We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of paradise !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Instow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Commodore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Certificate of Excellence
Criccieth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

A beautifully maintained hotel in a fantastic position . Attentive staff with the owners obviously running a very tight ship! Incredibly busy with non residents and parties, who did encroach on the beautifully positioned and decorated visitors lounge. Food and service was very good, and the Spring Break rates are good value, the rear rooms although beautifully appointed ,tend to be a bit noisy as they are over the kitchen area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cymru01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    48
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
58
121
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have stayed in many Hotels in the UK and various parts of the world and this family owned and run Hotel matches the best of the best.My email request for a booking made rather late in the evening was responded by a personal phone call 15 minutes later. The service received from all the staff was informative, helpful and attentive and made for a most relaxing atmosphere. The owner was always on hand with a friendly greeting making his guests feel somehow special. The quality of the food at Dinner and throughout was as good as any top London restaurant. My bedroom with a balcony had wonderful views of the beach, the estuary and beyond and like the whole Hotel was spotlessly clean. The Commodore Hotel, the family and the staff deserve every accolade they receive. I will return.

Room Tip: First floor room with sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shrewsbury-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wehave just enjoyed another great weekend break.

As usual, the staff really friendly and attentative, nothing too much trouble. Great room, comfortable, spotless and super views across the estuary in the Marine Bedrooms. Food superb, especially at dinner, service attentive but, discreet, thanks again to all the staff, I am sure we will be back later this year

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mchris236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Last week, we had our second stay at the Commodore Hotel. This place is wonderful. Everyone from Management to Reception, Bar Staff, Waiting Staff and Domestics could not be more helpful or friendly. They really make an effort to ensure your stay is first class. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is absolutely excellent. They possess a Chef/s who are a credit to this establishment. We look forward, eagerly, to another visit later in the year.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms have wonderful views of the Estuary and Appledore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dencmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I came here with my family to have a bar meal. The service was excellent, and the staff were extremely helpful, and catered to our every need (literally!). The food was gastronomic, and I recommend the Clovelly Longhorn Beef Burger with Devon Oak. De-licious! There were also lots of other enticing meals on offer. The desserts are magnificent, and are yummy! The toilet facilities are good, and the bar offers a wide range of drinks. The place overall is clean. I didn't stay overnight or go in the actual restaurant, but I'd read some reviews and the place looks wonderful.

I would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amelai101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

another fantastic 3 day break involving valentines day with the fabulous Woolaway family. afamily run business that makes you feel part of their family. have been visiting 4 15 years at least and the standards have never faltered. the food is to die for the service is second to none and if u want 2 fault clean or spotless u will b looking a long way.thank u gary sharon and of course james!!!!!!

Room Tip: marine suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jim123144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for Valentines night and was the best V's day I've ever had. The hotel room overlooking the sea was beautiful, was mesmerized by the view. The food however, was even more wonderful, we could not fault it, or the service. We've never had such a perfectly produced meal ever anywhere, each plate was not only a little work of art but the tastes were as good as they looked.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Instow
1.9 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 12 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
8.8 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Property: Commodore Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Instow, Bideford EX39 4JN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Instow
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Instow
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel Instow, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing