, this is reflective of the hotel’s target age group. The bathroom failed to live up to expectation, and a stand in bath shower experience was not the best.
With some small changes the room could be brought into the modern age, maybe some local photography on the walls, removing one of the arm chairs, new lamp shades, a simple white duvet cover, a neutral paint scheme and curtains – just some simple things that the modern traveler appreciates. I would recommend that the owners look to some hotels outside the area to see how to present rooms to business travelers. A trouser press does not constitute modern technology. Would one stay in this hotel again, highly doubtful. Would one recommend this hotel, no, although, that said, finding a good hotel in North Devon is like looking for a needle in a local hay stack. The Commodore and many of the other hotels should remember that there are travelers to this region that don’t necessarily come on a Wallace Arnold coach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugo198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel has an amazing location, right on the sea front; it's clean and tidy but could do with some updating.
The style of the hotel is very old fashioned, very chintz and brocade. They say it's 'unsuitable' for children under 10; I couldn't see why that could be as it's structure is no different to most hotels but maybe they just don't want children around? That's a shame, given the location. They state that they're a family run hotel but clearly don't want families with younger children?
My room was tucked away at the back so I had no sea view; thats fine, I have one at home but it didn't seem very full so I did wonder why. The room was a decent size but had a lot of built in consoles and seats, supplemented by two small chairs, which made it feel a bit cluttered.
The main console only had one single electrical socket available; this had to supply the table lamp, the kettle, the hair dryer and my assorted phone and other chargers. I spent a lot of my time swapping things over. There was one other socket in the room but it was on the floor, near the hall so not much use.
My main dislike was the bed; it's been a long time since I've had to sleep with scratchy woollen blankets and a counterpane and I hope it's a long time til the next. Being used to a duvet for many years now, the weight of them felt oppressive and I really didn't get a good nights sleep.
I won't be returning, though the location is perfect for my regular business trips to this area; I felt it was overpriced and I was generally disappointed. Most of the staff were friendly but a couple seemed slightly dour.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and put themselves out for the guests. The hotel is in excellent condition throughout and kept very clean. Our room was facing the river which gave a lovely view both during the day and at night when the lights from Appledor across the estuary could be seen. It is a very quiet location with plenty of walks and interesting places to visit. I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Instow
1.7 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.9 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Instow, Bideford EX39 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Instow
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Instow, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing