We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little worn.”

Tapeley Park Gardens
Ranked #3 of 4 things to do in Instow
Attraction details
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little worn.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This site has so much potential but it looks and feels rather worn and faded. Lovely, friendly staff and a good, but limited, tea room. The children's play area was a health and safety nightmare and the few items there were dirty and not really fit for purpose.
The gardens are beautiful and well maintained - but not so good when you delve a little deeper; areas around the edges are poorly looked after. Wheelchair/buggy access is just about OK. Some of the cobbled paths are tricky to negotiate.
Entry price is very cheap. £5 per adult at the time of writing this. Personally, I'd have been happier to pay more if the place had been a little better cared for. It would be worth the owners investing in this as Tapeley could be a fantastic place for a longer stay - we managed about 75mins.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    16
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Faded Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Lovely Italianate gardens and terraces. The house is owned by eco activist Hector Christie who also owns Glyndeborne. If you are into permaculture this is the place to learn. The house is not open to the public but the grounds and forest walk is well worth the money. Recommended. This review was written by Maverick Tendency.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We went to a wedding. The venue had lovely views and the reception was wonderful. With Music in the gardens to the late hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lots of interest and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

If you are visiting the area and enjoy gardens this is a must visit.

Visit the turkey and chickens, make sure you get a packet of grain first from the cafe, it is great to see the chickens making the initial mad dash to see you (and more to the point - the food).

The planting continues to improve every visit, I usually see a few people working, and as one young chap said 'it is the best place to work, as every part of the garden is different' - couldn't have said it better myself.

The Permaculture garden is my current favourite. It seems a jumble of everything - fruit, veg, flowers, trees, a couple of small ponds - but seems to be kept just this side of wild! It is inspirational, and I fully intend to start to plant part of my own garden in this manner this autumn.

Not sure when the reviewer went who said it was full of louts, I have been 6 -7 times over the last three years and have never I encountered anything but good manners and a friendly welcome.

Lovely cafe, with good food and strong coffee. Sit out on the lawn and enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunshine in the gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Wonderful plants and setting. Helpful staff in shop and cafe and gardens. Learnt some new plants and advice from gardeners

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapeley Park Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Tapeley Park Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing