We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Commodore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Instow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wehave just enjoyed another great weekend break.

As usual, the staff really friendly and attentative, nothing too much trouble. Great room, comfortable, spotless and super views across the estuary in the Marine Bedrooms. Food superb, especially at dinner, service attentive but, discreet, thanks again to all the staff, I am sure we will be back later this year

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mchris236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    49
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
60
124
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Last week, we had our second stay at the Commodore Hotel. This place is wonderful. Everyone from Management to Reception, Bar Staff, Waiting Staff and Domestics could not be more helpful or friendly. They really make an effort to ensure your stay is first class. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is absolutely excellent. They possess a Chef/s who are a credit to this establishment. We look forward, eagerly, to another visit later in the year.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms have wonderful views of the Estuary and Appledore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dencmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I came here with my family to have a bar meal. The service was excellent, and the staff were extremely helpful, and catered to our every need (literally!). The food was gastronomic, and I recommend the Clovelly Longhorn Beef Burger with Devon Oak. De-licious! There were also lots of other enticing meals on offer. The desserts are magnificent, and are yummy! The toilet facilities are good, and the bar offers a wide range of drinks. The place overall is clean. I didn't stay overnight or go in the actual restaurant, but I'd read some reviews and the place looks wonderful.

I would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amelai101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

another fantastic 3 day break involving valentines day with the fabulous Woolaway family. afamily run business that makes you feel part of their family. have been visiting 4 15 years at least and the standards have never faltered. the food is to die for the service is second to none and if u want 2 fault clean or spotless u will b looking a long way.thank u gary sharon and of course james!!!!!!

Room Tip: marine suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jim123144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for Valentines night and was the best V's day I've ever had. The hotel room overlooking the sea was beautiful, was mesmerized by the view. The food however, was even more wonderful, we could not fault it, or the service. We've never had such a perfectly produced meal ever anywhere, each plate was not only a little work of art but the tastes were as good as they looked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just got back today Monday from a three night stay at the Commodore Hotel at Instow North Devon, UK. It was one of our parties birthday. The staff could not have been more helpful, not in your face but there when required. The accommodation was fine, clean and tidy. The food was excellent and the waiters were helpful and attentive. It was the start of the Six Nations rugby and a large screen was set up in a room set aside for us. All very nicely done. The only complaint was the weather which the hotel had no control over! We managed a six mile walk to the near by Appledore which was verify good. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherJFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I booked afternoon tea for 6 for my mother's 80th birthday and on the recommendation of a family member chose the Commodore. It was a complete success. The staff were charming and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. All the staff that we met wished my mother a happy birthday and took the time to talk to her. As they were only serving cream teas they readily agreed that we could bring our own cake and happily provided a plate and cake knife. We were given a table in the residents lounge and were the only people there. I cannot recommend them highly enough..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Instow
1.7 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.9 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Instow, Bideford EX39 4JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Instow
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Instow, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing